Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Brooks and his merry band of Polish Thespians outwit the evil Nazis in "To Be or Not To Be".
A group of Polish actors in a theater in Warsaw in wartime Poland strive to escape from the invading Germans and make their way to England which is still holding out. Mel Brooks is in typically zany form and with Anne Bancroft (who is actually Polish) lead the troupe on a hilarious merry-go-round to try to escape the "Nasty Nazis".
Published 8 months ago by Nicodemus

versus
9 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak comedy treatment
Amazon forgot to insert an important data here... this is a remake after the superb film called To Be or Not To Be directed by Ernst Lubitsch in 1942. My opinion is not ruin everything by buying this, try the original and you won't regret it.
Published on 26 Feb. 2009 by Burciu Mihai


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Brooks and his merry band of Polish Thespians outwit the evil Nazis in "To Be or Not To Be"., 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
A group of Polish actors in a theater in Warsaw in wartime Poland strive to escape from the invading Germans and make their way to England which is still holding out. Mel Brooks is in typically zany form and with Anne Bancroft (who is actually Polish) lead the troupe on a hilarious merry-go-round to try to escape the "Nasty Nazis".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Each time I enjoyed it and and then I bought it, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Since buying the dvd my husband and I have watched it several times.. I first see it on television and then again it was on the next day. Each time I enjoyed it and and then I bought it. Believe me it is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh a minute, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Mel Brookes film, irreverently poking fun at WWII, Hitler and the Nazis. Mel's character, an actor, becomes involved in a scheme to help Jews in poland to escape, in the end impersonating Hitler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Politically Correct is not a phrase that will never be used when describing this film : ), 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
My mum loves the film and i know it has grown on me, every cheesy line and inuendo going but what is not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again, Mel Brooks'version of a Lubitsch oldie. Good, often subtle, laughs aplenty, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Again, Mel Brooks' version of a Lubitsch oldie. Good, often subtle, laughs aplenty. Mel Brooks with wife Anne Bancroft a joy to watch the interaction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect sequel to the film with jack benny, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first film years ago,and this one with Anne Bancroft and Mel Brooks is another gem, They are the perfect comedy couple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest thing at the Third Reich, 2 Sept. 2003
An out and out laugh riot, To be Or Not To Be is the tale of poor Jewish actors, and their ..ahem.. affairs. In the midst of the Nazi take-over of Poland, these actors struggle to outsmart the Nazis, in the midst of total hilarious chaos!
Typical outrageous Mel Brooks fare, this film promises a stitch or two in your sides, while making digs at everyone form Shakespeare to Hitler!
Truly funny stuff, To Be Or Not To Be makes excellent viewing...worth several watches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I got what I paid for, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a thing and it arrived as described and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Mel Brooks finest comedies!, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
A classic comedy. Great story line. Intensely powerful subject matter presented in a serious but funny manner. Some of the best ensemble acting by the Brooks people to be found. Perhaps Young Frankenstein might just be on a par with this one. If you have not seen this film/movie, it is well worth the money to own and view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Brooks, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
What more can one say - Mel Brooks, and the cast really entertaining. Good value and highly watchable time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD]
To Be Or Not To Be [1983] [DVD] by Alan Johnson (DVD - 2005)
£4.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews