Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's never been one like it since.
What can i say? I expected this film to be a barrage of silly slapstick gags. And it was. And it was hilarious. The plot is that a director and his 2 chums ( played by Mel Brookes who also dircted it, Dom Deluise and Marty Feldman ) set about making a silent movie to save a film studio from a takeover. The beauty is that the actual film is silent as well. The only person...
Published on 29 Nov. 2000

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
Made thirty years ago and one of Brooks' less well-known films, it deserves to be known better.
The plot revolves around Brooks' character, Mel Funn, a movie director who has fallen from grace due to his drink problem. Assisted by Marty Feldman and Dom DeLuise, he pitches an idea to studio exec Sid Caesar for a silent movie. Caesar, who gives a good comic...
Published on 4 April 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's never been one like it since., 29 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What can i say? I expected this film to be a barrage of silly slapstick gags. And it was. And it was hilarious. The plot is that a director and his 2 chums ( played by Mel Brookes who also dircted it, Dom Deluise and Marty Feldman ) set about making a silent movie to save a film studio from a takeover. The beauty is that the actual film is silent as well. The only person who says anything is Marcel Marceau - a famous french mime artist. Not being old enough to witness it first time round, the special guests are kind of a mystery to me. This is why the film only gets four stars. But the use of the old speech cards is exploited to perfection. I have never seen anything else like it, and it's a pity. There are many memorable moments including a wheelchair race, a coke can bomb attack, and many more. I don't think i'll get bored of this very quickly, and even though it is quite dated it still has a touch of genius. LONG LIVE MEL BROOKES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non!, 25 Mar. 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
They stopped making silent movies eons ago -- or as my brother puts it, "Movies with no talkin'."

But Mel Brooks revived the genre somewhat with the hilarious "Silent Movie," which spoofs two things: those over-the-top old silents, and the nastiness of the movie industry. Full of slapstick and star cameos, this is Brooks stretching his comedic talents... and nobody can hear it.

Former alcoholic Mel Funn (Brooks) is seeking a comeback, and he pitches a silent movie idea to the president of Big Picture Studios, who unsurprisingly rejects it. But Funn swears he can get some stars to star in the movie. So he and his friends Marty Eggs (Marty Feldman) and Dom Bell (Dom DeLuise) go on a slapstick recruiting drive, relentlessly pursuing Liza Minelli, Burt Reynolds, James Caan, and Anne Bancroft.

But they still have a problem -- the evil Engulf & Devour is planning a takeover of Big Picture Studios, and so they don't want Funn's movie to succeed. So they send sultry nightclub singer Vilma Kaplan (Bernadette Peters) to seduce and distract Funn. Will he fall off the wagon? Will the movie get made?

Since obviously there's no dialogue (except a "non" from Marcel Marceau), Mel Brooks has to drop most of his verbal gags in here, in favor of lots of visual ones. Instead, a lot of the comedy comes from that wild, overdramatic acting style that people used before movies had sound. And giant chocolate bars.

So, it's slapstick galore -- pratfalls, wild exaggeration, and crazy reactions to everything. And there's some mockery of the cold-blooded way Hollywood moguls act. Nobody wants Funn's new movie because it's wildly different and risky, much the way "Silent Movie" probably was -- and it leaves you wondering just how Brooks recruited all these actors.

And Brooks spoofs other stuff related to movies, such as theatres (note the "Trash Can Size" popcorn, with butter poured on by a GAS PUMP). In fact, it doesn't take long for Brooks to cross the line into total craziness, as evidenced by the climactic battle between the good guys and bad guys -- it involves throwing soda pop grenades. Who'd have thunk it?

Brooks, Feldman and DeLuise are all obviously having a great time, playing these relentlessly over-the-top characters, especially when they're doing things like lurching around in suits of armor. And the cameos by various actors are fun, especially Reynolds and Brooks' real-life wife Bancroft.

If comedy had a sound, "Silent Movie" would shatter all the windows. While Brooks can't exert his verbal comic skills, he almost makes up for it with all the delicious spoofery of old movies and Hollywood. Non!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Made thirty years ago and one of Brooks' less well-known films, it deserves to be known better.
The plot revolves around Brooks' character, Mel Funn, a movie director who has fallen from grace due to his drink problem. Assisted by Marty Feldman and Dom DeLuise, he pitches an idea to studio exec Sid Caesar for a silent movie. Caesar, who gives a good comic performance, rejects the notion until Funn promises to recruit major stars to appear in it. The recruitment of those stars forms most of the remainder of the plot and Funn & co try many slapstick ruses to acquire the services of Burt Reynolds, Paul Newman, Liza Minelli, James Caan, Marcel Marceau and Ann Bancroft, all of whom appear as themselves in the movie.
As with most of Brooks' films, there is too little incidental music, which would seem even more necessary in a silent film, but aside from that it has fairly good pace and some excellent comic moments, James Caan with boxing gloves and faulty trailer is among the best.
DVD quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tolerance, 2 May 2009
By 
Brian Levin "eclectic" (southern France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the oldies I wanted to see again. It certainly can be very funny, and of course most of it (indeed doubtless all of it) is tongue in cheek, but I did find some of the grosser slapstick just too much: the "tolerance" in the title here is to make allowances for the inevitable overdoing of almost everything made in Hollywood films. But I doubt that big names like Paul Newman, Liza Minelli, Burt Reynolds, James Caan and Anne Bancroft (wow, can that lady squint!) would have put in a cameo appearance if they didn't have confidence in the film, and I would still recommend this one for a good laugh, providing you like that sort of thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only One Word Spoken and Volumes Said!, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Mel Brooks in his pomp! Keep an eye on the late and fantastic Marty Feldman throughout. The expression "genius" is a little overworked these days. There's something irreverent and visceral happening scene by scene. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funnier first time around, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
A good film but perhaps humour has moved on or my funny bone has become dull. It still has merit but maybe eclipsed by The Artist?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beggars?, 5 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I confess I never saw the amazon page for this movie since I bought my old videotape copy in a shop when amazon likely didn't exist yet. But I came across it and just wanted to check why such a humorous, funny, hilarious and brilliant movie was rated so poorly. And I found out.

Found out that my shoes smell of wee. Didn't know that, double checked and still nothing. Somehow I don't feel insulted, just surprised how a comment like that is not against policies.

Anyway, back to the topic. It's an alternative, unconventional and even daring movie that can entertain even using just one audible word: "Non!", unpredictably said, or stated, by somebody that's not supposed to speak at all in real life. But this is not real life, it's the realm of crazy nonsense, and everything can be acceptable when you get sucked into it. Insane things keep on happening at a forced pace and you just think -why, that's natural.

90 minutes laugh. Definitely worth watching.
Enjoy it! :)

Appendix: If people like this Wagowan can write here, my guess is that anybody can. And most likely it's a troll, seeing the other comment, by the by. Unfortunately, a voting troll, spoiling some overall results for something that deserves way better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hysyerical!, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
The 4th funniest film of Mel Brooks, showing that silent can still be the best. His funniest films are, in order, The Producers, Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein. A very funny man that lost his way in later films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Brooks Genius?, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Mel Brooks can do no wrong in my eyes, so maybe i am the wrong person to review his work. It speaks volumes for his humour
when the only person to speak in the film is a mime artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!!, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Mel Brooks in a very funny film. Not his best, but with his track record, it's hard to get perfection every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Movie [1976] [DVD]
Silent Movie [1976] [DVD] by Mel Brooks (DVD - 2005)
£4.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews