Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Z-Boys!
Lords Of Dogtown is a compelling true story about the origins of pro skateboarding. Following the ups and downs of the three major stars to emerge from the 'Z-Boys' skate club, this movie documents the struggle that fame and recognition has on their once impeccable friendship. Tony, Stacy and Jay, three teenage boys with very different backgrounds but all sharing a...
Published on 15 Nov. 2005 by Ni

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the correct product.
Well according to the picture it says the DVD is the 'original theatrical version' but iv recieved the directors cut addition. Anyone going to buy this don't, go for the one above as it's exactly the same and is only £4.50. Apart from that, it's an awesome film and arrived on time.
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by C1988


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Z-Boys!, 15 Nov. 2005
By 
Ni (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
Lords Of Dogtown is a compelling true story about the origins of pro skateboarding. Following the ups and downs of the three major stars to emerge from the 'Z-Boys' skate club, this movie documents the struggle that fame and recognition has on their once impeccable friendship. Tony, Stacy and Jay, three teenage boys with very different backgrounds but all sharing a passion for surfing, break into the pro skating world with their revolutionary moves, but only to find that the fame is not as appealing as it looks. The three boys are tested to the limits when they begin to shine at the sport and are flooded with potential sponsors, and faced with the difficult decision of whether or not to sell out their loyalty to Skip, their Team Leader, for fame and money. Not only is their relationship with Skip tested but their allegiance to each other is pushed past its limits; the attraction of fame, fortune and notoriety quickly breaks down their friendship and changes them in many ways.

Jay's story is a saddening journey depicting the effects a broken home can have on a teenage boy striving to support his incapable mother in any way possible and at the expense of his own dreams. Tony's story demonstrates the way a desperation for fame can negate the original passion and fun; transforming it into a constant trial and strife to be nothing but the best, despite who might get hurt in the process. Stacy, depicted as quite a mundane and questionably perfect teenager, takes a more understated and less glamorous journey to the top born out of his hard work and a sustained love of the sport.

The acting is brilliant, Emile Hirsch, Victor Rasuk and John Robinson are believable in their roles and carry the movie exceptionally well. Heath Ledger is also very impressive as Skip, the down trodden owner of the skate shop and Michael Angerano as Sid, pulls off his unfortunate story perfectly. The actors help to bring the story to life; give it energy and excitement with the help of a perfectly chosen soundtrack and beautiful scenery.

The movie is exceptional at displaying the pure, untouched energy of the youths, so much so that you can almost feel the rush the teenagers are feeling. It's a raw and beautiful emotion that is constantly existent throughout. The hard hitting break up of the friendship is excellently depicted, and although laced in tragedy, the ending is something beautiful and incredibly powerful reinforced by Sparklehorse's perfectly heartbreaking cover of Wish You Were Here. Highly recommend, whether a skateboarding fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Locals Only, 16 July 2010
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
Lords of Dogtown is based on a true story highlighting the constant evolution of Skateboarding throughout the '70s and the Zephyr Team, that are recognised as one of the "original seeds" to make Skateboarding the art-form of concrete Surfing it is 'til this very day. The movie focuses around the original stand-outs of the Zephyr Team; Stacy Peralta, Jay Adans and, of course, Tony Alva. The kids are skating Pools during the '70s drought and are content with sneaking into backyards and running from angry homeowners and Cops when Skip Elbom (owner of locals-only Venice surf shop, Zephyr) makes the Zephyr Team where they enter into the Bahme-Cadillac Skate Competition (otherwise known as the Del-Mar Nationals) and get more attention than they bargained for! With their freestyle, unique approach to Skateboarding this gains them attention at more Skate Nationals which ultimately leads to fame and fortune for some, and tested, frayed Friendships for all. What happens when the Boyz are approached by big, commercial Skate teams, can they possibly leave Zephyr behind? If so, what's in store for Skip and the rest of the Zephyr team? Can these friends get back to the purity of the sport? A must of anybody who's interested in Skateboarding!
I loved this film because it was written and shot by original Z-Boy Stacy Peralta which gives it a real element of truth and I think it really captures what happened in the '70s when the Team were starting to compete. It's extremely well shot (especially during the Surf and Skate scenes), extremely well acted (my stand out performance was Emile Hirsch playing Jay Adams) and has a real '70s, sunny feel to the whole Movie. Also, the 3 main Actors who played Stacy, Jay and Tony actually learned to Skate for months on end so that they could do all the Skate and Surf scenes, which I think is brilliant and it really makes the Movie. I have watched this Movie over and over and it's still fresh and brilliant, I don't think anyone could ever tire of it!
If you haven't seen this yet, you're missing out!
Keep it local!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogtown forever!, 2 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
I won't go into any great detail about the film as another reviewer has already covered it extensively. But what I will say is that if you started skating back in the 70s then this is a must see film. It's beautifully shot and the actors that play Tony, Jay and Stacey really have copied their styles perfectly. There is plenty of action and cameo roles by arguably the 3 most famous/notorious skaters of all time. I honestly can't see non skaters being as enthusiastic about the film but it's still worth seeing especially at the discounted price it is now available for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a class apart!, 24 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
on the whole hollywood produces a lot of dross. most of it is regurgitated storylines, with bog standard acting, that quite often just feels half hearted. i am glad to say this is not one of those movies.
the feel of the film is great, slightly grainy, with sun bleached colours, and a rip snorting rock soundtrack that propels you directly into the era. the acting is sensational. for all of those who thinks heath ledger's best acting role was the joker, you are wrong. this is. he is absolutely stonking as the misguided, wayward Skip, yet despite all the brashness there is an underlying compassion and vulnerability that really engage you. emile hirsch too is outstanding. i saw him in the girl next door and although i really enjoyed the film i felt like he was going to be just another one trick pony. i couldn't be more wrong. his journey as a character and person is highly believable, and is one of the highlights of the film.
when i first saw this film i wasn't aware it was based on real life. since my first viewing i have seen the documentary and was surprised by how closely the film follows the story. the looks of the individual characters too are spot on, especially peralta.
this is much more than a movie about a bunch of skateboarders who found fame. it is a story about life, and friendship, desperation and hope. it truly is a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Film., 25 Aug. 2009
By 
SJ (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
This is the true story of a group of young people who enjoy skateboarding. Written by Stacy Peralta who was one of the group it shows how skateboarding (and a bit of luck) changed their lives in different ways.
There is some brilliant acting from the late Heath Ledger and Johnny Knoxville and a guest appearance from Tony Hawk.
A thoroughly enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best!, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
I really love this movie! I love everything 70s and Catherine really brought that 70s feel to life, the actors were right on spot and i could see they did a lot of research into the characters they were portraying! What i loved about this movie is that you don't have to be into the skateboard scene to love it, it has an awesome storyline and beautifully shot, a really radical soundtrack which i bought too! It's definitely a must see! Watch out for Heath Ledger and Emile Hirsch they're performances were great, and it only helped be fall even more in love with Emile!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skateboarding and surfing at its best ever!, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Seaslave1 (South Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of my all time favourite films. Heath Ledger at his best, deserved an oscar for his performance. The soundtrack throughout the film is fitting for the era, as well as the deep rock vibe running through it too. If you love surfing and skating, this is the best film of this genre. A true life biography of the skateboard era of the 70's. If you're a lover of skate and surf, this is the film for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this film!, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of Dogtown [DVD] (DVD)
The product itself is in great condition and arrived before the expected delivery date. Being a longboarder myself I loved being able to see the guys that brought this sport to life and it's very moving. I had my friends watch it as well and they say the loved it just as much even though they don't board. This is now a classic in my eyes! (Has anyone else noticed the mistake on the DVD cover though?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 14 April 2014
By 
Ms. V. J. Taylor "V Taykir" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is fantastic! if you like surf/California/skating this is the film for you. Its based on a true story and the acting is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dogtown, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you skateboard this is a must have for your library of DVDs. A great story and well told. Lots of excellent skating and a really enjoyable watch. A true story of some of the greats in skateboarding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lords Of Dogtown [UMD Mini for PSP]
Lords Of Dogtown [UMD Mini for PSP] by Catherine Hardwicke (UMD Mini for PSP - 2006)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews