Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The psychedelic / goth / punk masterpiece, 31 July 2009
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
When The Black Album came out in 1980 it was an extraordinary leap forward for The Damned. Yes it contained 'punk' tracks such as Hit Or Miss, Drinking About My Baby and Sick Of This And That, but it also strayed into psychedelia with Silly Kids Games and especially the mighty Curtain Call. The latter foray signifying the birth of what would become known as 'Goth'. Such diversity was unheard of by most 'punk' bands in 1980, a time when The Exploited and Discharge were still pedalling there derivative wares. Accordingly The Black Album still holds its head up high today and this magnificent extended version contains a second disc of 'B' sides and singles to further bolster the quality. Punk? Psychedelia? Goth? Who cares what category this album falls into, the only one that matters is Masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite record for a long time, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
Sadly this is not available as it originally was as a double album with the full length "Curtain Call" and a live side with a great version of "Love Song". However, the album shows a lot more maturity and really lets Captain Sensible's nusical talents shine through, particularly in the arrangements - for example "Silly Kids' Games" for the vocals or the instrumentation in "History of the World". And although a bit of a rehash of "Love Song", when "Therapy" kicks in I can remember the urgency that got me excited about them in the first place. Whilst some maintain "Machine Gun Etiquette" is the Damned's finest moment, I beg to differ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous musical post-punk pastiche, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
Although the sound is not as powerful as on other Damned's albums, this CD contains everything one can appreciate in their late records. It's a marvellous composition of a musical pastiche and a subtle humour, typical for all D's lyrics. One or two songs (not the last one!) might be some second shorter, but it still is an exciting record. It's like a kind of a refined, sophisticated post-punk Beatles. Can't believe it? Just hear it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'd be Damned if you didn't buy, 16 July 2006
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
I have owned the original vinyl album since it's release but have not played it for some time and didn't realise what i have been missing. This is even better with the additional tracks on CD 2 and this has inspired me to stock up and replace all my old punk LP vinyls with CDs. With the impressive White Rabbit being played again in the extended version, this compensates for the disappointment of the shorter version. I have so many favourites from this album such as Plan 9 Channel 7, Smash It Up 1 & 2, I Just Can't Be Happy Today, to choose from, it's so hard to to be be able pick one, but you can never discount the legendary Curtain Call! The Damned truely were one of the outstanding punk bands ever to grace the stage. I have already filled my basket with other Damned albums in anticipation for the next purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about damned perfection, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Black Album (MP3 Download)
Having seen the Damned in the 80s, I was looking forward to seeing them again recently on their 35th anniversary tour. When I found out that they were playing their first two albums, I was well excited but then, to my horror, discovered that my 'Black Album' had vanished from the attic. Thank goodness for mp3 downloads! I quickly bought the album - and what an album! Yes, 'Damned Damned Damned' and the early punk stuff was fantastic but in terms of musical talent, well this was possibly the Damned at their very best. Every song is epic and I have fallen in love with this album all over again.
Oh and by the way, the 35th anniversary gig was just amazing. Sensible and Vanian do not seem to have aged at all and performed with the same gusto and style, as well as almost the same hairstyles, that they did when I first saw them. I wish I could say the same for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Damned - The Black Album, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Stevie Harrold (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
Already knew what to expect, having this on vinyl, but the second CD was a welcome bonus. The live tracks are of decent quality (production-wise) and include some rarities. Well worth the purchase on their own. Get this CD even if you already have the vinyl, You won't regret it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
amazing,the 2 studio sides,and then curtain call!!!!!!
makes me remember when i rushed home with my precious vinyl purchase,just great to have it packaged up,and some rarities for the anoracks.............the live side is still as wonderful as i remember it being in the day,and to those of us who never got into live concerts,then this is as good as it gets......enjoy.....fred

nb....the build up and anticipation on the live side,just before plan 9 channel 7 is out of this world....turn it right up and it really does just soar away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
This album defines The Damned and their ability to mix the fun side of their music with the dark side. No other band seems to have got this mix just right. The wonderful 'Curtain Call' is a 17 minute masterpiece that shows their diversity and should go down in history as one of the best songs ever written. This album should be in everyone's collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any collection, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
I had not really ventured into 'punk bands' as such before buying this album- which I did soley on other reviewers comments. I was not disappointed- the album is as fresh and vital as if it were recorded yesterday and I will definatley be purchasing more stuff by The Damned. Go buy it- you won't regret it- turn up the volume....loud..sit back & enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best - bar none, 22 Oct 2004
By 
A.J (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Album (Audio CD)
Easily my favourite album of all time, shame the live tracks don't appear to have made it to the cd, buy this and live shepperton 1980 and enjoy. Quite why the damned aren't as popular as some of their peers is beyond me.
BUY THIS ALBUM YOU WON'T REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Album
The Black Album by Damned (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews