Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the funniest comedy ever
This film is simply hilarious. Why? Because right from the very start we are drawn into a world of the sublimely ridiculous. Steve Martin and others act the part brilliantly. The jokes are the zaniest and most urinatingly funny you will ever see. This is a classic film and has been overlooked by many. You will not regret buying this film if you love silly and crazy...
Published on 23 Mar 2004 by P. o'reilly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sporadically very funny
I normally love Steve Martin and a lot of this film does not disappoint but the theme centred mainly around his inability to get his wife into bed and a lot of it was quite puerile. Despite that I enjoyed it for Steve Martin's brilliant comic timing.
Published 7 months ago by A. Cippico


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the funniest comedy ever, 23 Mar 2004
By 
This film is simply hilarious. Why? Because right from the very start we are drawn into a world of the sublimely ridiculous. Steve Martin and others act the part brilliantly. The jokes are the zaniest and most urinatingly funny you will ever see. This is a classic film and has been overlooked by many. You will not regret buying this film if you love silly and crazy humour. It is the kind of film to watch with a new girlfriend and laugh yourselves stupid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The good and bad of Martin, 6 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Blue Heaven & Man With Two Brains [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The man with two brains

Twice as boring

Dr. Michael Hfuhruhurr (Steve Martin) has a problem choosing between brain waves, Anne Uumellmahaye (Sissy Spacek), and "Body Heat", Dolores Benedict (Kathleen Turner). The whole premise is can love be found in a bottle.

I thought `The jerk' was bad until I saw this movie, both mysteriously directed by Carl Reiner. All he does is make faces with no real acting or thought behind them. A few faces are o.k. but over an over of watching grins and grimaces can get monotonous. I almost stopped watching Steve martin that is capable of making good movies like "Housesitter" (1992) with Goldie Hawn.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

My Blue Heaven

"Take my keys, take my gun, take me"

I am not going to go in to details, of the movie "My Blue Heaven"; however the story line is about Vinni, (Martin), as a New York City gangster enrolled in the witness protection program. He is sent to a seemingly innocent town, Fryberg. A FBI agent (Rick Moranis) is assigned to look after him. The agent is a recent ex-husband due to his overly systematic behavior.

While attempting to keep Vinni out of trouble the agent meets an interesting district attorney (Joan Cussak). She also is an ex with two kids. Vinni seizes the opportunity to help the agent and the attorney gets to know each other better and in the process helps Barney the agent loosen up a bit. On the side he seizes much more with the help of his (old) new friends. Will anything come of the agent/attorney relation ship? Will Vinni find a home or is he destined for incarceration?

See Steve Martin a little more down to earth as n architect in "Housesitter" (1992).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Often a very funny film, 1 April 2011
I've wanted to really like this movie but previously it's not clicked with me. I thought it started good but lost steam after the first half hour, and then dragged on with too few jokes too far apart. There was a lack of forward motion to it which annoyed and bored me. I considered it to be an overrated dud with some signs of quality here and there.

This time, for no obvious reason, it clicked with me. I found it to be engaging from the start to the very end. Perhaps it worked this time because I was paying proper attention to the "dramatic" story and not just thinking of it as an excuse they were using to string some jokes along?

It's a gloriously silly film and Steve Martin is excellent. It really is a puzzle how he stopped being funny from about the early 90s onwards (a very notable exception being the brilliant Bowfinger in 1999)?

The film could certainly be better (quicker pace, more jokes, nicer visuals) but it's good enough for some easy laughs. Not a masterpiece but a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy at its best., 31 Aug 2009
By 
J. Sibthorpe "john" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blue Heaven & Man With Two Brains [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is steve martin at his best.
My blue heaven is a good family film, where as the man with two brains is a little more adult in style.
Either way steve martin is brilliant, and the sopporting cast in both films are good.
A must have for any dvd collection.
10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Martin did it again, 13 May 2009
By 
a1ex8 (Leeds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This film is funny. Not just a little bit funny, but really really funny. Steve Martin is absolutely on top form in 'The man with two brains', and aswell as 'The Jerk', is my favourite Steve Martin film.

The Man With Two Brains is based around the life of a pioneering brain surgeon named Dr. Hfuhruhurr (Steve Martin), who is renowned for inventing a method known as 'cranial screw-top' brain surgery.
Lovesick, due to the loss of his wife, on the way home from work he accidently runs over a gold-diging femme fatale named Dolores Benedict (Kathleen Turner), and foolishly, unable to see her sly, and malicious plan to rob him of his money, falls in love with her, and shortly after, they marry.

Soon after they wed, Dr. Hfuhruhurr meets another scientist named DR. Alfred Necessiter (David Warner) at a conference in Vienna, who claims he has discovered a scientific breakthrough that will change the face of the earth forever. Dr. Hfuhruhurr agrees to visit him at his house later that evening, and soon discovers that his life as he previously knew it, is about to change forever, due to the fact that he becomes completely and utterly enfactuated by a bottled brain (Voice over - Sissy Spacek) that can only communicate with him, and no one else!

Director Carl Reiner and Steve Martin (frequent collaborators) have managed to cram this film full to the brim of wacky, bizarre and completely outlandish ideas. The back-drops and sets to this film are really great (look out for the set of Dr. Alfred Necessiter's house), and the great directorial skills of Carl Reiner, bring this film together, and manage to create a superb, well-crafted finished piece.

Steve Martin as usual plays his character fantastically, always striving to go as over the top and as wacky as possible, And Kathleen Turner as Dolores Benedict plays the money-grabbing femme fatal with great style and wit, really messing with the emotions (primarily the anger levels) of the viewer.

If you haven't seen this film already, I urge you to watch it. You won't regret it!

Summary: Great, funny, intelligent and outlandish film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get that cat out of here!, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
a cult classic of comedy cinema from 1983 comes to dvd. made back in the early days of steve martin's screen career when he adopted the wild and crazy style of his stand up shows for his movies, and fast and wacky comedy appeared on screen as a result.

martin plays brilliant brain surgeon dr michael hfuhruhurr, a widower who falls for a lady played by kathleen turner. unbenkownst to him she's really a black widower killer who marries rich men then kills them for their money. but their relatioship gets a complication when he falls in love with a woman who is currently a disembodied brain in a glass tank.

the course of true love then runs anything but smooth...

the strength of the film is that everyone involved plays it dead straight, which only heightens the absurdity and the comedy of all the resulting situations. it will occasionlly throw in silly lines and sight gags in the style of airplane and lots of other films but it never adopts the throw all you can at the screen and hope they stick style, it uses these occasionally and often to advance the narrative, and that makes it work as a movie.

this is a fifteen certificate due to adult situations and references and a couple of bits of strong language.

the disc comes with english french and italian language tracks.

and subtitles in english arabic french icelandic and italian.

the only extra is a short trailer for a dvd collection of james dean movies.

but this is not a movie that needs a special edition with lots of features for you to get the most from it. You can do that by watching it again and again and you'll be reminded of jokes you've forgotten each time. excellent zany comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sporadically very funny, 13 May 2014
By 
A. Cippico (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally love Steve Martin and a lot of this film does not disappoint but the theme centred mainly around his inability to get his wife into bed and a lot of it was quite puerile. Despite that I enjoyed it for Steve Martin's brilliant comic timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is very funny,Steve Martin is very good falling in love with a brain,Kathleen Turner as beautiful as bad...if you buy it you will have a funny good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Steve..., 31 Dec 2013
By 
S. Murphy "S. Murphy" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film and I got the dvd so I could watch with my son over Christmas - it didnt disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews