Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Bit Of... Robin Trower, 1 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Robin Trower: Living Out Of Time [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Living Out Of Time is an excellent studio album from RT, which was followed up by a remarkable concert tour. This DVD captures a pure genius at work on his 60th Birthday on the 9th March 2005 at the Harmonie in Bonn Germany. Even at the ripe old age of 60, his performance is totally staggering and every inch as good of what he did back in his heyday. Accompanied by a superb rhythm section with the likes of Dave Bronze on Bass, Pete Thompson on Drums and Davey Patterson vocals (who is the nearest thing you will ever hear to the late sadly lost James Dewar). The concert takes in a truly fantastic set list of RT's classics, along with tracks from his latest album at the time Living Out Of Time. As a guitarist RT is a pure genius and a legend. This concert DVD captures Robin at his very best crafting his skills through classics like Daydream, which is every bit as good as it was performed back in 1975 without a doubt. Other great Classics include Day of the Eagle, Bridge of Sighs, Too Rolling Stoned and a Little Bit of Sympathy all of which are mind blowing performances mixed in with material from his more later albums such as 20th Century Blues, Go My Way and Living Out of Time, Which are all very good albums that add up to making this set list of 13 songs pure class.

The picture quality is very good with very good lighting and captures the performances very well. The sound comes in 2 formats PCM Stereo and a Dolby Digital 5.1 mix that is simply breathtaking and to die for. I sincerely take my hat off to the person responsible for the 5.1 mix he truly as paid great attention to detail with this mix, and to be quite honest he as done something that I never would of dreamed of myself would actually work with this mix. This 5.1 mix comes with a very good LF channel which is to be honest, missing on the majority of 5.1 mixes you get, and not only as this guy used it well, but he as very cleverly put the Bass Guitar in the rear speakers (and I must say it works very well) leaving the front 2 channels for drums and guitar, and the centre channel for the vocals. This makes the separation truly fantastic giving every detail to every instrument. The crowd pops up also from the rear giving you the sense of being there, and quite interestingly noticeable especially on the middle section of Bridge of Sighs where the bass plays a couple of lead notes at the higher end of the bass, he as shifted them from the rear to the centre channel. It truly is a remarkable 5.1 mix that produces a sound as good as any DTS Soundtracks out there, it's simply class. I only wished more sound engineers had this chaps vision, because there are loads out there who simply do not have a clue in this field, and so many concerts in 5.1 have turned out pretty poor over the years.

Over all Living Out of Time is a totally busting DVD of a live concert that captures a pure legend at work. It comes with very good picture quality and superb sound, it's worth every penny of it's money and it's certainly one DVD I am proud to have sitting in my collection. My only fault with this is that it's not long enough, I could have watched and listend to him all day. Robin may have a few lines and wrinkles at his mature age of 60, but he is far from an old fart, he is in every way as good as he was back in his heyday, and what you are getting here for your money is 100% class that I would highly recommend. It truly is a remarkable showcase to a pure great genius and a legendary guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 4 April 2006
By 
Project1013 (Chester, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my early favourite LP's was Robin Trower Live and I continued to enjoy his studio recordings.
This DVD brings a big smile to my face as Robin's sound comes alive again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower - living Out Of time [DVD], 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Trower: Living Out Of Time [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'll keep this short and sweet. If your a fan of Robin Trower this DVd is a must for your collection. Great music, great band, great sound and of course Robin Trower. I travelled from Northern Ireland to see this show at the 'Shepards Bush Empire' and was not disappointed. Great to have it on DVD. Buy now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Momchil Emilov (Shumen, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered it for my father and I am going to say what he said. He said with a smile on his face that this DVD was what he was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless decades, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Trower: Living Out Of Time [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Have i really lived another 30 years,my eyes deceive me but my heart beats to the past,i return to whence i belonged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower DVD, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Trower: Living Out Of Time [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift for someone and wasn't able to watch the whole thing. The tracks I did manage to see prove that Robin can still cut it live,and though no one can equal the vocals of James Dewar,I have to say that Davey Pattison does a fine job here.
Good sound quality and lots of fretboard close ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best "live" DVDs ever made, 27 April 2009
Trower a Hendrix clone? Are you kidding? Just look at me, I'm crazy about Trower's music and I don't even like Jimi Hendrix! Yes, he was a great innovator but let's face it, the guy couldn't sing, he never realized what it means to be part of a band, and he wrote songs that were calling out for much bigger arrangements than a guitar trio.

So here's my private version of history for you: When Hendrix died, Robin Trower picked up the mantel and perfected this new style of electric guitar playing. He didn't have Hendrix's raw bite and aggression, but he made sure to have a truly superb singer in the late great Jimmy Dewar and a superb producer, and he started his solo career after leaving Procol Harum by making two fantastic albums. Then, admittedly, things gradually deteriorated. Bill Lordan, who replaced original drummer Reg Isadore, was never my favourite Trower musician, sounding as if he was constantly trying to slow down the pace. The album "In City Dreams" stood out, but it really isn't until this DVD that Rob the Tower, now 60 years old, reaches his full potential. This live set is nothing short of stunning, captivating, super soulful, with perfect vocals from Davy Pattison and a truly fine rhythm section. The songs are well-chosen, mainly taken from the earliest and latest part of the immense repertiore, and stretching from straight blues to some more experimentive tones. Wonderful music, wonderful playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome axeman, 1 Jan 2008
By 
A. J. Firmin "MadMacMan" (Mancheser, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are not many DVD's around with Robin Trower playing his guitar. This concert footage, albeit an average performance overall, shows that he is still a master axeman and his playing is still awesome.
The interview is also of interest.
Recommended for the converted and those who may want to see what they may have been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Trower: Living Out Of Time [DVD] [2005]
Used & New from: 12.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews