Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is so underrated!
Fantastic game, I think the frame rate issue has been solved with the presence of the new Nintendo DS Lite, I hardly notice any problem at all. The graphics are amazing for a DS game and the complexity of this game makes it a must have. I'm not particularly a tennis fan but this has changed my mind in terms of gaming. If you get a sports game, well.. a DS game make it...
Published on 21 Dec. 2006 by A. Maine

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You NEED a DS Lite and it will be ok.
Presentation: 16 top players and a couple of liscenced tournaments. Plus a full career mode. Great for tennis nuts like me.
8/10

Graphics: Unplayable on an original DS but is alright on Lite. Players are recognisable if you know them and courts are pretty nicely re-created.
7/10

Sound: Very repetetive and dull.
5/10...
Published on 12 July 2007 by GS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is so underrated!, 21 Dec. 2006
By 
A. Maine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Fantastic game, I think the frame rate issue has been solved with the presence of the new Nintendo DS Lite, I hardly notice any problem at all. The graphics are amazing for a DS game and the complexity of this game makes it a must have. I'm not particularly a tennis fan but this has changed my mind in terms of gaming. If you get a sports game, well.. a DS game make it this one you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You NEED a DS Lite and it will be ok., 12 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Presentation: 16 top players and a couple of liscenced tournaments. Plus a full career mode. Great for tennis nuts like me.
8/10

Graphics: Unplayable on an original DS but is alright on Lite. Players are recognisable if you know them and courts are pretty nicely re-created.
7/10

Sound: Very repetetive and dull.
5/10

Gameplay: Diffrent buttons for different shots but Risk shots are far too easy and no use of Touch-Screen or Microphone
7/10

Long-Lasting: Career mode is too easy and can be done in a couple of weeks. No unlockables and two copies of the game required for multi-player.
7/10

Overall:
6.4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars give it time and you'll be hooked, 2 Aug. 2006
By 
M. Hanscomb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
On first impressions I wasn't too enamoured with Top Spin 2, the only tennis game I had loved to play prior to this was the Virtua Tennis games on the Dreamcast. But if you give Top Spin 2 some time you'll discover that this game is not only good fun to play, but it also has a lot of depth to offer. The main game modes include career, tournament and exhibition. Tournament and exhibition enable you to choose from different highly ranked professionals (Tommy Haas, Tim Henman et al) and compete against the CPU. Career mode is where the fun starts; you can customise your tennis player and rise through the ranks competing in different tournaments for prize money, unlocking different training modes and improving your stats along the way. While graphically the game looks a little rough round the edges, and you only have two camera angles to choose from (near or far), the game play is excellent. You are able to use 4 different shots plus you can use the intuitive trigger button system that, when timed well, enables you to blast shots past your opponents (or out of play if you time it wrong). This gives the game a realist strategic element to it as the trigger buttons add a risk factor instead of trying to work angles to score points from using "safe shots". Overall I would recommend this game to DS owners as there is the pick up and play fun aspect to it but it is also a game that will last you a good while. Ace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Spin 2 Ds, 11 July 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Here is what I think;

Graphics 3/5; While sometimes the graphics appear choppy, this is easy to get used to, and it doesn't happen often anyway. The courts are quite well detailed, so are the players.

Controls 4/5; The controls are easy to get used to, and once you have got the hang of them, they are great and you can get some good shots in. The D-Pad allows you to move around the court, and once you have swung your racket back, allows you to hit the ball where you want. E.g Press right to hit the ball right once you have swung. The longer you press either A,X,Y or B, the futher the ball will travel. These buttons all do different things. Y=Lob X=slice shot A=Safe shot B=Topspin shot. L Button=Drop shot R Button=Risk Shot.

Gameplay; 4/5 There are two modes of Gameplay. The "quick-play" mode allows you to make your own tournament (rules, court, rounds, etc.) and test you skills to see how far you can go. Here you can play as any of the world's 16 best players, Such as Maria Sharapova, Andy roddick, Roger federer or Venus Williams. For this mode, you can set a level of difficulty.

Then there is career mode. First of all, you create your own player.(gender, name, skin colour, nationality etc.)Then You can either go to a training camp and do some mini games to improve your skills, or you can dive straight into a tournament. There are around 20 tournaments in all, but only three are unlocked at the beginning. These are much easier then some of the harder tournaments such as Wimbeldon or the U.S open, which you unlock towards the end. The more tournaments you win, the more you unlock.

Life Span; 3/5 Most sports games do get repetitive after a while, and top spin 2 is no exception. But it will give you a few weeks of entertainment. Even after you have basically completed the game and moved on, you will still find yourself sometimes going back to top spin 2 for a quick game or two. multiplayer is great if you have someone to play against.

Over all; 14/20 Thats a good mark. Tennis fans will get more out of this game than others, but its still a game generally suited for everyone, with plenty of fun to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 1 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I hated everything about this game, the graphics, the gameplay, the camera angles etc.
The publisher should be ashamed of themselves for producing such trash.
The game is also very unrealistic and boring.
I only played this game for 5 minutes before realizing how bad it was.
A complete waste of money
Avoid at all costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great game, 7 Aug. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is wonderful for tennis fans or beginners to tennis. The graphics are great and you do not need a ds lite to play the game. Well worth the money so get yours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Graphics, Very Gripping, 11 Jan. 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Ok so at first really bad luck'ly i got it from toys'R us for only 10.00 in the sale. But amazon do it pretty good.
the contols are quite hard to master, but, thankfuly a very gripping game.
Its really hard to master witch keeps you going, i really enjoy ths game and give it 10 out of 20, 10 away for bad gaphics and hard controls.
And if you love useing the styelus, then this game isant 4 u, sorry,

Hope this helps,

WoLfIe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful game, 14 July 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
this game is terrible. the perspective is right behind the player's back. it is not challenging at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS)
Top Spin 2 (Nintendo DS) by Take 2 Interactive (Nintendo DS)
£6.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews