Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necro-mungous
I'm largely a fan of Tim Burtons work, bar a couple, and having seen this for the first time recently I have to say that it's a work of art.

When I first saw Nightmare before Christmas I felt it was lacking something. Burtons reliance upon his saccharin goth formula has been tiresome in some of his recent outings. But the gnarly silhouetted backdrops and jaunty...
Published on 30 Dec 2006 by Stuart R. Allen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the prettiest movies ever, should be savoured on a bigger screen.
Firstly I love this movie and the film alone would get 5 stars. However, even taking into account the limitations of watching ANYTHING on a small screen, this lost out more than most. In crowded scenes like in the bar I found it hard to keep focus where it's meant to be as it's all crammed in a tiny area. The beautiful character detail is lost making it look like a...
Published on 7 Sep 2008 by Ms. N. Devadoss


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necro-mungous, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Stuart R. Allen "Extreme Dom" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm largely a fan of Tim Burtons work, bar a couple, and having seen this for the first time recently I have to say that it's a work of art.

When I first saw Nightmare before Christmas I felt it was lacking something. Burtons reliance upon his saccharin goth formula has been tiresome in some of his recent outings. But the gnarly silhouetted backdrops and jaunty atmospheric soundtrack by Danny Elfman suited this film down to the ground, no pun intended.

The plot was slightly cutesy in places but with Burtons astonishing eye for detail and depth of scenery you soon become lost in it all.

With the Pixar animation machine taking over the world at the moment churning out throw-away plots it was refreshing to see a stop motion flick come up with something that looks as beautiful as this does.

With Burton and Depp both being staunch 'Anglo-philes' it was no surprise to see a strong British cast lending their voices to this film.

If you're a fan of Tim Burton and have yet to see this, I strongly urge you to do so because the magic he weaves in his films has never been so perfectly executed as it was in this film. One in the eye for Pixar I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and marriage deserve to die, 6 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Do not try to disentangle and find out all the allusions this film contains. You will always miss most of them, even Hamlet. Just enjoy the animation that is superbly creative and the situation that is so full of humor, black and white and in colors, that you may end up losing your marbles and loosening your jaws. The music is definitely marvelous and mysterious. A Danse Macabre in high noble society and a wedding march in the cemetery. An accidental marriage crossing the life and death divide that has to be repaired to satisfy the true right love marriage that could not take place due to some infernal elopement or kidnaping of the bridegroom. The characters are superb marionnettes and cartoons so nimble and yet stiff at the same time that they seem to be dancing cripples in wheelchairs. It's true though the dog is the best of them all. This film is a caricature, a satire of any commonplace trite established statement and of any attempt at being creative and escaping this preprogramed and overdigested world of ours. You will think of many other films and you will be right, though you will miss most of them. At times it is a direct allusion like an echo and at times it is an indirect allusion like a photographic negative. And the best of it all is that it is neither gross nor frightening, but deeply romantic, with maybe a touch of slavonic nostalgia and sadness.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University of Paris Dauphine & University of Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different beauty, 26 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked "A Nightmare Before Christmas" you'll absolutely enjoy this one as well. I must admit that I really admire most of Tim Burton's films, as they really seem to go beneath the surface in a most profound and original way and really do have a lot of heart and depth. A film, which is about a guy who accidentally marries a `dead' woman and therefore is taken to the underworld of the dead and hold there against his wish bound by his vow, would normally seem to be a rather dark and sinister film, but not in this case, this is a beautiful film. It is almost `classical' in its style of telling its tale, but at the same time of cause, being a Tim Burton film, `unusual'. This is about magic & love versus vanity & evil, but the film also has a lot of humour and irony, which is unfolded in a glorious way. It is also a film about redemption, and dare I say, it has a wonderful ending where everything falls into place. The music is also a big part of this movie and Danny Elfman, who is a great film composer, has really delivered some stunning tunes. This is a real gem by the maestro - don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die, die, we all pass away; but don't wear a frown, 'cos it's really ok :), 11 Oct 2006
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Tim Burton has done it again! The story of our own jubilicously lovely corpse bride :) This is a funny, romantic, sweet and just a little bir creepy adventure with a great sense of humor and wonderful songs. It is more "grown-up" when compared to Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas; Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham's voices have added so much to the characters. Make sure you buy the movie together with the soundtrack. A must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade from DVD to Blu-ray, 28 Dec 2008
I can't imagine the picture looking better than it does on Blu-ray. I previously owned the DVD but will be passing that on now. The Blu-ray is captivating and really makes the most of the contrast between the more monochromatic and colourful sequences. The 4 stars is because even though the film is good, it feels lacking a certain something, particularly in the abruptness (to my taste) of the ending...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
My six-year old daughter introduced me to this film, which she saw at a friend's house. She says it is "beautiful and sad at the same time". We have watched it together a few times now and I think she is spot on! To my mind much better than the Nightmare Before Christmas; there is a superb cast of voices as well as all the visual delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for everyone, 21 Nov 2005
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is one of those films that your laughing all the way through and think in the middle 'Hang on why am i laughing?'
With witty little things that make you laugh and reminds you every minute of 'A Nightmare Before Christmas' yet has a totally different story this film flows nicely and leaves you at the end not feeling tired because it went on so long or dissapointed because it finished to quick.
This film is one that you can sit there on a wet Sunday afternoon with the kids and watch over and over again.
A real must see. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MAGICAL FILM, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I first watched this film at the cinema and enjoyed it, then I saw it in an offer and bought it along with 4 other films. I watched this for a second time last night in bed and enjoyed it once again.

This is by the creator's of NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS and I enjoyed that so with this I knew I was in for a treat. TIM BURTON has done it again and created a timeless film to be enjoyed by young and old alike.

This might be a bit scary for the younger cildren (3 - 5) but children older will enjoy it. But the film is a PG so it's upto the parents really weather they let their children see this.

Set in a 19th European village, this stop - motion animated feature follows the story of Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp), a young man whisked away to the underworld and wed to a mysterious Corpse Bride (voiced by Helena Bonham Carter), while his real bride Victoria (voiced by Emily Watson) waits bereft in the land of the living. Though life in the Land of the Dead proves to be a lot more colourful than his strict upbringing, Victor learns that there is nothing in this world - or the next - that can keep him away from his one true love.

It's a really good film and a film that I think will stand the test of time like NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS did. I really enjoyed it and I think most other people will.

Thank You for eading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corpse bride., 17 Feb 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Another dark, kooky gem from Burton. This has an original storyline and amazing animation. There's great music and so many funny little touches to watch out for. The voices are perfect and the story is fun enough for kids and still manages to engage adults. A worthy partner to Burtons other classic 'Nightmare before Christmas'. Give it a go, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Tale Innovative and Entertaining great on hd-dvd, 10 Jun 2008
By 
M. C. Crawley "Martin Crawley" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corpse Bride [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
Enter Tim Burton Director master of the dark spooky film noir and you have an animated film drawing experience from A Nightmare Before Christmas but not quite as good a tale....The Corpse Bride is simplistic in plot when a young man attempts to wed a bride, a ghost bride from the past who was taken away from this world yearns to marry the young man instead.Whilst initially bitter and heartbroken the young man tries to escape to no avail and therein lies the story to come......The Corpse Bride is a dark look at at a children's tale with a happy ending with various characters such as the real life bride's snobbish parents and a make belief land of the dead. This is an entertaining tale if not fantastic....but one thing that is fantastic is the picture quality of this hd-dvd. Colours are vibrant almost 3 dimensional so much so that the various characters almost look as if they are touchable on screen. Sharpness and clarity is top drawer and the sound is both crystal with a surround atmosphere that would haunt almost any living room. I believe the 12 years and over is a good film rating as this would be a scary film possibly for under 8 years.....but having said that if you want the best picture and sound from a hd-dvd animation then you would have found it in Tim Burton's The Corpse Bride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005]
Tim Burton's Corpse Bride [DVD] [2005] by Tim Burton (DVD - 2006)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews