Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight, we got style....
I'm not going to write about the album, it's a 5 star classic, we all know that already...
So, the DVDs? The Hammersmith shows ARE legendary - do they live up the hype? Hmmm, I'd say yes - the band are playing superbly, great song choices, etc etc. However, you need to bear in mind that this footage is 30 years old, and has just been lying around in...
Published on 9 Feb. 2006 by MisterKeith

versus
27 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do all these reviewers work for Sony?
I dare say most obsessive fans will have bought this by now, but for the casual fan, I think a slightly less over the top review, than the other reviews posted on this site, might be useful. The remastered cd does sound better than the old version, but it isn't so good that it would warrant spending this amount on. However, the boxset also contains 2 dvds, that may make...
Published on 26 Jan. 2006 by A R LYNN


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight, we got style...., 9 Feb. 2006
By 
MisterKeith (Southgate, London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
I'm not going to write about the album, it's a 5 star classic, we all know that already...
So, the DVDs? The Hammersmith shows ARE legendary - do they live up the hype? Hmmm, I'd say yes - the band are playing superbly, great song choices, etc etc. However, you need to bear in mind that this footage is 30 years old, and has just been lying around in an attic somewhere. Another reviewer complains that the picture is too dark - and they're right, it IS too dark. But it's not so dark that you can't see an amazing band near the peak of their powers. And it still makes me chuckle that you have a bunch of Jersey wide-boys in their sharp suits being led by a bloke who looks like he's just been scrounging change outside the venue. Wonderful. Great sound, though, which kind of makes up for the picture.
The documentary is marvellous - all the key players - what more could you want?
Put it this way - this isn't expensive - you're getting an all time stone-cold classic album, a great documentary, and a live DVD - if you're looking for "bang for your buck", it's all here and more. I would dock half a star for the darkness of the live DVD, but Amazon doesn't let me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This, 17 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
If you're a rock fan and haven't discovered Springsteen's Born to Run you're in for a treat, one of the greatest albums ever released just got better. The powerful lyrics are matched only by the music to create an epic grandeur and timlessness that makes the album sound fresh today as it did 30 years ago.
The Boxset is worth every penny with a remastered recording and more importantly the entire Hammersmith '75 gig on DVD. Go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, but better..., 18 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
Finally the world is ready for the bargain of the year!!! What a package! The big surprise is the documentary DVD 'Wheels for Wheels',where Director Thom Zimmy has really done an Oscar-winning job instead of the usual tosh that passes as a rock documentary - this is right up there with No Direction Home, and is worth the price of admission alone. If any of you reading this bought the recent copy of 'Uncut' magazine in which the writer trashes the Hammersmith Odeon show featured in this package, simply ignore his poorly-researched ramblings. And cancel your suscription. The show is magnificent and the audience loved it, even Steven Van Zandt's Saturday Night Fever clothes. To sum up, this sets the gold standard for all future CD/DVD reissues and will take some beating. Oh and the songs are good, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!!!, 17 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
2005 really has been a good year for Bruce Springsteen fans first we get 'Devil and Dust' then the VH1 Storytellers DVD and now this! A must for all true Springsteen fans, the DVD concert is incredible and reason enough to buy this set. If you have read anything about the early years of the EStreet band and their amazing live sets and like me could not really believe in the power of their performance this will forever banish those thoughts. The sound quality is excellent as are Bruce and the band. What is brilliant is hearing now classic songs played when they were 'new' numbers! This gives the performance a raw edge numbers such as 'Born to Run' are played with none of the slickness found on later live versions. The opening number 'Thunder Road' is simply spell blinding followed by the band tearing into 'Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out' there then follows a blistering version of 'Spirit' I could go but I won't say anymore and spoil it for you!

The box set is packed with extras, loads of photographs and a remastered Born to Run. There is also an excellent documentary on the making of the classic album, interviews and Bruce takes the viewer back to where he was living when he wrote the album. The attention to detail is incredible. Time travel being not possible as I write, this is the only way you can get back to the Hammersmith Odeon on that night . Just BUY IT!! You will not be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Cause Tramps Like Us, Baby, We Were BORN TO RUN......', 21 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
Whether you own the original, or not - Bruce Springsteen's 'Born To Run, 30th Anniversary Edition' is simply not to be missed.
Lavishly presented in a box set this would make THE ideal Christmas present for `The Boss' fan who has everything, and with `never seen before footage' of around four hours, who can resist the lure, even if for oneself!
Along with the remastered album comes a DVD of the making of the album, a DVD of the November 18th 1975 Hammersmith Odeon, London concert and a 48 page booklet of newly-released photographs of BS and the E Street Band.
[..]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!!, 15 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
I wrote a review of Bruce's current album "Devils & Dust" a few months back.My opinion has not changed in the intervening period.Born To Run 30th Anniversary Edition however is something else!
Beautifully presented in a sturdy box BTR comes in three parts.First up is the newly remastered edition of arguably THE best rock album of all time.Crystal clear sound make this CD sound much better and the songs on the album have of course achieved legendary status over the years.
Next up is the first of two incredible DVDs also included.This features the story of "Wings For Wheels", the making of BTR,new interviews. archive footage plus three rare performances from 1973.Coming in at 90 minutes and of great picture and sound quality, this is a fantastic bonus to be enjoyed.
Wait though, there is that other bonus DVD!Well this for me is the "piece de resistance" (to use a term linked with Bruce).What we have here is the concert performed by Bruce and the E Street Band from the legendary Hammersmith Odeon show of 1975.This was of course the time that prior to the London shows, Bruce was so incensed with the posters proclaiming him to be "the future of rock and roll" that he went round personally removing them.Well he was the future and one look and listen to this stunning DVD shows why.This is a two hours + show of brilliant songs performed immaculately by a band and singer right at the top of their game.Although the concert lighting is low for the most part, the picture quality is so good that you feel you are either on that stage or sitting right up front.Sound quality is awesome throughout.
Record companies are often maligned (and often deservedly so) but when they get it right (like this) you just have to say thanks for producing such a fantastic package.
Don't even think about not purchasing this (and Amazon's price is great) do it now.This is the keeper of all keepers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Treasure, 30 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
Most fans will buy this 3 part package primarily for the Hammersmith concert, and for good reason. Bruce Springsteen and a newly re-shuffled E Street band had just finished recording the album and turned up for their first concert in Europe after a lot of hype surrounding their release. The concert that followed silenced critics and launched his career. What you have is a band that gels extremely well, an amazingly good sound quality and an unihibited voice. Songs such as "For You" and the "Shuffle" are played and sung in a totally different manner. The power that every song transmits is awsome. I have never seen Bruce Springsteen so inspired, nor before nor after this concert. The only complaint I have is the low lighting throughout.
The Wings for Wheels shows rare footage of the recording of that album which took over a year to finish. It leaves every question you might have asked about the album answered with a description of the recording and background of every song. It also contains three live songs from 1973 with Vini Mad Lopez on drums. Inspired, especially on "Thundercrack".
The CD itself is supposed to be re-mastered but personally the reason for buying the set is the Hammersmith concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes its all true...., 6 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
I can't believe it's happened, sometimes I have to pinch myself that it's not all a dream. I always thought Bruce Springsteen was in denial about his early work but here it is all those classic songs we never thought would see the light of day. This is Bruce a callow youth, pre-air punching and hankerchief in back pocket, instead sporting wooly hat, beard, and surrounded by the E-Street Band looking like a bunch of totaly cool 70's gansters, and playing songs some have only dreamed of hearing again in concert.

Classic performances of Wild Billy's Circus, Kitty's Back Town, Spirit in the Night, Hard to Be a Saint in the City and many songs from the Born to Run album. It's a complete sweaty palms moment to read the set listings on the outer box. All the songs Bruce has never included on his set list since 1975, probably, except Born to Run. I highly recommended this I wish I could give it more the 5 stars.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...An Opera Out On The Turnpike..." - Born To Run by BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN (30th Anniversary Edition Remaster), 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
Fancy hearing "Born To Run" with strings and a girly backing accompaniment - or Take 16 the album finisher "Jungleland" with a Springsteen guitar solo instead of Clarence Clemons' famous saxophone break? Well on this wonderful yet frustrating release - you can and you can't. Why is this? It doesn't take a particular genius to work out from the track list on Disc 3 below (the actual album) that 'zero' amounts of outtakes or alternate versions have been made available to listen to as a separate audio track. This is because the decision has been made to 'integrate' them into the footage of the 90-minute "Wings For Wheels" documentary - and I'd argue that in some ways this 30th Anniversary Edition is a better fan experience for it (others may disagree). But before we get into fisticuffs - let's get to the big-rimmed hats, sneakers hanging out of guitars and a 24-year old New Jersey boy's stab at romance...

Released November 2005 - "Born To Run 30th Anniversary Edition" on Columbia 82876 75589 2 (Euro Version) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1, DVD, "Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band - Hammersmith Odeon, London 1975":
Never before seen - over two-hours of live footage from the legendary concert in the UK recorded at the height of the Times and Newsweek covers hype ("London is finally ready for Bruce Springsteen" the posters boomed). Digitally restored from the original negatives and remixed in both Stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound...

1. Thunder Road
2. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out
3. Spirit In The Night
4. Lost In The Flood
5. She's The One
6. Born To Run
7. The E-Street Shuffle
8. It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City
9. Backstreets
10. Jungleland
11. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
12. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
13. Detroit Medley: For You / Quarter To Three

Disc 2, DVD, "Wings For Wheels: The Making Of Born To Run":
A 90-minute documentary film by THOM ZINNY on Thrill Hill Productions - includes indepth interviews with Bruce Springsteen, Clarence Clemons (Saxophone), David Sancious (original keyboard player - on the "Born To Run" track), Ernest "Boom" Carter (original Drummer with the band - on the "Born To Run" track), Miami Steve Van Zandt (Guitarist), Roy Bittan (Piano, Fender Rhodes, Glockenspiel), Garry Tallent (Bass), Danny Federici (Organ), Max Weinberg (Drummer) Nils Lofgren (present Guitarist with The E-Street Band), Mike Appel and Jon Landau (Managers) and Jimmy Iovine (Producer of the album).

Bonus Features include:
Live at the Ahmanson Theatre, Los Angeles 1973 - Spirit In The Night, Wild Billy's Circus Story and Thundercrack

Disc 3, CD, 39:29 minutes:
1. Thunder Road
2. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out
3. Night
4. Backstreets
5. Born To Run [Side 2]
6. She's the One
7. Meeting Across The River
8. Jungleland
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Born To Run" - released August 1975 in the USA on Columbia PC 33795 and CBS Records S 69170 in the UK

The long box set has 3 gatefold card sleeves inside (hollows) and a 48-page booklet with previously unreleased photos and a short set of lead notes from Bruce about the recording and how it changed his life and career and the lives of those around him. It's all very tastefully done - but there are real fireworks in the audio transfer and remaster of the material...

Digitally Remastered to stunning effect by BOB LUDWIG - the moment the beautiful opening piano of "Thunder Road" hits your speakers accompanied shortly after by his lead vocals - the warmth and clarity is fabulous. This disc leaves all those Eighties crap issues in the dust. Even better is "Tenth Avenue Freeze Out" with the brilliant and street-funky Brecker Brothers Saxophones simply flooring you. To this day Bruce admits he doesn't know what the titles means and the documentary also reveals that after months of in-studio deliberation the key parts were arranged by cheeky Miami Steve on a whim. When it continues with "Night" and "Backstreets" you also begin to notice more ROY BITTAN whose musical flourishes on the keyboards contributed so much to every song. Bruce now says that "Born To Run" the album was `all' written on the piano and not the guitar - and that's why most songs have big intros - setting the scene - sort of mini operas. There is hiss on "She's The One" and "Backstreets" but its not too much to distract. The density of "Born To Run" now seems opened up somehow, the sparseness of "Meeting Across The River" is eerie and the "Jungleland" finisher is massively improved. A superb job done.

The documentary is a masterclass in editing - old photographs, concert footage from the time, actual in the studio black and white film with Bruce and Iovine going at it over sound and mixes and not getting what he wants. It's interspersed with Bruce in 2005 on the piano (great versions of the songs), driving around in his car, in discussion with Jon Landau at mixing desks, shots of the actual master tapes, Columbia promo material, outtakes from the album cover....its really deep and brilliantly laid out. The concert is incredible too - tearing into lesser-heard stuff like "Lost In The Flood" and the Gary US Bonds covers that bring the set to a storming Rock `n' Roll close.

Will we one day get those audio outtakes on a CD - another Anniversary issue probably. But for the moment - in 2014 - this 3-disc set is surprising cheap and a fitting tribute to the past and future of Rock 'n' Roll...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simply, The Greatest Band Ever, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] (Audio CD)
For this (no doubt, superlative-laden) review, I am focusing only on the live video recording of the 1975 Hammersmith Odeon concert. Also included in this 30th Anniversary Edition box-set of the classic Born To Run album, is a(nother pointless) digitally remastered version of the album, together with an interesting 90-minute documentary on its making (including the physical recording process).

Whilst I was more than delighted to discover that there existed live footage from the legendary 1975 Hammersmith Odeon concert (the one where Springsteen actually tried to scale the theatre billboard to tear down the embarrassing 'Future of Rock n' Roll' motif), the question that arose in my mind was why had it taken 30 years to see the light of day? Of course, had the recording quality been sub-standard then this might have gone some way to explaining it, but actually this is top notch stuff. What we have here is over two hours of one of the most dynamic live performances ever, from (for me) undoubtedly the greatest ever live performer (sadly I had to wait another 6 years before witnessing it in person) accompanied by the greatest of all backing bands (two of whom are sadly no longer with us, but here featuring a relatively slim Big Man and Miami Steve with hair!).

Highlights? Bit daunting that, where do you possibly start? Bog standard i.e. brilliant, versions of Born To Run, Lost In The Flood, Backstreets, Jungleland, She's The One and the legendary Rosalita. Also, rare (though common live) renditions of a Detroit Medley comprising Devil With A Blue Dress On, See See Rider, Good Golly Miss Molly and Jenny Take A Ride. But my personal favourites probably comprise four moments. First two are the opening solo version (accompanied only by Roy Bittan's piano) of (for me) probably Springsteen's greatest ever song Thunder Road, followed by the amazing segue (as the band take to the stage) into an unbelievably vibrant version of 10th Avenue Freeze Out. Third, the magnificence that is the 17-minute (jazz-inflected) version of Kitty's Back. And finally, the last two minutes or so of the superb It's Hard To A Saint In The City - you know the one, where Bruce and Miami Steve do the duelling guitars routine, before reaching a mind-boggling climax. For anyone who wishes to see this band at the peak of their game, this is simply unmissable.

To end on an anecdote, my right hand has not been washed for the last 7 years (only kidding!), since I was sitting in the Rome restaurant Nino, the door opens and in walks the man with his entourage (having unbeknownst to me played in the city on 10 October 2006), 'Hey Bruce!', I (nearly) shout as he makes his way (largely unrecognised) to the back of the restaurant, to which the great man turns and shakes my outstretched hand. Simply magic.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD]
Born To Run: 30th Anniversary Edition [2 DVD + 1 CD] by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews