Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker and braver than ever
The long awaited (well, several months) second part of the Mezmerize/Hypnotize album by System of a Down is finally here – and is certainly worth the wait. A feast of dark, political songs await you with Hypnotize; the album is full of the originality that made System of a Down one of the most popular of the modern metal bands.
Hypnotize is markedly different...
Published on 22 Nov 2005 by D. J. Marriott

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy Meatloaf, you might like this
This band is new to me, and on the evidence of this CD, I'm not keen. 'Overblown' is a word that comes to mind. 'Camp' is another. Imagine a Queen tribute act playing cod-operatic versions of obscure Green Day songs with a dash of metal thrown into the mix and you get the picture. Not my idea of fun.
Published 1 month ago by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker and braver than ever, 22 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
The long awaited (well, several months) second part of the Mezmerize/Hypnotize album by System of a Down is finally here – and is certainly worth the wait. A feast of dark, political songs await you with Hypnotize; the album is full of the originality that made System of a Down one of the most popular of the modern metal bands.
Hypnotize is markedly different from previous works of this Armenian-American band. The style of the music is more mature – strikingly so. It is, perhaps, not as heavy as previous works – but the vigour and energy of the metal genre is not lost here. Soaring riffs give way to haunting orchestral pieces, giving weight to the stark lyrics.
As with all other System albums, politics are the primary focus here – particularly war, with the Armenian genocide featuring prominently once again, particularly in the song Holy Mountains. The title track deals with the manipulation of the public, along with U-Fig. Serj Tankian and Daron Malakian combine in a risky but ultimately fruitful combination of raging and lamenting which strengthens the band’s message – one that becomes more obvious with each listening.
System of a Down have the courage to write bluntly about the controversies of American politics, combining their poignant argument with beautifully sculptured, passionate music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A continuation of recent form...., 8 Jan 2006
By 
KalteStern (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
..more than a return to their earlier style, which means that as on their previous album Mesmerize they are indulging in their (or perhaps mainly Daron Malakian's ability) to write strong melodies to incorporate into the usual metal formula. They also have the luxury of not one but two members who can actually sing (think how much and how many metal groups would be improved by the presence of just one!). And while some fans have criticised the use of Malakian as a lead vocalist on some songs, I don't think there is any risk of sidelining the quite extraordinary vocal phenomenon that is Serj Tankian - long may he wail; it just allows them the opportunity for vocal harmonies, which is a rare treat in this genre. Overall this album is less 'hard' than their earlier stuff such as Toxicity, but less lyrically light-hearted than Mesmerize, with fewer comic moments. Serj returns instead to some familar themes, such as the Armenian genocide, American foreign policy and the decline of cultural and spiritual values in the richest country in the world, which to me makes a welcome change from teenage alienation or simplistic bubble gum pop. With luck it should satisfy the headbangers while still being radio-friendly enough for a wider audience.
Musically, if you liked Mesmerize, you'll like this, but if you are one of those who feel they've gone a bit soft of late and yearn for the harsher days of their first album, you are not going to be satisfied.
The Duo-disc format gives you a DVD side which includes the videos for BYOB and Question, and a rather cut-and-paste 10 minute film of snippets of studio footage and what looks like edits from a forthcoming video for Soldier Side. What use the 'enhanced stereo version' of the album that is included on the DVD side is supposed to be escapes me, unless you want to play it via a PC sound system. And my in-car CD player couldn't read the CD side of the duo-disc at all which was nuisance, although it usaully copes with CD-R. So if you have any doubts about your equipment compatibility , go for the basic CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paralysed- with joy!, 23 Nov 2005
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
When I bought Mezmerise earlier this year- I loved it. When I heard that it was just the first installment and that a 2nd System album was out in the autunm, I couldn't believe my luck. I must admit, however, I did have my doubts over whether the 2nd release would live up to Mezmerise in terms of fun, quality and depth. Luckily the System lads have proven that can write more than 12 good tracks as they ram another 12 down our throats in this latest stunning installment. Quality lyrics, vocal harmonies that the three tenors would be jealous off and killer guitar riffs to complete a very mature, epic sounding album. System are one of the few bands I dont mind getting political with their material either. They have a good balance of fun tracks with crazy lyrics about terracotta pie & bananas compared to soulful ballads about war, death, drugs & lonliness. The albums combined (Which I assume could have been a 2 disc release?) are the finest releae by System since their self titled debut. I didn't go as much on Toxicity as I felt the tunes just weren't as catchy or melodic as the debut. Hypnotise is definately a return to the System I know & love. Theres also enough new elements thrown in to keep the critics happy, pushing forward the boundries of Armenian Metal. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit from the best band in the world!, 22 Nov 2005
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
Thts right folks they have done it again!! Another peach of an album! At just bout the same length as "Mesmerize" its not hugely long but long enuff to be arrousingly gd! They tracks are all different and no two are the same. The Harmonies between Serj and Daron and flawless again with Serj back at the forefront for most of the songs vocals, (which he shud never have left if u ask me). Its a perfect 2nd part to "Mesmerize". Also the sweet little slip of card that comes attached to "Hypnotise" which slides into the case of "Mesmerize" helps the two part elbum really become a whole album as it joins the two together as a beautiful whole. Really guys!! If u have any taste in music u will buy this album!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy Meatloaf, you might like this, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
This band is new to me, and on the evidence of this CD, I'm not keen. 'Overblown' is a word that comes to mind. 'Camp' is another. Imagine a Queen tribute act playing cod-operatic versions of obscure Green Day songs with a dash of metal thrown into the mix and you get the picture. Not my idea of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 2 Dec 2005
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
This is a pretty good album, when I first got it I was disappointed but after listening to it a bit more I decided to change my mind. I'm not too sure about their increasing tendency to sing about porn, drugs and prostitution but... My favourite track is Holy Mountain and I would reccommend buying the album just for that. If you really didn't like Mesmerize then you probably shouldn't get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty darn good, 24 Nov 2005
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
i was looking forward to this,i was gasping for it,i got it and on the first listen i felt cheated,it sounded pretty average ,however i felt that the more i listened to it the better it sounded and there lies the key and why it is better than mesmerize,the songs are deeper and less obvious than on mesmerize,holy mountains is a pure classic,what a song,so haunting and full of malice ,most of the album lurks with sinister content and it truly is a joy to listen too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! AGAIN!!!, 23 Nov 2005
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
This is another suberb album from SOAD has all the magic which is found in mezmerize,toxicity and the other classics is a must for all thrash fans especially if you like SOAD other songs.doesnt conatin a weak song and is well well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph!, 15 Nov 2005
By 
John Cooper "great_hojo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
Although this is the 2nd half of the Mezmerize/Hypnotize album, its got a completly different feel to it, than Mezmerize.Every song at 1st blends into one massive soundtrack, but as you listen more each song comes into sharp focus as another great hit by System. Special songs on this album, "Tentative", "Vicinity of Obscenity" and "Kill rock'n'roll", thats just on the 1st 12 listens, as I listen more an more the album just blows me away. You must buy this album for the good of....well....everyone! System fans will love it instantly, non fans will surely love them after this! The DVD feature will give an interesting insight into how the band come up with some of the most amazing rock song to grace our stereos. This is a must buy! Better to get the DVD version than miss out on this. Hail System!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album you need to buy, but without the DVD., 3 Dec 2005
This review is from: Hypnotize (Audio CD)
System of a down realeased 'Mezmerize' earlier on this year which had critics raving on about it for ages, but some fans were dissapointed because their heavy sound of 'Toxicity' was over drawn by some of the best rock songs ever written but some song were differnt to their privious albums. However, SOAD's latest offering 'Hypnotise' delivers a mixture of songs sounding like the heaviness of toxicity, the sweetness of Mezmerize, and the creativity of their self titled masterpiece, which should hopefully keep all fans happy.
I personally prefer Mezmerize because each song is so unique and catchy, but on this album, it can take along time for the songs to draw on you. My favourite songs are 'Holy Mountains' because it is a very emotional song, and 'The vicinity of obscurity' which is the funniest song you'll ever here; Serj is quickly shouting 'bannana terrecotta pie' over and over while the music changes from heavy metal to sweet funky almost jazz-like.However, the album is too produced and sounds too dry in some places, but i bet this album sounds amazing live.
The DVD isn't very good in my opinion. The doccumentary of the making of the albums is 15 minutes of over effected, purposely edited clips of the band recording, talking, and messing about, which is supposed to look 'arty' but is a very big dissapointment. I was expecting a clear picture of the band recording like that of 'Roadrunner United', but is full of randomly edited music and clips of randomly edited things, so i recommend not to buy the dualdisc (also because the audio side doesn't work in some CD/DVD players) but the album is deffiently worth buying for any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hypnotize
Hypnotize by System of a Down (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews