Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most haunting, wonderful music ever on a TV show., 11 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
Firefly the TV show is no more, but even before we had the follow on movie, Serenity, the fans were clamouring for the music, composed by the enormously talented Greg Edmonson. Finally, here it is! The music of the show is very far from the usual type of score you would expect for a sci-fi show, or indeed a western. It is a real mix of instruments and styles not usually heard together, which was done intentionally to reflect the new world, universe and culture, created by Joss Whedon. Even if you haven't seen the program you can appreciate the vibrant, energic and quite often haunting music, and for those who are fans it will bring back so many vivid memories. Absolutely amazing. I would love to hear more music by this composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Usual Sci-Fi Score, 5 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
How to describe the Firefly score?
'Classic Western' meets 'Mandarin Melody'
Wonderfully written classical pieces interlaced with oriental strings. I wasn't convinced by the theme tune until I'd heard it a couple of times and now I find myself humming it randomly. Catchy, is the only viable description.
The beautiful melody 'the funeral' is used in the funeral scene in the episode entitled 'The Message'. This piece is a true tear jerker not only due to its effect on an already moving scene but by the fact it was written after the cast and crew were informed of the cancellation of the show. The true feeling to the piece for cast and crew, and one I believe is conveyed perfectly to fans, was the sad fairwell to their beloved show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent diverse score, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
Even more than films, TV series tend to suffer from the One Tune Syndrome in their soundtracks. There is the Big Theme, which fans like, and a lot of bland filler. Fans buy the CD and are usually disappointed at most of the content.
This is definitely not one of those. Joss Whedon's trademark originality in so many aspects of the series seems to have infected the composer (whom I had not previously heard of) and the result is a set of tracks impressive in their diversity, moving, haunting, relaxing, or rousing as needed, and set off by that uniquely edgy theme song.
Fans of the acclaimed but prematurely-cancelled show will definitely want to buy this one. And others who haven't seen it will still appreciate the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 30 Dec. 2005
By 
C. W. Martin Martin "glitch_47" (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
I guess that's the great thing about 'Firefly', the long-awaited, shortly dumped work of genious from 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' and 'Angel' creator Joss Whedon being quite so horribly short; the entire soundtrack has become available for purchase, and not a note has been dropped. It's all here, from the triumphant score that sounds as the crew evade Alliance Corporals for the first time on-screen ("Hang on travellers"), to that piano-piece from the funeral that wrenched at our heart strings so.
It's brilliant, it's breathtaking, it's beautiful. It's 'Firely' in its entirity, music from China, America, Africa, the list goes on. Just buy it - you won't regret it, and you'll never forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They listened to the fans!!!, 22 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
Now fans get to listen to this! The beautiful music heard throughout the magnificent TV show is available on this CD - haunting, melodramatic, melodic, this soundtrack touches each emotion throughout its running time.
Of course, the standout is the main theme, written by Firefly mastermind Joss Whedon, it summarises the show, and basically tells Mal's feelings, thoughts and story in its minute long running time.
Another decent effort is The Funeral, which is really emotional. Honestly, I might get choked up! It's memorable and eerie, particularly when coupled with the episode it was aired with, and the knowledge that this was a doomed TV show.
Still, it's not all doom and gloom. There are some real sprightly songs here, all wind instruments and fast flowing. They're a real joy to behold.
However, it's quite a long CD, and it suffers from much of a sameness. Some of the later tracks seem indistinguishable from earlier tracks.
And also, how could they not include the Jaynestown song? "He robbed from the rich, and he gave to the poor, the hero of Canton, the man they call Jayne!" A classic little ditty from one of the episodes that was begging to be included, and its disappointing that it wasn't.
Still, this is an excellent accompaniment to the show, and really sums up the Western style well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent diverse score, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
Even more than films, TV series tend to suffer from the One Tune Syndrome in their soundtracks. There is the Big Theme, which fans like, and a lot of bland filler. Fans buy the CD and are usually disappointed at most of the content.
This is definitely not one of those. Joss Whedon's trademark originality in so many aspects of the series seems to have infected the composer (whom I had not previously heard of) and the result is a set of tracks impressive in their diversity, moving, haunting, relaxing, or rousing as needed, and set off by that uniquely edgy theme song.
Fans of the acclaimed but prematurely-cancelled show will definitely want to buy this one. And others who haven't seen it will still appreciate the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flying again - can't take the sky from me!, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
K. Violi (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
If you ever liked the Firefly series you will remember how gorgeous its musics are. Ever since I saw it the first time I wanted the cd with the musics, and boy I am happy to have it. There is no beating the deep complexity of this score, the variety of moods it can conjure and its magnificient mix of cultural influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all Firefly fans, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
P. Morriss (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
A must have for all fans of the Firefly series, the haunting/beautiful music used throughout the short lived series really brought it to life.

I can't think of any real fault, if I was being picky, the cover looks a little poor, almost like it was a second generation copy from a copy, but that doesn't detract from the quality of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
CD arrived very promptly and was sealed as described, music is very evocative and will remind you of some scenes as you listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Soundtrack to cherish, 7 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Firefly (Audio CD)
The Firefly series was cut short before it could run its proper course, due to the strange descisions of American network schedulers. That having been said, it remains a series of little masterpieces, a Western set in space, with truly superb characters and engaging storylines. I loved all of it, the humour, the narrative drive, the invention of a new Universe, even the slang that the characters use. It seemed like a proper vision of the future, a future still filled with the struggles that we can all relate to, a future without aliens and rayguns and unlikely machines that did the impossible, with even the political unrest after a war that was lost by the good guys and a suggestion of dark conspiracies behind the powers-that-be.

The soundtrack is as diverse as the series, encompassing bluegrass western guitar picking (that Ry Cooder would not be ashamed of) and Chinese koto music, elegiac themes and wistful pastorals, even throwing in a barn dance medley and everything in between. The soundtrack matched the series in breadth and imagination, full of mood and colours and emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firefly
Firefly by Greg Edmonson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews