Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This band are more mature and bolder than before....
This New Day is probably not their best album, (I'd reserve that accolade for the Good Will Out or Out Of Nothing), but it's by far and away their most mature album to date.
Their lyrical abilities seemed to have improved a lot on this album (which I first noticed on Out Of Nothing), but that is not to say their earlier work was lyrically poor either. They just...
Published on 1 April 2006 by O. MADLOM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Embrace playing it safe
With This New Day, Embrace created an album so middle of the road you could happily slap a white line and a cat’s eye on it. As Danny McNamara would later admit, their fifth album is the sound of a band on autopilot.

The songs are less tightly focused than previously, with the brothers McNamara having seceded song-writing duties in favour of a more...
Published 14 months ago by fred140


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This band are more mature and bolder than before...., 1 April 2006
By 
O. MADLOM (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
This New Day is probably not their best album, (I'd reserve that accolade for the Good Will Out or Out Of Nothing), but it's by far and away their most mature album to date.
Their lyrical abilities seemed to have improved a lot on this album (which I first noticed on Out Of Nothing), but that is not to say their earlier work was lyrically poor either. They just sound more grown up now. The same can be said of the production, which seems to be spot on. The whole record sounds very polished and slick. The group seem to be moving into a more experimental, more exciting phase of their career that first began with Out Of Nothing, which I think heralded a new direction for their music. It's easy to tell by listening to the album that this band are beginning to reap the rewards of years of playing together as a tight unit.
Another less obvious aspect of this album that I love, is the art and photography direction. Both Richard Bull and Rick Guest need to be commended for the amazing tone/style of the photography that they have created for the album. The use of flairs in the dark is stunning.
So, in essence, I would highly recommend this album, but in my opinion it's not the band's best body of work, but comes very close to the heights they scaled with their debut record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Embrace, But Louder, 22 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Bands normally mellow out by the time they reach their fifth record. Not Embrace. Four years ago they were screwed - dropped, hopeless and on the dole after they followed up a popular, accessible but unadventurous rock debut with an album of shizeclectic, funky and experimental indie pop and then followed that up with a low-key mood album high on atmospherics and subdued paranoia but low on energy and memorable tunes. They got caught in record company machinations and a changing musical climate, and they hit the ground hard. People assumed they'd split.

The struggle and success of Out Of Nothing has shocked them back to life though. They said they'd never be able to make another record in the same way, Danny and Richard writing songs alone in a room for 10 hours a day, selling their possessions on eBay in order to live while Mike, Mickey and Steve took up day jobs. So they haven't. The last two tracks on Out Of Nothing were written by the band as a unit, jamming together with Youth "conducting" them until they had a song. A handful of b-sides from the Out Of Nothing singles further extended this approach, and it's how 8 out of ten of the songs on This New Day were brought to life. Most bands start out writing collaboratively and drift away from it as a dominant voice emerges, or as individual voices start pulling in different directions - think The Stone Roses, The Verve, The Beatles, Pavement, Talking Heads, Pink Floyd, Ride, Outkast - and this generally spells the beginning of the end as egos compete and the band falls apart. Embrace have moved in the opposite direction, and it's both galvanised and reinvigorated them.

The results are pretty spectacular - "Target" is one of the best, most melodic and uplifting pop songs they've ever written; lean, powerful, euphoric and begging to be a single. It gives you tingles inside the first couple of bars like when you first meet someone and instantly know they're going to be important in your life. "No Use Crying", which starts the album with a rush of adrenaline, is cut from similar cloth to "Ashes" but is faster, poppier, less desperate and arguably better for it. "Celebrate" is another post-"Ashes" pop song, incredible energy and groove but absolutely laden with melodic pop hooks in all directions - vocals, pianos, guitars, even the hyperactive hi-hat and ululating bass under the chorus.

On the other side of this new writing method is "Exploding Machines", a multi-sectioned pyrokinetic rocker caught in the midst of existential epiphany, scorched earth and event horizons obliterated with guitars. "Sainted" is a vicious, disco-pop-metal groove built on a dirty great riff that could easily be part of the DFA stable (and practically begs for a remix). It picks up on threads that seemed lost after "One Big Family" and "Save Me", toughens them up and takes them forwards. And then there's "Even Smaller Stones" - a clattering, ominous revenge-fantasy groove laced with backwards textures and nasty yowls of guitar. It's dark-hearted, snarling, and the kind of thing Embrace have been threatening to produce for nearly a decade now.

"I Can't Come Down", a McNamara/McNamara composition, is the only ballad on the album, but people will doubtless still describe it as being "typical Embrace" (they've always been far more varied and diverse than either their reputation or their peers), while the title track bridges the gap between harder tunes like "Too Many Times" (b-side to "Gravity") and the kind of anthemic surge that they've always been known for. Lead single "Nature's Law" you'll know from radio - it's a little tame compared to some of its bedfellows, but is immaculately constructed from the opening riff through to the middle-8 and final surge. The second McNamara/McNamara composition is "The End Is Near", another tune which sounds like a single-in-waiting. Deceptively simple, it builds an irresistible momentum after a beautiful piano opening, with pounding drums and streaming guitars reaching towards a distant euphoria that seems more attainable with every passing moment.

This New Day seems to iron out many of the problems that Embrace have always been victim too. It has much of the creative energy of Drawn From Memory but allies this to much stronger songs than that album managed. The energy and pace with which the album rattles along should knock several clichéd criticisms of the band into a cocked hat though. The production and mixing could be a lot less compressed and more detailed, however, and the bottom-end deeper, but that's modern mainstream rock music for you.

In the current climate of the music industry bands aren't meant to last for more than two or three albums; their first record is supposed to be their best, the follow-up a disappointment and the third, if it arrives, a desperate and hollow attempt to recapture former glories. The way marketing works with major record labels currently means that bands are pimped heavily for about three years and then left to rot unless they go through the roof. Witness Coldplay, Franz Ferdinand, and the way Arctic Monkeys are being dealt with right now; sustained success and continued musical development and improvement just aren't on the cards - successful formulas are repeated to the point of tedium and unsuccessful ones are dropped. Embrace have bucked this trend - their fifth album isn't just their best, it's their freshest, most invigorated and most creative too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace at their sublime best, 28 Mar. 2006
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
As an Embrace fan right back to the start and their first album The Good Will Out, its refreshing to see Embrace release another album full of quality Embrace music. If you listen back album by album you can see that as each album is released, their music in effect becomes more fluid, and I believe even This New Day is an improvement on the superb Out Of Nothing.
Whether your an Embrace fan young or old, they have released another smashing album with their very own style of soft ballads, to some hard rocking style crackers.
A couple of songs that are so-so, but I'd say 8 out of the 10 are excellent which deserves 5 stars.
Target, I can't come down, Celebrate & the single Nature's Law are the best of the bunch. Waiting for the official England football song now! Keep it up, and roll on the concert at Halifax I'm off to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *G*E*T*N*O* (Get Embrace To Number One), 29 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
This New Day takes what started some 18 months ago for Embrace and pushes it further than they imagined. It starts with a flash and a bang and runs from there to the finish line with barely a pause for breath. Working with Youth and writing as a unit has allowed the glimmers of creativity they have shown throughout their career to blossom to a spectacular peak. Melodies shine as they always did but now there's a variety and vibrance to the supporting cast, breakneck rhythms, psychedelic lashes of guitar, huge swells of piano and whiplash bass lines, the band galvanised by the trials and errors of the last decade together until they shine like they only hinted at before. There's a depth of sound and feeling here that they always knew they had but could never tap properly. They've tapped it now.
The euphoric, driven, anthemic pop songs that we've come to expect sit side-by-side with grooving rockers, bitter testimonials and beatifically forlorn ballads: No Use Crying is a rush like Ashes and then some; Target has that uncanny ability to induce palpitations within the first bar; Sainted is a hard-nosed disco classic; I Can't Come Down is the type of tune that will be used for the first dance at countless weddings in years to come. And that's just side A - on the second side of This New Day, Embrace get really interesting.
Who knows what the future holds. Two years ago people would have laughed if you'd told them what Embrace would achieve between then and now, and that includes the band themselves. But right now we have This New Day. It looks like a good one.
G*E*T*N*O
Get Embrace To Number One
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitting the target every time, 25 Mar. 2006
By 
Mr. James Garrett (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Well, you have to say amazon are very good - the last thing i expected to find today was the embrace album on my doorstep two days early!! Embrace are a band that seem to always divide opinion - either people love them or hate them, and it's very hard to convince those against them to convert! However, this album should be able to answer those critics, but in all honesty it probably won't. By the fact you're reading this you're one of those who are fans anyway so you will let your ears do the judging.
After a slow start the first song, "no use crying" proves to be a belter with a very catch chorus. This is followed by the bands new single "Natures law." Certainly not the srongest song on the album but it has Mickey Dale's trademark piano riffing at the start and it is still a good song, just that there's better on the album - To prove this, the first thing I did (and you should do) is to go to track three. I heard this song at Alexandra Palace in December - back then Danny announced it as "You will hit the target every time." Its since been squashed to be entitled "Target," a pity as the first title was very catchy I thought. whatever you wish to call it the song is classic Embrace only I think possible their best ever song, of course everyone has their own favourites, but if there's a more uplifting 4 and a half minute song I havent heard it yet. "Sainted" follows and is a more rockier number but will probably feature in their live sets for the next couple of tours. Song # 5 "I can't come down" has a hint of "Glorious day" and is the "ballad" of the record, but a very good one. "Celebrate" has a real feel of "Ashes." another uplifting song with a great melody and piano all they way through the song. "Exploding machines" is currently the bands opening song in their gigs and its a huge song, surprising then that its the 7th on the cd, it would make a great opening track to any album. "Even smaller stones" takes a couple of listens but shows the band aren't afraid to change their style a little without losing their sound, I think this will be another favourite for many gigs to come. "The end is near" is a fantastic song with another classic piano riff at the start (with the slightest hints of "Clocks" in there when the symbols come crashing in). Another uplifting song. The final song and the title track is about the only song not to have made an impression but I'm a little unfair as I have paid such great attention to the first nine songs, I just havent got round to hearing much of it yet, just like the youngest in a huge family, it may feel a little left out for a while.
In short, a great album and another treat for fans, I don't think Danny's voice has ever sounded better, particularly with the gusto he puts into "Target" and "The end is near." A must for all Embrace fans, and the upcoming concerts will be a great chance for everyone to sing along to these new favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace rock! No, they actually do, 5 Jun. 2006
By 
Sick Mouthy (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Mr Lefandangobob doens't appear to have listened to This New Day - if he had, he'd realise that it's actually by far Embrace's most rocking and energetic record, with barely any violins but oodles of guitars, drums and ROCK!

World at Your Feet has been added to the tracklisting for this re-release, but rather than appended to the end of the record as an afterthought, it's been snuck in at track 4 (don't believe the erroneous listing Amazon have here) in the far poppier first side of the album, where it makes much more sense next to the astoundingly uptempo Target (surely a future single?) and the groovesome Sainted (like Duran Duran on steroids and then some!).

Whle the first half of the album is a rollicksome, infectious popfest, it's side 2 that's going to hold most long-term attraction, with dark, brooding, psychedelic rockers like Exploding Machines and Even Smaller Stones exploring previously unforeseen emotional territory for Embrace. The closing title track is lyrically one of the bleakest songs they've recorded, but still maintains the furious energy and rhythms of the rest of the album.

This New Day could easily be a concept album, but I'm not sure about what - unrequited love, winning the World Cup, or terrorism, who knows?! But it's fantastic! Probably Embrace's best record yet, and certainly their loudest and most rocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh My word I am stunned again, 28 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Embrace have had their fair share of ups and downs in recent years, but that might all be about to change because Embrace are now A PROPER UK ROCK BAND.,
This is not the sort of album you would expect from Embrace, that's because now Danny McNamara has found a voice that he is comfortable singing in.
It starts off with rocker No Use Crying, I heard this at a concert of theirs that I went to in March 2005, it has a similar tone to Ashes.
There are a couple of tracks in which i think why didn't Coldplay or U2 think of this before Embrace ( Target, Exploding Machines, and The End Is Near), they all have choruses you expect of them.
My current favourite of the album is The End Is Near, it has a great pace to it.
The future singles we will be hearing on the radio I think are No Use Crying, The End Is Near, and maybe Target.
Anyway this is their best album to date, and it's great to hear the sixth album is on it's way as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!...... Buy it NOW, 28 Mar. 2006
By 
Eternal Prisoner "Carl" (Brighouse, West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Having just bought this new offering by Brighouse band Embrace i found myself playing it constantly and have to say,i never got bored with it. Each song is very well written and some have got great catchy,anthemic choruses.My personal faves have to be the new single 'Nature's Law', 'Target' and opening number 'No Use Crying', these being the up and at 'em anthems i referred to earlier.
In contrast there are the obligatory slower ballad type songs too so there's something for everyone here. Suffice to say that if you enjoyed the previous opus 'Out of Nothing', then you will not be disappointed with this fine release. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, 26 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
Isn't nice to know that every new Embrace cd comes out just keeps getting better and better. "This New Day" is another step up from "Out of Nothing" and showcases Embrace's potentials beautifully. From beginning to end this album is a sweeping epic of huge proportions. Every song is entitled to it's own praise. They are all amazing in their own ways and Embrace is one of those bands that you just want to see succeed because after all they've been through, it's inevitable that eventually they will. So for 2006, it is Embrace that I am keeping on my list for #1's. They just keep getting better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great great great!, 28 Mar. 2006
By 
Beefer28 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This New Day (Audio CD)
well im not a huge indie/britpop/rock fan but i do like some of it and own some of it, i also apprecaite why alot of people love it(i just have other bigger musical loves) but i brought this album based on one hearing of natures law and the review futhur below that gives u a track by track run through. that guy is spot on and even if this album doesnt immediatly hit you it sure will once you play it a 2nd or third time. The songs are just great my fave being target,natures law,i cant come down, sainted exploding machines,the end is near and The title track....very good album and i urge people to give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This New Day
This New Day by Embrace (UK) (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews