Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 35 minute ride to hell..... and back!
The boys from Lowestoft return with their second album and follow up to the Mercury Prize winning debut, Permission To Land. It's been some 2 years since the release of their huge-selling debut but the long awaited new album is finally here. But is it any good?
One Way Ticket... To Hell And Back features 10 tracks in total - most are quite short; it's...
Published on 29 Nov. 2005 by The Fault

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars First four songs are great, but then..
I loved the Darkness’ first cd (Permission to Land), so I was hoping for more of the same magic from this new cd. The first four songs on this new cd continue in the same vein, more or less, as the songs on “Permission to Land”. But then things begin to fall apart. From the fifth song on, the new cd seems to lose momentum. What the last half of the...
Published on 1 Dec. 2005 by screenplay writer (and lawn ca...


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 35 minute ride to hell..... and back!, 29 Nov. 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
The boys from Lowestoft return with their second album and follow up to the Mercury Prize winning debut, Permission To Land. It's been some 2 years since the release of their huge-selling debut but the long awaited new album is finally here. But is it any good?
One Way Ticket... To Hell And Back features 10 tracks in total - most are quite short; it's rare for a song on the album to last even as long as 4 minutes. So be warned, this is a very short album indeed - only 35 minutes 10 seconds long to be exact.
Most of the songs are good but the last two tracks prove to be somewhat of an anti-climax. In these final tracks The Darkness sound nothing more than a Queen tribute band and I'm not all that keen on it. The rest of the album is full of fantastic riffs, wailing vocals and also some guitar solos for good measure. Pan pipes, pianos and a string arrangement also feature but guitars are at the forefront of the album.
I'd also like to make it known that in Hazel Eyes (track 6), The Darkness have produced probably the most infectious chorus of the year - I just can't get it out of my head!
To sum up, this is an impressive album that has been very well produced but is marred only by the final two tracks being rather weak and the fact that it is so short. It's not a joke album either - the lyrics might not be all that serious but a majority of the songs are of high quality and some thought has obviously been put into creating them. If you liked the first album and haven't been put off by the bands much publicised egos then this comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all need a One Way Ticket..., 7 Feb. 2006
By 
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
Seriously, am I listening to the same copy of OWTTHAB as those who are moaning about it? What is there not to like?
I'll give a rundown of the tracks one by one:
One Way Ticket: 8/10. Good opening track. Doesn't do anything special as a result, but it's catchy, upbeat and radio-friendly.
Knockers: 9/10. More like it. Justin's got his swagger going now, and there's a nice strong chorus too. A bit short, mind.
Is It Just Me?: 9/10. This is as close The Darkness get to their 'Permission To Land' roots (not that I'm suggesting that they're better off that way!). Good old fashioned high-octane rock, and definitely a grower.
Dinner Lady Arms: 7/10. Good, but not great. Feels like a break in pace too early in the album. Still fits well with the album's theme, though.
Seemed Like A Good Idea: 10/10. 'Love Is Only A Feeling''s older, sexier sister. Beautiful, powerful and with brilliant lyrics. Possible single.
Hazel Eyes: 10/10. PERFECT. No, really. You just can't help but love this euphoric, epic powerhouse of a tune that hits you every time.
Bald: 10/10. PERFECT. Again. Moody, sneering, rifftastic and massive. Demands to be heard.
Gilfriend: 8/10. Seems to suffer from having to follow-up 'Bald', but the strings work nicely, and the chorus will stubbornly remain in your head for a long time.
English Country Garden: 10/10. This is grower (excuse the pun), and just seems to sound better and better the more you hear it. Crazy, mad and quick.
Blind Man: 8/10. A wierd one this. I wouldn't listen to this on it's own, but it's certainly a fitting end to the album, and whilst sounding serious, it has the classic Darkness tongue-in-cheek humour.
Overall, I think that it's a tribute to the Darkness that they've not only survived the notorious 'second album' period, they've turned it round, pulled down it's trousers and laughed riotously at it. It's not a clone of 'Permission To Land', and it has it's own sound whilst not being too off-centre. Yet again, at 10 tracks long and 35 minutes total, you're left gagging for more, though I suppose I'd prefer a handful of sublime tracks as opposed to an armful of mediocre ones.
Well, if the Darkness churn this kind of stuff out after being physically and mentally exhausted, imagine what the they can do after a rest...
Bring on the third album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE......Don't take Rock music too seriously!!!!!!, 21 Feb. 2006
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
If you are or have ever been a fan of AC/DC, Queen, Rainbow, Kiss, Aerosmith or any other O.T.T. Rock act of the last 30 yrs (Oh OK, Spinal Tap too...) then this LP will not fail to give you a giggle, and long overdue relief from the dreary, non melodic, sampled, Rap, hip hop and so called R&B 'pop' songs that the 'music' industry has bombarded us. I was unsure after reading reviews in the press and hearing comments from friends but I gave it a go anyway. AND I LIKED IT! As is the case nowadays it's old school, it's retro, but it's good. Your kids will like it and so will your Gran. It's easily on a par with there 1st LP, if anything, slightly more experimental. Expect feedbacks, chugging guitars, ultra sonic harmonies, tubular bells, brass bands and bagpipes, MARVELLOUS. Thank you and...
GOOD NIGHT AMAZON !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Rocks Again..., 6 Jan. 2006
By 
T. Letchford "robocrip" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
Well after much anticipation, they've done it again. The dangerous second album is out and......IT ROCKS. The lads from The Darkness have done themselves proud with this very different sound. One way Ticket is the opening track which starts with pan pipes, yes pan pipes you rockers, give it 20 seconds and it blasts off into pure genius. The whole album seems to be telling a story, whether it is a personal one... who knows but it is brilliant. My personal favourite apart from the opening one is track 7, Bald. It has some astounding riffs which are reminiscent of AC/DC, and it soooo works. You must buy this if you love good rock with excellent guitar riffs and some astonishing vocals by Mr Justin Hawkins. The only drawback is it seems a tad short only about 36 minutes which if they read any of these reviews should prompt them, more lads, we want more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Darkness - that difficult second album?, 10 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
A more experimental laid back effort from The Darkness compared to their rock-out debut 'Permission To Land'.
This album received both positive and mixed reviews from music magazines and fans alike upon release. So it it worth the dip? If you are a fan, absolutely. Many good bands experiment and vary their style a little over the years, but this is not an amazing departure. There is more variation of instruments with strings and piano, and some tracks do have little guitar work, but the vocals and songs overall still shine through. It's nowhere near as hard and fast as the first, but still has memorable tunes. Is it Just Me? and Dinner Lady Arms are my favourite tracks on here, with some good guitar and solo work. Unlike the original (which I regard as one of the best rock debuts in a long time) this second album for some, may still be a grower that takes a few listens to sink in and fully enjoy.

Queen's original producer Roy Thomas Baker does some great work on this album (no, really). The instrumentation and end track 'Blind Man' with its Bohemian choir vocals really shows his influence. Any reviewers claiming the band to be Freddy rip offs and nothing more, rather than having been influenced, now have little grounding with Baker helping them along. They may also have to consider that Brian May is now a fan, close friend of the band (check out BrianMay.com), and has rehearsed and played live with the Darkness. Now only Justin has to do is give up wearing that Freddy-esque catsuit..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME....JUST AWESOME!, 4 Jan. 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
The Darkness first album was brilliant and sold billions, and this second album that my g/f bought me for xmas is just as good, if not, better than the first album! The rock is still there and for some reason, it sounds better than the first album! Their is more harmonies on this album and it really really sounds good! Every tune on this album will get you wanting to listen to it again and again and even at work the songs will be in your head! This album deserves the number one spot and I strongly recommend this album to you, you wont be disappointed in it! The singing from Justin and the band are awesome and there are a number of the songs I really like but I really like Hazel Eyes, sounds great! TOP BAND, TOP GUYS, TOP SINGING, BUT MOST OF ALL TOP ALBUM!
Well done Darkness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be a future Classic, 13 May 2006
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
OK, I hoenstly can't understand how so many people hate this album. My conclusion is no one really associates rock with fun anymore. This album is FUN from begining to end. You put it on and all way through you can enjoy it and rock out.

Compared to other 2005 rock releases such as the Foo Fighters' 'In Your Honor' or Audioslave's 'Out of Exile' (both excellent rock albums) this album stands out simply for the creativity and imagination that has been put into it. Roy Thomas Baker has really worked magic on this album giving the band a new dimension, which is very notable compared to Permision to Land(again another excellent album).

The thing about One Way Ticket is it's more than excellent. It's an instant Classic. Easily one of my alltime favourites. 35mins (yes 35mins only) of pure genius. The band have admitted this is more of a vinyl album with 5 tracks on each side. Listening to the album you realise why.

Side 1 (the pure rock side)

One Way Ticket starts off with panpipes, no idea why, but its brialliant. The only thing I don't like about this song is that dreadful cowbell. But otherwise this was the perfect first single for this album. It's got those winning rock elements that worked wonders on their debut, but you can hear the new elements as well. More harmonised vocals and a sitar solo distinguish it from their other songs.

Knockers...i love the chorus to this. Great lyrics. Great vibe. I love the piano and guitar solo piece. Makes me smile everytime I hear it.

Is It Just Me?...has to be one of their best songs so far. Possibly one of the best guitar solos in rock history. The guitar and bass riff is also really cool. Really pumping, and gives the song a great drive. I think this song is a great example of keeping the music simple yet complex enough to entertain and excite.

Dinner Lady Arms...starts of like vintage Leppard. But don't slag this off as being some rip off. The lyrics are beautiful in a quirky way, as The Darkness know how to be. Beautiful overall layered sound. I was really surprised with this one, this is where the album starts verging away from Permission to Land.

Seemed Like a Good Idea...in my opinion this is one of the best power ballads of all time. I would have never imagined The Darkness using an orchestra, but this sounds glorious. Such a powerful chorus, you can't help but try and scream out the melody. Even though you probably will never hit those notes. I love those jazzy piano chords stuck here and there. This is a power ballad like you've never heard it before. And ''Across a thousand miles of broken glass on my hands and knees'' is the lyric that gets me most. How romantic...ahhhhhhhh *sighs*

Side 2(the experimental side of the album)

Hazel Eyes...starts off with a Brian May-esque lick, really cool. The lyrics are so original and wacky they make you laugh. Great balsy bass. And there are so many sounds in this song. Ebow guitars, a mandolin i believe or a guitar made to sound similar to one, bagpipes, marching drums, triangle. The best Celtic rock song ever. Also introduces a new word to your vocab...HAZELERER. You can't beat that.

Bald...don't really like this one. I think it could have been used so much better. It's mostly the lyrics that ruin this one. I definetly udnerstand Justin Hawkin's humour in his lyrics. But this could have been a sort of Love on the Rocks pt.2. and instead it's more like the Darkness taking the piss out of AC/DC's Hell Bells. Still great guitar work and vocal melody. Definetly grows on you more with each listen. Shame about the lyrics.

Girlfriend...lololol. One of the coolest songs on this album. On first listen I was like WTF. But the more I heard it I became adicted to it. The orchestrations in this song are mind blowing. Especially considering this is a rock song, and it rocks well. It is simplicity that's the key here. This has to have the best synthesiser solo ever(and not only on a rock album). Clocks in at 2.31 and you just want to play it again again. Girlfriend I Love You...soooooooo much.

English Country Garden...their most Queenish song. Actually I think this is the only Queenish song the Darkness have, despite so many people slagging them off for sounding too much like Queen. Again great lyrics and a great guitar solo. First song the Darkness have used the piano as a main instrument. Works really well. Maybe the begining of whats to come on future albums. Again another best in the rock world...best rock song to use a French word. Jardin Jardin Jardin Jardin wooooh!

Blind Man...maginificent is the only word to describe the closing song of One Way Tikcet. The orchestra is used again for beautiful effect. Beautiful lyrics. No drums, no guitars(well no distorted guitas at least)...just an orchestra and lots of harmonised vocals. A not straight forward chorus that grows so well on you with each listen. Pefect album ending.

If this isn't a modern classic rock album then at least it should get the status of being one of the most Underated Classic Rock Albums.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely FANTASTIC BUY IT!!!!!!, 3 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
Well, being a MASSIVE darkness fan I was worried about how this album will turn out compared to Permission to Land, but I had NOTHING to worry about. I have rinsed it like mad, just like I did PTL and OMG I just love it. "Hazel Eyes", "Bald" and "Girlfriend" I think are ones to really listen out for!!! I know loads of people have said oh theyre just sounding like Queen on this album but although I agree on some tracks there are some queen sounding rifts and singing but who cares!!! I think thats a good thing 'cos as we all know Queen are one of there major inspirations. The darkness are in a league of there own as a band, I feel, and I honestly advise anyone to go and get this album not only are the lyrics mad so funny, but this whole album is good to sing along to, good to dance to, and well the darkness, I feel, are in there best form yet so good on you guys keep doing what you're doing and I know I'll be seeing you live again this year!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one way ticket...is just the ticket thanks!, 17 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
To be honest I was unsure how this, the second album from The Darkness, was going to turn out. Would it rock or just trundle along a bit?
Well, it ROCKS!!!!
"One way ticket..." is a monster of a rock album - loud, glizty, catchy and well-crafted. Opening number, "One Way Ticket" blasts out of the speakers with great riffs and a very hummable tune and is followed by the brilliant "Knockers" which boasts one of the biggest choruses in rock. The tracks are beautifully produced with layers of Justin's vocals sitting nicely amongst the guitars, drums, strings, brass, synths... you get the picture.
"Bald" is by far the heaviest number on offer and despite the subject matter (fear of hair-loss) is a serioulsy rocking number.
Other stand-out tracks include "English Country Garden" and "Is it Just Me?"
By it.
It rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOLID GREAT ROCK, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back (Audio CD)
Forget any hype, to those of us who appreciate good old easy blowing rock or HM, the darkness deliver. This second album has had it's fair share of critics, but look just listen to the music. It's total rock with melody and great guitars. This album is excellent from the title track through the (short)track listing - only 10 - it's a fine collection of songs. The second single "Is it just me" is the highlight. Just a solid rhythym and a really ctahcy track. the Queen influence comes through at the end with blind man(it was produced by a former Queen producer) and so Justin really squeezes his groin for that high pitch voice, which does get a bit on your nerves in the end. Nevertheless in 2006 we need to remember The Darkness are breaking the mould and this is an excellent album to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back
One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back by The Darkness (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews