Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not really a fan of Slade ......., 11 Jun 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
I've never counted myself as a fan of Slade but bought this on a the spur of the moment the other week & what a cracker it is.
As a "best of" kind of compilation it's spot on. All the old favourites are here & you realise when you listen to this how many Slade songs have become a part of the fabric of life in Britain (particularly on juke boxes in our nation's less upmarket pubs - which in my book makes it fantastic !!).
This is pure entertainment & is probably the kind of record that would suit folks who wouldn't rush out & buy any of their other albums.
Really good fun & really worth a punt,treat yourself !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Slade, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
Pre-ordered and arrived early Monday morning on release date, fantastic!
Having listern to Slade since the start, and continuing to do so to this day, it's great to have a release that's fully remastered and sounds just great, put the first cd on, bang up the volume very loud (it's the law!) and you are back there in the the day, at a live gig. Remastering is excellent, crisp and very clear, a must buy, what you waiting for a dodgy mp3 rip? a market bootleg, do yourself a favour and buy it, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
I ordered this after seeing a 70's documentary which included some of their songs. After buying some real dud albums recently, I knew I could do worse than give Slade a try. I must say, this album has the sort of energy you don't see so much on contemporary rock albums. Not so sure about the second CD yet, but the first is an absolute belter. I agree that their image probably hasn't helped the longevity of the music. But, if you are into rock, you need to look past all that. Having said that, I have tended to keep this purchase a secret...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70's Heaven, 13 Dec 2005
By 
Graham (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
I grew up knowing of my dads love of slade in his late teens, infact his wedding photo's look like a Noddy Holder lookalike contest. So when I saw this I knew it was the perfect Christmas gift. When it arrived I decided to give it a sly listen, to see what the fuss was all about. It was fantasic, a trip back to the day's when rock was cheerful and loud, oh so loud. Infact I loved it so much that I'm afraid it may be pipe and slippers for dad again this year, I want this baby for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THAT'S PURE ROCK 'N' ROLL!!!, 9 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT!!! This is indeed The Very Best of SLADE and it is a truly excellent CD, ***with a new, refreshed, remastered sound*** that makes it a truly superb Rock 'n' Roll experience!!! So make yourself a favor, Slade fans, you deserve it, buy and enjoy this GREAT CD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best good time rock band ever, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
It's criminal that Slade never seem to get played on the classic rock stations. They were easily as good as Status Quo, Free (YES!), Bad Company and any of the other rock bands who regularly appeared in the charts in those days - shame we can't say the same nowadays!
Where it all went wrong for them of course is that they tried to become TOO serious, or were perhaps advised to become so, when they made Slade in Flame. Not that they were bad at that of course but it just didn't ring true somehow. Perhaps if they had stuck to what they did best they would have easily ridden out punk and who knows, perhaps Live Aid would have kicked off with a rendition of "Cum on feel the noize" rather than "Rocking all over the world"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Noize Boyz rooled !, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
If you do not own anything (or precious little) by Slade, this retrospective is for you ! Although there have been several Slade greatest hits releases over the years, this is the one you should get. The Very Best of Slade is a comprehensive 2cd set (1971 - 1991) that includes all their greatest (although not necessarily all their best) and effectively mirrors the DVD video release of the same name.

For the uninitiated, Slade were a hard rockin' and raucous British live act who were absolutely huge in the UK, Europe and Australia 1972-75. They made very favorable impressions throughout the rest of the world as well, but never quite broke America, which impeded the all world success that was rightly theirs. During this period Slade had six # 1's in the UK and broke multiple sales/chart records formerly held by the Beatles.

Much to the chagrin of this reviewer and to the die hard fanz, imho Slade were undeservedly lumped into the glam rock crock pot by the UK press and considered a glam band. Nothing could have been further from the truth - have a listen to Slade Alive ! Of course the flamboyant and over the top clothing of guitarist Dave Hill ("you writ'em, I'll sell'em") and vocal powerhouse Noddy Holder's ever present top hat and tartan attire (John Lennon called Noddy the best British vocalist he'd ever heard!) prevented the band from being taken seriously by the main stream rock press. However the live shows did, so in effect Slade were almost like one band with two personas. The hard rock live act who would take a back seat to nobody on a stage and the TOTP/glam image band. Massive success always brings for forth the detractors.

That being said, Slade cut many many brilliant tracks. Bassist Jim Lea and Noddy Holder were responsible for the bulk. Disc 1 includes 20 great cuts from the 1970's and Disc 2 has 14 tunes from the 1980's/90's. Slade will always be remembered as a 70's act ironically they finally made their big American breakthrough in 1983 when Quiet Riot made a career for themselves by going to #1 with Slade's Cum On Feel The Noize. 1984 saw My Oh My and Run Runaway from Keep Your Hands Off My Power Supply chart on Billboard and get heavy rotation on MTV. Their '84 opening slot on Ozzy's Bark At The Moon tour would have undoubtedly put them over the top but wasn't to be when Jim Lea took sick and the band were forced to cancel off of the tour. They never recovered from that setback and from that period on never toured again. This would effectively dispel the end of the band, although they carried on til 1991 recording and making tv appearances.

I would be remiss to not mention Slade's triumphant return from the abyss in 1980. After they returned from America in early 1977, Slade found themselves unfashionable and out of touch in the UK and Europe mainly because of the punk movememt. For three years they were reduced to the has been/chicken in a basket club circuit and were about to call it a day in the summer of 1980 when fortune smiled and Ozzy Osbourne's Blizzard of Ozz pulled out of the Reading Festival. Manager Chas Chandler convinced the band to take the gig and "at least go out with a bang". They did far more than that, they stole the show and the festival !! Slade were back at that point and never looked back.

If you take one thing from this bio and from the Very Best of Slade, call it perserverance. The music speaks for itself. If you don't enjoy Slade then you've done yourself a disfavour. Pick it up, you'll be glad you did !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rok on noddy, 14 Jan 2010
By 
deano (leicester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
my kids didn't know what to get me for xmas so .."slades greatest hits"
looks of horror from 16 to 23 year olds thinking that xmas song group done other songs.

well, they stood the test of time. obvious classics still hold up against the best.
wall of sound could make it today.

you can see where some oasis inspiration came from.
well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exelent Compilation, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
This is an exelent compilation of all the well known Slade hits from the 70s to early 90s. Exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cum on feel the noize, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Slade (Audio CD)
Always been a slide fan and what more could you want with all the hits on this double cd. There is much more to spade than merry Xmas everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Slade
The Very Best Of Slade by Slade (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews