Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You only Blink twice
In early 2005 Blink 182 broke up on patchy ground and bitterness and as a result Tom created Angels and airwaves to expand his musical horizons and Mark and Travis founded +44 and released one album in late 2006. Therefore they released this greatest hits album in late 2005 to celebrate their career and as a send off to a band that was very unlikely to regroup ever again...
Published on 18 Oct. 2009 by Matt182

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Case
This CD is definitely worth a buy. The CD itself arrived undamaged but the case now has a large part missing which has broken.
Published 18 months ago by alanna


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You only Blink twice, 18 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In early 2005 Blink 182 broke up on patchy ground and bitterness and as a result Tom created Angels and airwaves to expand his musical horizons and Mark and Travis founded +44 and released one album in late 2006. Therefore they released this greatest hits album in late 2005 to celebrate their career and as a send off to a band that was very unlikely to regroup ever again. There had been serious arguments and hostility and at that point Tom was not speaking to Mark and Travis at all. It was a safe bet to release an album which chronicled their career.

In 1994 Blink 182 released their first album Cheshire cat on Cargo-music. They were a punk-rock band but as Tom has said; they weren't all anarchy and pissed at the world they were skaters from California. The result was M+M's and Carousel which are featured on this album. I think it's fair to say that the band could have done a lot better! When they started they could neither write songs, play their instruments or sing! Tom's voice sounds so gravely and strained and I was shocked when I first heard Carousel. M+M's has Mark singing an incredibly childish song, although I will admit that the guitar is quite clever. They were teenagers when they started out and this is more than evident. They deliberately tried to act dumb; make up dirty jokes and dirty songs so that people wouldn't take them seriously. That's why they had a fan base of mainly teenagers because it was teenage music.
By Dude Ranch, their sophomore effort; they had improved slightly and Dammit is a standout song. It is so angsty and punk feeling and has a great sound. The lyrics to me are more thought out and Mark puts effort into his vocals. Josie on the other-hand is another childish effort with additional gravely vocals from Tom. I think he was trying too hard to sound punk.

Enema of the state was their best selling album and where they turned into a pop-punk outfit. It was just as childish but they were beginning to sound better. Travis stepped in as drummer for Scott Raynor who had been fired due to unknown circumstances. Travis brought a much varied sound rather than the punk feel of Scott's. What's my age again; a classic has clever bass and guitar mixed in. They did this with a few of their songs. They knew how to make things work. In All the small things Tom's voice sounds smoother and it is very listenable. It's a much smoother song than the previous material and things fit nicely. Adam's song was one that I really didn't like on my first few listens but then one night I got really emotional with the music and although it has fairly childish lyrics in parts, it is also a serious and moving song. Man overboard was their only release from The Mark Tom and Travis show - a live album. I love how the guitar and bass work together in the intro. Take off your pants and Jacket was released in 2001 and was their final album of obscenity and immaturity. The rock show is so immature and seems like it's been written by a 10 year old. First date is a song I do like and Tom's vocals are again improved. It has my favourite misheard lyric - `I told your dad I'm probably gonna miss'! The musical feel is similar to the previous album and it's a classic Blink song. Tom wrote this whereas Mark wrote the aforementioned on the same night. Stay together for the kids is a song where they tried to get all serious but it doesn't work. In 2003 Blink-182 did something which was well overdue - they matured into proper songwriters and proper talented and experienced musicians. After hearing Feeling this on the radio when I was 13 and then seeing I miss you on TOTP I had to get their self titled album. The self-titled was a new revolution for the band, a new age and where they created awesome rock songs. A lot of the fans couldn't take to the album because it was such a change to the immaturity and nonsense and it had been labelled `dark' and even `emo`. I fell in love with this album and it's an album which shaped my teenage years in music I believe. It was the perfect stage to get into this band and they won over many more fans. It really moved me and the singles are such a welcome difference to the previous songs. Feeling this is not a surprise and has a similar pop-punk feel as TOYPAJ. The verses are lustful and the chorus is romantic. I believe they released this first as not to surprise too many fans. I miss you is somber and romantic and it seems like a different band compared to Carousel. Down is a song Tom wrote showing the mature nature of his song-writing. Always is my favourite Blink song and has an 80's feel. It's so bright and beautiful. Not now - their final single to date was the perfect send-off and has electronic sounds in the intro. The lyrics are so meaningful and deep and it showed their progression as musicians. Another girl another planet was a great cover song and has nice feel. I won't be home for Christmas is a rock take on a classic season. It's got Blink humour and a good vibe. Go-live is a rock tune from the final album and shows Blink's live talent. It's not much of an ender though.

Blink never used their full potential If they had been more sensible and better songwriters from the beginning then who knows how good they could have been? Tom said in a recent interview that they were The Police of their generation. You can't even compare Blink's writing to Sting's when he first started out! Ridiculous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 2 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is blink 182 best cd in my opinion as it has all their biggest, best and most popular hits, if your a blink fan then I would urge to buy it, you won't be disappointed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've not tried Blink, try this., 2 Jan. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Blink 182 have been at the forefront of punk rock for the last 10 years, and this is a fitting send off for a great band.
All the mainstream songs are here; my only minor niggle with album is the exclusion of some of their earlier genius; my all time favourite Blink song "Apple Shampoo" would have been a welcome addition. I'm glad "I won't be home for christmas" makes it on to the UK disc as this is also a great track.
Also, Blink fans will already have "Not Now" which made it onto the special tour edition of the self titled "Blink 182" album, so it's not really a new track!
Regardless of this, it's still a great best of album. If you've never got into Blink, or you've only heard stuff like "All The Small Things", get this now and prepare for some serious musical enjoyment.
Thanks Tom, Mark, Travis (and Scott) for 10 years of great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This will never get old!, 28 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Blink-182: immature, punk teenagers (yet now aged 36 - 39 and haven't changed one bit) they make for great entertainment. Blink write hits in their sleep: `I Miss You', `Feeling This', `First Date', I could go on... Tom Delonge's distinctive (whiny & nasal) voice characterises all their music and the Greatest Hits will remind you what really is great about Blink-182. The 4 most punk tracks on the album are at the start: `Carousel', `M+Ms', `Dammit' and `Josie'. Fast-paced, insane drumming coupled with shouted vocals from Delonge and Mark Hoppus this punk inspired rock turns into more tuneful hits such as `Stay Together For The Kids' which has a riff that'll stay with you for days and days. The vocals may leave something to be desired but there's no doubt that Blink-182 are true stars, and their Greatest Hits demonstrates this so very well. If you like punk-rock and memorable riffs, you will adore Blink-182's Greatest Hits as it's absolutely full of them! An album that'll never get old, I don't see how anyone could regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the classics!!, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is a great collection of Blink's singles and hits from their inception, and it doesn't disappoint!! All the classics are here, like The Rock Show, Josie, What's My Age Again and Feeling This, plus a few others you might not know, like Man Overboard, Another Girl Another Planet and I Won't Be Home For Christmas. A must have for any Blink fan, new or old, and is great way to listen to all your favourites with minimal effort!! A great listen, and a great collection of pop punk classics!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 Mar. 2010
This album is simply one of the best Blink 182 ever released, and it has refreshed my memory of how amazing the band really are. If you are a Blink 182 fan then this album is a great collection of their best hits, and it ticks all the boxes for me personally. If you are new to Blink 182, then this again is a good album for you and something you should consider if you like punk rock. They were so ahead of time, and it still sounds fresh today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME ALBUM, AWESOME BAND, 30 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A must for any Blink 182 fan is obviously their greatest hits but non fans can also enjoy this album because it's awesome. Having owned everyone of Blink 182's albums from Cheshire Cat to Blink 182 I bought this because my own collection got completely scratched and therefore wrecked. I bought this album and hey presto put it onto my MP3. Also you can enjoy the music without the juvenile stuff which funny at the time gets old fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music from a great band., 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This band is awesome, from heavy tracks such as "Rock show", down to "Feeling this" and the fun tracks such as "First date" and "All the small things"
Very versatile music from a very good band, Sadly it seems guys like this are getting rarer and the music is suffering nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great punk rock and at a low price!, 11 April 2006
By 
Anna (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Blink 182 have been my favourite band for three years and i was devestated when i heard they were going to break up! However, with this great Blink cd, hopefully it will take me through my life as a Blink fan, even if they have split!
Blink 182, a amazing punk rock band with a great sense of humor they include in their songs have been around for 10 years, producing songs with humorous lyrics, catchy tunes and chessey videos which you can't help getting up to dance to!
This cd has all the great Blink songs on which you find yourself singing along to in no time! My personal favourites are:
Carousel - a classic Blink tune with a catchy but meaningful plot to it.
Josie - classic, fast punk that you would get up an headbang to!
Rock Show - again another headbanger, classic Blink
All The Small Things - this song has a lot of meaning to it, its catchy with a HILIARIOUS video ( watch it!)
Wether your a devoted Blink fan like me or if you've only heard one song, i think you should click that button and buy this album, it can keep you going threw your life, be your soundtrack and plus, its so cheap that its worth a gamble on, if you don't like it you no you've tried and won't be sitting wondering wether you should have bought it while you could! Buy it, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Buy!, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink 182 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This was a fantastic buy, an amazing 'Best Of' album for any Blink fan. It has a great coolection of classic songs, some I didn't even know of but now adore and play in my car probably too much! The product turned up within the expected delivery time and was in great new condition. Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blink 182 Greatest Hits
Blink 182 Greatest Hits by Blink 182 (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews