Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fretboard Care Product
Bought this to get my G Les Paul & ESP fretboards back to their previous lustre, it does the job very well. As with any product like this you'll probably have to reapply after a few of gigs to counteract sweat dry out (from your playing), but that's part and parcel of guitar maintenance. Best used when you replace the strings.
Published on 11 July 2010 by Needler

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars empty container.
I cannot give a proper review of the lemon oil because when it arrived the top of container was cracked and all the lemon oil had leaked all over cardboard packaging so there was no lemon oil left inside plastic bag as the oil had been absorbed by the cardboard packaging.
Published 1 month ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fretboard Care Product, 11 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
Bought this to get my G Les Paul & ESP fretboards back to their previous lustre, it does the job very well. As with any product like this you'll probably have to reapply after a few of gigs to counteract sweat dry out (from your playing), but that's part and parcel of guitar maintenance. Best used when you replace the strings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for old acoustic guitars, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
Sounds much better once cleaned.
Use an old rag/cloth and make sure you dry it properly - or the strings will rust.
Safe to apply to strings, frets and neck, but not body of guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
I used some of this on a Tele rose wood fret board which was looking a bit dry and whoa, what a difference. It now looks like new and could swear it plays better?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
I bought this for my guitar to give it a good clean up.
It should be used on the fretboard only, applying it to the guitar body or anywhere else that is lacquered will just leave it greasy.
I have a rosewood fretboard and using this and a microfibre cloth, left it with a beautiful clean lustre.

Some lemon oils come with warning saying that they shouldn't be used on maple fretboards, this one in particular does not have a warning on it, but I would still do some research before thinking of using it a maple fingerboard.

The easiest and most convenient way to apply the oil is to do it when you are restringing the guitar. when I did it, I removed two strings at a time and put a few drops onto a microfibre cloth, I then worked my way down from the top fret, put some more oil on the cloth and worked my way up from the bottom. After that, I used the cloth on each fret individually (no need to apply more oil as there will be some remaining on the fretboard) and cleaned with side to side motions.

You know it works because you can see the dirt on the cloth afterwards, and you'd be surprised by just how much there is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for cleaning fretboards., 28 April 2013
By 
Neil Anderson (Tarbert (Loch Fyne) Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
If you have a valuable and / or well loved instrument with a fretboard needs proper care you will need some of this. It's that simple - and yes it does work. You can try alternatives like 3 in one if you are desperate but this one smells nicer and works better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality item, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
After buying new strings for my bass guitar our friends in the music shop advised me to give the natural wood body a clean with this oil and also using ultra fine 0000 guage wire wool and all I can say is that my guitar looks the best it has in the 8 years I have owned it, awesome product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 10 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
There is only one problem I have with this thing. there isn't enough of it apart from that its ok, when you first put it on the wood shines beautifully and then it fades back to the way it looked before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does a good job., 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
It has cleaned up the fingerboards on all my guitars well and they really needed it. A little goes a long way so it should last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Adequate, 4 July 2014
By 
B. Matchett (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
It is what it is and does what it does very well, any competent guitarist knows that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lemon Oil, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Waves Lemon Oil (Electronics)
Easy to use and makes the fret look great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Waves Lemon Oil
Planet Waves Lemon Oil by Planet Waves
2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews