Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of bang for your buck (or pound, I guess)
As has been pointed out by other reviewers, this box has its problems. Chief among these is that not all the films are in their original aspect ratios (even worse is that the information on the box itself is misleading, mixing the numbers and the labels on aspect ratios repeatedly).
However, for the price you're not likely to get as great a pile of films as these...
Published on 3 Feb. 2009 by D. M. Centifanti

versus
294 of 316 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Panned, scanned and damned
A potentially fabulous box set is scuppered by the fact (as pointed out by other reviewers) that four of the films - The Birds, Marnie, Torn Curtain and Topaz - are presented in completely the wrong aspect ratio, despite information to the contrary on the boxes themselves. The upshot is that anyone who buys this set, tempted by the admittedly wonderful extra features,...
Published on 29 Aug. 2008 by Scottie


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of bang for your buck (or pound, I guess), 3 Feb. 2009
By 
D. M. Centifanti "aliceboy" (Durham, County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
As has been pointed out by other reviewers, this box has its problems. Chief among these is that not all the films are in their original aspect ratios (even worse is that the information on the box itself is misleading, mixing the numbers and the labels on aspect ratios repeatedly).
However, for the price you're not likely to get as great a pile of films as these. There's scarcely a dud in here (Topaz and Family Plot are not so great, but bad Hitchcock is still better than a lot of directors' 'great'), and many of Hitchcock's best films are here (only The Birds out of the 'classics' isn't in the correct ratio). Prints are all the best available, and every film comes with a featurette (all, I think, at least half an hour in length) that covers the basics on its film as well as including interviews with surviving 'players.'
The only real surprise in here was a bonus disc with Psycho, which includes an interview with Hitchcock and the AFI tribute dinner to him. Neither of these are necessary, but nice little extras anyway.
What it comes down to is that this is a fantastic bundle of fine cinema for very little cash. Any issues with the content are really just quibbling. If you have those kind of problems, you should have no trouble shelling out proper money for correct copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Hitch-Box, 5 Jun. 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Simply A MUST HAVE...14 Hitchcock movies which should please fans and passing viewers alike.It's impossible to review a set of
this size fairly suffice to say some movies you'll like more than others naturally enough.The selection here is wide and varied from ROPE to FRENZY THE BIRDS to TROUBLE WITH HARRY you get the gist something for everyone.Theres an excellent selection of extras on offer on every disc also.I bought this set at the local Zaavi closing down sale for 30 euro last year
I thought it a bargain then but look at the amazon price now even lower. If you buy this set you'll not regret your investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


176 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Boxed Set, 20 Aug. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I have just purchased this set of Hitchcock films and aside from the missing 'North by Northwest' and 'Strangers on a Train' (both of which I already own anyway) and a few of the early British classics this is very nearly definitive.

Of the 14 films in this set five are ranked in the top 250 films of all time on the internet movie database ([...]
Rope = 237
Shadow of Doubt = 155
Vertigo = 35
Psycho = 22
Rear Window = 13

Of the remaining nine films several are wonderful films in their own right and because Hitchcock was the director none of them are turkeys.
The films are packaged in the thin DVD cases and the box itself is well made and will look good on your shelf.

Having picked the set up quite cheap I assumed that there would be no extras on the discs, but in fact 'Psycho' is 2 DVD set, so you actually get 15 DVD's in the boxed set, and all the films contain extras.
For example on 'Rear Window' you get:

Rear Window Ethics: Remembering
& Restoring a Hitchcock Classic - Making Of
Featurette
Art Gallery
Trailer Compilation
Theatrical Trailor

So overall this is a simply a marvellous set of films, by one of the greatest ever filmmakers. You could watch one a night for two weeks and then start again. Now which one shall I watch first?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Value for Money, 29 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I know some other reviews have expressed annoyance/disappointment with some of the aspect ratios of certain films in this collection, but personally speaking, I didn't notice any issues and it certainly didn't hinder my enjoyment of any of the films.

The collection itself is obviously not a complete collection of Hitchcock's entire body of work, but it's a very significant chunk, comprising many of his most famous films and thus represents many hours of top quality entertainment that definitely offers enjoyment over multiple viewings.

Everyone will have their favourite films in this set, there is something for everyone, from light-comedy (Trouble with Harry), adventure (Saboteur) to much darker and more menacing work (Psycho, Shadow of a Doubt).

I recommend buying this set for all the reasons above, it's a great investment. It's also worth mentioning that most, if not all, of these films have solid and informative special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


294 of 316 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Panned, scanned and damned, 29 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A potentially fabulous box set is scuppered by the fact (as pointed out by other reviewers) that four of the films - The Birds, Marnie, Torn Curtain and Topaz - are presented in completely the wrong aspect ratio, despite information to the contrary on the boxes themselves. The upshot is that anyone who buys this set, tempted by the admittedly wonderful extra features, will still have to buy widescreen (Region 1) versions of these films if they want to see them in a form even approximating to what Hitchcock intended. How ridiculous. They might just as well have colorised Psycho while they were at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great films, but many butchered into 4:3 ratio, 5 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
There's nothing I can add about the brilliance of Hitchcock, and just how much pleasure I and many others get from these films. Fourteen of his later works - though including Saboteur (1942) and Shadow of a Doubt(1943), and missing North by Northwest - are included here, and at less than a couple of quid each I can't really complain...

...However, I will complain. Many of the later twelve films have had their original aspect ratio butchered into what was the standard TV ratio (and old 'Academy' ratio) of approx. 4:3, which seems a little outdated now that most of us have 16:9 televisions which can happily accommodate a 1:1.185 ratio (slightly letter-boxed, admittedly). So you can either watch these 'pillar box' style, or use your TV's 'panoramic' view to stretch out the sides (which also chops a little off the top and bottom). Either way you are not seeing the actual films Hitchcock made.

If I was paying ten pounds each for these films I would be more perturbed, but for the price I wouldn't feel justified in knocking off more than one star over this. These are, after all, some of the best films ever made. I only wish I could get to see them at the cinema more often, which is where they are at their very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely restored films!!, 6 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Better quality than the originals.Bonus features show how the complete restoration from film was achieved to produce much sharper images and colours than the cinema showings.With a couple of notable omissions from the line up this is the best box set of Hitchcock I have seen. Well worth purchasing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value, 22 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset contains 14 of Hitchcocks 53 films and most of his best Hollywood work from the 40s to the 70s.The classic period psychological thrillers from the mid 50s (Rear Window) to the mid 60s (Marnie) are particularly fine-This set is also a history of film making as it shows how the changing tastes of audiences affected his style(Alas!).14 of the greatest directors finest works,well presented and packaged,and each with highly entertaining,often humorous,trailers and documentaries,and all for under £20: It`s a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - Not all films in correct ratio, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
Gideon Rigal (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
While this should be a marvelous box set with some very fine Hitchcock films and terrific documentaries included, potential customers should note that several of the films that should be in widescreen are presented
here in 4:3 pan and scan versions. The Birds for instance is advertised on the cover as being in widescreen when it isn't. If however you don't mind seeing the films like this, then the box set probably offers good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value but format problem with the Psycho disc, 12 July 2011
By 
A (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Great value, a large number of Hitchcock films for your money. However there is a serious format problem with the Psycho main feature film disc which oddly says 'this disc is not formatted to play in this region' on my UK Panasonic S35 DVD player even though all the other discs work fine. I have got a replacement disc which does the same thing. It does work on the DVD on my PC though. I agree with the other reviewers that the overall cardboard box to hold the disc cases is flimsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD]
Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
£55.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews