Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something for everyone...
This superb series deserves to do well on DVD after the shoddy way it was treated by the BBC TV schedulers, particularly (and surprisingly) BBC Wales. There is much to enjoy especially for allotment holders, permaculture enthusiasts and smallholders. Plenty of green-woodworking projects are demonstrated, albeit briefly. Herbal remedies, traditional food preservation,...
Published on 28 Jan. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Green Valley
Really excellent series on TV with sub titles for the hard of hearing.
The DVD however released by Acorn as usual for them no sub titles.
So if you are hard of hearing and need sub titles, then sadly this DVD is a waste of your money.
Published on 3 July 2009 by michael john


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How ridiculous!, 29 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
I'm really enjoying the rerun of the tv series (missed previous showings) and rushed over to Amazon to buy the DVD. But what do I find? The DVD has NO SUBTITLES!!!!!

I have written to Acorn complaining about this. Its ridiculous that such a large company should be ignoring about a quarter of their potential customers.

I'll save my money and spend it with a company who DO understand that even deaf people might be interested in social history!

Unfotunately I wasn't able to give this DVD a zero rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farming in past times., 26 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
We have so enjoyed all the farming series - Victorian and Edwardian farm and the 1600s Green Valley series. We could learn so much from this lifestyle today - less materialism, more hard work and more in touch with the earth and each other.

The team are not actors, they are historians, but we still see a convincing slice of life 100, 150 or 400 years ago in each of the series. We love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
Very informative and beautifully filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series, well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
LOVE THE DVD . Great Seller. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The antidote to modern living, 9 July 2007
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
If only I could be like them.....

I do note that they weren't allowed to live in the cottage because of health and safety concerns with carbon monoxide emmissions from the big fireplace!!

They should offer holidays based upon this series. I'd pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
Very nice to watch the old ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxxx xxxx xxxxxxxx xx xxx xxxx xxx x x xxxx xxxx xxxxxxx x x great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
Miss Annette Nelson (Theodore, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
Great watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From The Green Valley [DVD]
Tales From The Green Valley [DVD] by Peter Sommer (DVD - 2005)
£11.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews