Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check before you buy
An excellent product, does exactly what it is supposed to do hence the 5 stars. However, a tip for those of you wanting to route two different sound sources to a single sound system, rather than one sound source to two seperate amps: check on the back of your two devices that the optical out socket stops glowing red when the device is swiched off or on stand-by...
Published on 17 Feb. 2010 by D Poisson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended
The splitter did not work, occasionally when I did get sound it was intermittent. Had to resort to plugging the TOS cables directly into the devices. :-(
Published on 10 Jan. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check before you buy, 17 Feb. 2010
By 
D Poisson "Perennialist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
An excellent product, does exactly what it is supposed to do hence the 5 stars. However, a tip for those of you wanting to route two different sound sources to a single sound system, rather than one sound source to two seperate amps: check on the back of your two devices that the optical out socket stops glowing red when the device is swiched off or on stand-by.

Example: I bought this to route sound both from my PS3 and from my WD HDTV file streamer which reads video files from a hard-drive. The PS3's optical out stops glowing red on stand-by, so it doesn't interfere with the WD HDTV as long as I swich it to stand-by while the WD HDTV is playing. However the WD HDTV device's optical out socket continues to glow red even when on stand-by, so I can only hear the PS3's sound if I switch the WD HDTV off at the power source.

This is still better than an optical SWITCHER as that would be MUCH bigger (the company sent me that first as a mistake - replaced it very fast without fuss - it was as big as my hand, this is only a little larger than a fizzy drink bottle top) and would require me to get out of my seat EVERY TIME to twist the chunky dial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice cheap solution to an otherwise tricky and expensive problem, 21 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
Simple design, good build quality. Got one for a colleague too. Great little splitter. I needed to route Sky HD audio to two destinations and it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, cheap gadget for connecting two optical devices, 3 April 2010
By 
R. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
Purchased the splitter and three optical cables so that I could connect my PS3 and Sky+HD Box to the one optical connection on my home cinema system
Only works if you remember to turn off/place in standby the device not being used otherwise it will get confused.

You may want to check whether the optical output on older devices stays on when in standby.

In summary - turned up quickly, was cheap and works fine when connecting two devices to a home cinema system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Optical Splitter Review, 13 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
This item is a passive device and performs exactly as described. Users must be aware that a passive splitter does involve some loss of light beam intensity that can result in the final light beam being of insufficient power to trigger the optical receiver at the end equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
The splitter did not work, occasionally when I did get sound it was intermittent. Had to resort to plugging the TOS cables directly into the devices. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no good, 15 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Bennett "Infantchimp" (Andover England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
ok i am writing this because this product does not work.i bought this to split the sound up coming out of my xbox to go to my amp and 5.1 headphones at the same time.i then re ordered a splitter from ex-pro wich is a few squid more and that worked!!i opened up this splitter to have a look inside and it is very very poor quality! avoid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work for me!, 1 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
Firstly the item I received, and the item pictured above are completely different. The splitter I received is a cheap looking silver plastic finished version. This doesn't matter as it'll be hidden anyway.

However it just doesn't work for my needs. I'm trying to connect an iMac and xbox to a speaker system, and neither work. When one of the devices is switched off (no red light shining through
the cable) the other source still doesn't work.

The red light shining through the cable is also considerable dimmer compared to how it is before it goes through the splitter, so I get you lose some signal strength when it's 'split'.

If your purpose is similar to mine, get a TOSlink switcher, so the signal strength isn't affected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simple - it doesn't Work, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
Doesn't do what it's supposed to do. Signal wouldn't pass through in either direction or in any configuration. So pretty much useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works like a dream, 11 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
Bought this to merge two audio sources into one surround processor and it does the job perfectly. As others have said the only thing to be aware of is that for one source to be processed the other has to go off fully (no red glow). Only lost a star be because the sockets don't grip toslink cables too well, they fall out a bit too easily, but for the price i can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what i thought, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optical splitter, 1 x Toslink socket to 2 x Toslink sockets. (Electronics)
bought this on the assumption ,that being an optical device it would work both ways, but it doesn't
It can only be used for sending a signal to two devices, not two signals to one output D'oh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews