Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love it
saw most of this film on tv, it looked really good from what little I saw
Hence my buying the Dvd
Published 8 months ago by Dr Paul Rhoads' Littell

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost story rather than horror.
This is a fairly good film in that it has quite good actors and an ok story but it's far from great. I had not heard of it before and had hoped for a good English teen horror to rival all the American ones. If your expecting anything like House of wax or Scream you will be disappointed. It's not scary or gory but it has a good story. Only rented at first because I was...
Published on 1 July 2006 by DVD Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost story rather than horror., 1 July 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fairly good film in that it has quite good actors and an ok story but it's far from great. I had not heard of it before and had hoped for a good English teen horror to rival all the American ones. If your expecting anything like House of wax or Scream you will be disappointed. It's not scary or gory but it has a good story. Only rented at first because I was surprised I had not heard of Billie Piper doing a recent horror film.

The plot follows 5 students who all end up in a rather large decaying house, typical student accommodation! Then it soon appears that the house has a dark past and there are other reasons the 5 students have been picked to be there. Not a classic but it could have been far worse and given the smallest of budgets this is ok for a nights viewing.

The DVD has a couple of extras. A 10 minute interview with the 5 main cast members on the story,cast and filming. It also has a 22 minute feature on Ghosts, mediums and psychics presented by Emma Catherwood from the film. Overall 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs some extra bang for your buck., 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
This was a film, and it wasn't that terrible. It had some good moments, and some nice talky bits. In my opinion the film would be improved if it had some explosions. Everyone loves a good boom and blast. That's why people like fireworks. Directors should think about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
saw most of this film on tv, it looked really good from what little I saw
Hence my buying the Dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Great for a creepy night in I normally collect 60s 70s style british horror but this is really quite good well worth a couple of quid to add to a collection no gore just good oldfashioned creepyness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Good film especially Billie piper and was fascinated by bonus extra with the spiritual guy at the end explaining the history of the location
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Vid, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Low cost film. Great plot and I am giving it 5 stars for an interesting film. It's not great, but it;s very good and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spirit Trap, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
An icey and grim ride of terror. Five students are given accomodation for their nearby studies at a college. The rent is cheap..but are they going to get alot more than what they had bargined for? Unjammed by a curious Nick, a sinister looking spirit clock starts to count down...but to what? Chilling things have happened in this house and soon Jenny, played by Billie Piper has to uncover a past much like her own. Will they escape the spirit trap before its too late? I highly reccomend this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and predictable, questionable acting!, 21 April 2012
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Considering Billie Piper went on to become a Doctor Who companion, I was shocked at how poor her acting was. The film is bearable for the first 30 minutes or so, but then I was throughly bored, the story became predictable, and the rest of the cast was awful. It is more of a ghost story than horror, but even with that in mind it wasn't particularly chilling. Not sure I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clap Trap, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
Five students are told about a house that they will share with eachother. One of them meddles with an old clock in the hallway, which is in fact a spirit trap. Soon they are all experiencing strange events, and soon all their lives are in danger, as they discover dark secrets about eachother, and their sanity starts to disintergrate
I've watched many good British horror films recently. This isnt one of them. I wanted to like it, but I found the characters either boring or annoying, and I struggled to stay awake as the story plodded along to its uninspired conclusion.
Their are a couple of occasions when its looks like the film is going to come to life and deliver the goods, notably the scene with the planchette, or Jennie's flashbacks of the house's dark history, but then it just shifts back into third gear.
Billie Piper is okay as the psychic Jennie, but Sam Troughton sleepwalks his way through the role of Nick, and Emma Catherwood and Luke Mabley are in turns irritating, or just plain O.T.T as drug dealing lovers Adele and Tom.
Very dissapointing, and as dull as dishwater. 2 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this film is class, 29 July 2006
By 
Mr. Sr Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit Trap [DVD] (DVD)
this film has a very good solid story. it has lots of surprises. the acting is superb (billie looks fantastic as always)a film not to be missed with good special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab49b744)

This product

Spirit Trap [DVD]
Spirit Trap [DVD] by Robert Goodman (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: 3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews