Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review
As usual, when looking for a review of a film on Amazon you have to wade through dozens of irrelevant ones for other format versions to find a smattering of fairly unhelpful ones of the actual product. This review is only for the blu ray version, and I won't bother discussing the film itself; if you're looking at blu ray versions you more than likely have already seen...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Chinatown Blue

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More than a new species...
I remember going to see this film in the cinema, twice. As a 14 year old kid who was interested in movies I have to say I was awestruck on my first viewing. I simply could not believe Comptuer Generated Imagery had come so far as to have a collosal dinosaur thing roam through the streets of Manhattan.

Now I'm older an wiser I realise the story is weak to say...
Published on 21 Dec. 2006 by Mr. A. J. MCHARDY


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More than a new species..., 21 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] (DVD)
I remember going to see this film in the cinema, twice. As a 14 year old kid who was interested in movies I have to say I was awestruck on my first viewing. I simply could not believe Comptuer Generated Imagery had come so far as to have a collosal dinosaur thing roam through the streets of Manhattan.

Now I'm older an wiser I realise the story is weak to say the least, dialogue has no real motivation and the character depth is shallow. The audience follow a simple plot from one Gozilla fiasco to another without having to think, but it must be said the visuals are fairly impressive. Being released a year after Men In Black this film really went all out on CGI to be the next big thing, as well as having the largest movie promotion budget at the time. It came at the stage where movies were changing, and relying more on the fantastic to reel in the sudiences. For this, it deserves my 3 star salute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monster Monster, 12 May 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
There's loads of fun to be had with this CGI monster fest. Sure, it gets a tad bogged down around the streets of New York but there's a big pay off inside Madison Square Garden and the final chase is really well done. Matthew Broderick is the charming geeky scientist brought in to examine the strange happenings and he's ably assisted by Maria Pitillo as an extremely perky journalist. The movie wastes five minutes of sub plot about French Nuclear testing which gives Jean Reno a reason to be around and to be fair his mysterious French military man is by far the best character. The CGI monster's are well rendered and chase around like mini T-Rex whilst the big fella looks good tearing up the town. Hank Azaria brings a bit of comic relief and not just because you spend a few minutes thinking "does he do voices from the Simpsons?" In the end, the geek finds love and the humans win....what's not to like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The hype was as big as the monster to start with!, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
It felt like this take on Godzilla was advertised for 2 years in advance of its actual release, every time (it seemed) I went to the cinema I was awestruck by little teaser trailers, in fact the one of the old guy fishing and hooking Zilla is a personal favourite...SIZE DOES MATTER! Love it I do. Sadly as most of us now know, the film didn't meet fans and critics expectations at all, but was the film done down by the hype and an expectation of a masterpiece for the genre?

Well it didn't help that is for sure, but taking aside that problem, the film only glimpses at what might have been. It has many great points that seem to have been forgotten, so sadly we are all too aware of the film's failings on the makers behalf. The build up in the film is excellent, the makers mount the tension in steady strokes, doing what all classic monster movie makers do, they have you waiting with gripping expectation of the creature by a series of scenarios and inventive dialogue. The sound is incredible, making it an essential viewing for those who cherish home surround cinema, while some of the shots and destruction of New York are well worth the viewers time.

But then? Well they throw the good work away by turning the film's focus away from the big lizard to a story line that was only fitting for the cartoon version of Godzooki. Thus rendering the film as a poor man's Jurassic Park, which quite frankly doesn't sit well. Matthew Broderick, Jean Reno and Hank Azaria all deserved better scripting, hell we all did!

It's not the evil stinker some would have you believe, it does have its moments of both good and bad, it is, by definition, very much a film split down the middle. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable monster movie as long as you're not expecting the iconic Godzilla look, 11 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It’s not a popular opinion on the internet (where even the original films are widely ridiculed), but the 1998 American version of Godzilla is, once it gets going, is a surprisingly enjoyable monster movie, albeit one that’s best thought of as a big budget throwback to the classic American rampaging creature features of the 50s that inspired Godzilla rather than a Godzilla film per se. As an origin story there are no monster mashes but plenty of “We’ve tried everything and nothing can stop it!” rampages and showdowns between the big feller and the military, be it submarine attacks or helicopter chases through the skyscrapers of New York, and if that’s all you’re expecting it’s a fun popcorn flick on an epic scale.

Not that it’s without some major problems. Yes, there’s some very bad bad dialogue (“That’s a LOT of fish!” “We’re going to need bigger guns”). Yes, Maria Pitillo’s heroine is annoying (as, sadly, are all the women in the film) and Harry Shearer’s comic relief too broad. But, after the first third, which doesn't really work as well as it should, once the monster appears it's quite enjoyable, and the last third with the Babyzillas in their nest in Madison Square Garden (and Jean Reno impersonating Elvis) is great fun, David Arnold’s superb score and camerawork pull off one of the most effectively executed false endings in a blockbuster and the then-surprisingly dark, rainy look for what was intended as a fun summer blockbuster now almost looks bright and sunny as designer gloom has become the default visual option for so many big budget fantasy franchises. Time has taken some of the shine off the FX but they’re still for the most part impressively photorealistic and while this Godzilla doesn’t have much personality he’s given a lot more screen time than in any other Godzilla film before or since.

But the giant dinosaur in the room will always be the fact that this is not the Godzilla that fans of the Japanese films know and love but has been given an ill-considered redesign from a guy in a suit to a giant iguana-like reptile. Changing the look of such an iconic movie monster is the kind of bad idea that’s like turning King Kong into a giant werewolf. What made it worse was the redesign was kept a big secret until the film’s release, building up unrealistic expectations of what the new look would be that were fuelled by the bigger is better marketing overkill. At first it was fun to see huge billboards on office blocks promising 'He's bigger than this building' or huge billboards covering a block saying 'His tail is this long,' but when they booked what seemed every single billboard in every capital city in the world with variations on the same theme, it got tired fast. It didn’t help that director Roland Emmerich boasted of completely changing Godzilla and producer Dean Devlin was giving self-aggrandizing interviews about how this was what the Toho Godzilla would have been like if they had access to modern effects and of bearing the awesome responsibility of making the year’s biggest hit and talking up the proposed sequels before it even opened, while the film’s classic first teaser trailer took a swipe at Jurassic Park’s takings by having the skeleton of a Tyrannosaurus Rex effortlessly crushed by Godzilla’s foot. Such self-satisfied hubris was just riding for a fall, though it’s worth noting the film still sold more tickets than the 2014 version and ended its run showing a decent profit even if it was a long, long way from the filmmakers’ unrealistic expectations.

Taken away from those unrealistic expectations and the fanboy outrage of 1998, it holds up pretty well. It’s certainly not disrespectful to the original films, bowing to the big feller’s origins by opening on a Japanese ship and it comes up with a credible explanation for why modern weapons don’t work – heat-seeking missiles aren’t much good when your target is a cold-blooded lizard. And Toho have made plenty of worse Godzilla movies, not least Godzilla 2000, which ushered in the last and most inconsistent series of Japanese movies (with this film’s Notzilla having a brief literally throwaway cameo that’s the highlight of the worst of them, Godzilla: Final Wars). As long as you’re not expecting a classic kaiju film but accept it as a Hollywood monster movie with (then) state of the art effects, it’s an enjoyable low-brainer that offers far more entertainment value than some modern summer blockbusters.

That the film’s overambitious box-office expectations weren’t met has always been apparent in the extras package the film received on DVD (where it was one of the first major releases) and Blu-ray. Where there was no shortage of material swamping the TV airwaves during the film’s release, little of it made it to home video. The DVD featured and audio commentary by visual effects supervisors Volker Engel and Karen Goulikas and creature designer Patrick Tatopoulos, theatrical trailer and the two teaser trailers, music video (Heroes), behind-the-scenes featurette (introduced in character by Harry Shearer but running only a third as long as the version that played on TV and omitting its interview with the original man inside the suit Haruo Nakajima), and a before and after f/x stills and stills gallery, all of which is less substantial than it sounds. The Blu-ray offered only the commentary, music video and featurette and adding a few extracts from Sony’s Toho Godzilla titles and a trivia game but offers a very substantial upgrade in picture and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review, 25 April 2011
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As usual, when looking for a review of a film on Amazon you have to wade through dozens of irrelevant ones for other format versions to find a smattering of fairly unhelpful ones of the actual product. This review is only for the blu ray version, and I won't bother discussing the film itself; if you're looking at blu ray versions you more than likely have already seen the film and liked it enough to upgrade, like me. Regarding the blu ray quality - it's excellent. I didn't find it excessively grainy and I have to say it's a hell of a lot clearer than the dvd version. Many complaints about this film were over the fact that you couldn't see enough because it was always dark and rainy. Not a problem here; still dark and rainy, but the sharpness of the blu ray image makes the details stand out. I got a lot more from this than from the dvd. The sound is better, even if you're not using a home cinema system and just a standard HD tv with dolby. The menu is entertaining, too - if you don't select immediately you get a cgi meander down the street to the accompaniment of huge, reverberating footsteps. The extras are a Godzilla trivia quiz, a visual effects commentary, Behind the Scenes with Charles Caiman, a round up of best Godzilla fight scenes, and a music video by the Wallflowers. It's widescreen format (2:40:1), audio in English, German and French DTS-HD MA, and subtitles for English (HOH and standard), Arabic, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Hindi, Norwegian, Swedish and Turkish. It loses a star because when all's said and done, I really like the old Japanese Godzilla stuff and would have liked a bit more in the movie related to those. But maybe someday someone will put out remastered blu rays of the originals, so I'll be able to relish them more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Film - I Can't See The Negatives!, 12 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Godzilla was first released to cinemas in 1998 and, frankly, you either loved it or you hated it! Me, I was a bit too young in my age to realise that it was, in fact, a remake/reimagining (whatever) of a Japanese series of films. On that note, I will say that I have seen one or two of the old Japanese incarnations and they're not bad. However, this film brought Godzilla to a new generation.

The film focuses on French nuclear testing in Polynesia and, during one such experiment, lizards become exposed to the rediation, thus creating 'Godzilla'. The creature makes its way from Polynesia to Panama and finally to the Eastern Seaboard of the United States and, finally, New York City itself. What is the creature doing in New York? Well, watch the film and find out!

In my opinion, it certainly makes for a good watch! There's a pretty good cast of actors, including Matthew Broderick, Jean Reno, Harry Shearer, Kevin Dunn and Hank Azaria (you should recognise two of these names from The Simpsons). The characters that these said actors portray are very believable and, in one particular case, absolutely hilarious!

The overall star of the film is Godzilla himself. Watching him virtually destroy New York City at will is cool and he is also very clever with his 'motive'. Watch the film and discover exactly what that is.

Finally, there are some flaws with the film. The most prominent one is the weather. One will notice that it rains 'profusely' throughout this film, and that's putting it lightly! Another flaw is the DVD quality. I own the DVD version of this and it really isn't that good. It's very blurry, especially where backgrounds are concerned. I realise that much of the film is dark anyway, but still, the DVD quality of this one is poor.

All things considered, Godzilla is a very good film - I really cannot see where the negatives stem from! The plot is pretty good, most to all of the actors are on top form and, well, it's Godzilla!

Thanks for reading this rant. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great at all., 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For something that is "Mastered in 4K", it looks rubbish on 4K (UHD) TV. I don't have non mastered version of this title, so I can't compare, but these are my finding base solely on this GODZILLA MASTERED in 4K.
Picture is too grainy, even in well lit scenes. Colours are not brilliant. CGI feels like it was made on a budget, very low budget.
I used PS3 as my Blu-ray player with All video settings turn on or on Full.

If you looking for a movie to watch on your brilliant 4K TV and experience that much more detail than standard Blu-ray, look for another title as this one will leave you disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Special Effects but not enough about Godzilla, 2 May 2004
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
If you've read my other reviews about Independence Day and Stargate, the same creators of Godzilla, you'll probably know that I enjoyed them both. But here they've not made such a good film. I saw this at the Cinema in 1998 and did enjoy it, don't get me wrong about that, but it didn't seem to have much detail about Godzilla himself. The Special Effects, being done by the same people who did Independence Day, are excellent, but the film seems to be more involved about the cast than the Monster. There are more things about this movie I don't like, like the script, being terrible, but apart from that this film features Good Special Effects, Entertainment and humour throughout. Hopefully the creators will make up for the mistake of Godzilla in their new film The Day After Tomorrow coming out later this year, which I am looking forward to. This film also features some very good extras on it, like The Special Effects Team Commentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth useing again, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like the film lots better than the new one disk works fine fast delivery of all goods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Godzilla - Mastered In 4K" - A Review Of The 4K BLU RAY Version..., 12 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla (4K Mastered) (Blu-ray)
The problem with special-effects films like "Godzilla" is 'age' - and in 2014 ("Mastered In 4K" or not) - 1998 seems like a very long time ago. But a few details first before I get into this…

I don't own a 4K TV - nor do I own the Sony BDPS6200 BLU RAY player with built-in 4K upscaling. So I suppose this review of "Godzilla Mastered In 4K" is compromised on 2 fronts. However I have what I suspect most film lovers have - a good Plasma TV and a half-decent BLU RAY player.

I’ve already bought and reviewed the BLU RAY for "Glory Mastered In 4K" just recently and loved it. I thought the improvement was huge on what went before. But unfortunately - I only sporadically see improvement in "Godzilla"(no matter how much fun it is)...and I suspect there are several reasons for this.

I’ve found that a certain percentage of BLU RAY reissues only make the print worse by exposing more – and to some degree that’s what’s happening here with 4K. A large amount of the shots are in a rain-sodden New York - or at night - or in tunnels - inside Madison Square gardens - out at sea in the dark - and mostly you simply get accentuated grain. There are so many scenes when proceedings just seem murky rather than clear – and it didn’t matter what Aspect I watched the film in. A lot of the time I felt like I wasted my money on this.

But let me be clear about the other side of the coin - there absolutely are moments when the picture quality is startlingly good – beautiful even. Broderick making a phone call on a payphone in the rain – Hank Azaria talking to his girlfriend in a coffee shop - earth worms coming up to the surface of the mud as he sends shocks into the clay – Jean Reno’s face as he turns around in a taxi on the docks…these were superbly filmic. But overriding all of that is another core problem…

Special-effects shots that were once state-of-the-art and thrilled audiences – now seem hammy and worse - obviously painted in. When you think of the recent "Transformers" films or "Man Of Steel" or "Avengers" or "Total Recall" and realize just how far effects have come on – the feeling that the giant reptile is actually there in New York no longer plays because spaces and hiding techniques now show up more than ever.

So is Mastered In 4K a gimmick? No it's not. The new format on BLU RAY is in its infancy for sure as far as releases and market interest is concerned - but judging on what I saw with "Glory" – 4K will eventually take over – and does make a difference if the print is properly restored.

It just appears that some films will benefit more than others. I would advise either avoid this one or try to view first before you buy…

PS: Titles MASTERED IN 4K as of April 2014 are:

1. Angels And Demons (2009)
2. Battle: Los Angeles (2011)
3. Elysium (2013)
4. Ghostbusters (1984)
5. Glory (1989)
6. Godzilla (1998)
7. The Karate Kid (2010)
8. Men In Black (1997)
9. Moneyball (2011)
10. The Other Guys (2010)
11. Pineapple Express (2008)
12. Spider-Man (2002)
13. Spider-Man 2 (2004)
14. Spider-Man 3 (2007)
15. The Amazing Spider-Man (2012)
16. Taxi Driver (1976)
17. Total Recall (2012)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla [UMD Mini for PSP] [1998] [US Import]
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews