Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new star for 2006
Stunning, just stunning. Make no bones, Teddy Thompson will be the name to look out for in 2006. This album is sensational from start to finish, 12 tracks of pure song-writing class, Separate Ways establishes Teddy Thompson as a star waiting to be catapulted into the stratosphere. It is, as they say, all killer no filler. The first half of this record is simply astounding...
Published on 1 Nov 2005 by Billy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
Dull and monotonus. A pity because he can perform well and has a beautiful voice when he likes. Very disappointing
Published 7 months ago by E A Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new star for 2006, 1 Nov 2005
By 
Billy (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
Stunning, just stunning. Make no bones, Teddy Thompson will be the name to look out for in 2006. This album is sensational from start to finish, 12 tracks of pure song-writing class, Separate Ways establishes Teddy Thompson as a star waiting to be catapulted into the stratosphere. It is, as they say, all killer no filler. The first half of this record is simply astounding and you’d have to go back as far as Dylan’s ‘Blood On The Tracks’ to better it. I genuinely cannot think of another album in recent memory that opens with so many strong songs and the quality never lets up. ‘Shine So Bright’ is an awesome opener – sparse backing, clever lyrics and a tempting little melody that gently pulls you in. It’s then followed by the rocking ‘I Should Get Up’ which leads into - anthem in waiting - ‘Everybody Move It’. For only his second full album Teddy sure knows his way round a song. As with all the songs here ‘Everybody Move It’ is catchy without ever being annoying, clever without ever being smug and simple without ever being too basic. The songs aren’t over produced or overly long, yet you’re never left wanting or expecting more. It is of course true that Teddy is of good song writing stock and being the son of Richard and Linda Thompson may go some way to explaining his brilliant knowledge of song craft, but Teddy isn’t trading on the family name and Separate Ways will mark him out as a star in his own right. I could literally go through every song on the album, they are all that good, but when you have something this special it doesn’t make sense to over analyse it – suffice to say that ‘I Wish It Was Over’, ‘Separate Ways’ and ‘Altered State’ are just some more of the gems. Some other famous musical offspring appear in the form of Rufus and Martha Wainwright yet even these established performers don’t overshadow Teddy and thankfully the guest spots don’t fall into the novelty category.
All the tracks here have that special quality of sounding like instant classics and old favourites after only a couple of listens and quite simply the quality of these songs will speak for themselves. Some people probably think that the last thing the world needs is another singer-songwriter, but when it is this good, believe me, the world does need Teddy Thompson.
After the release of his self titled debut album a few years back it would be fair to say that Teddy ‘made a solid start but could try harder’ yet now a couple of years on, with Separate Ways, there is no doubt that Teddy Thompson will be sitting pretty at the top of the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic, catchy, infectious, cynical and self-pitying - a classic!, 5 Sep 2006
By 
Douglas (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
In my experience great albums are typically not those that grab you on first listening, but those that creep up on you and finally get under your skin until you can't stop playing them. This has been my experience with Teddy Thompson's second album Separate Ways. I knew of him as Richard Thompson's son and, in fact, saw him accompany his father for a few songs some years ago in an unmemorable concert in Belfast. To hear a record so complete in its musical and lyrical content was, therefore, a huge surprise. The thirteen songs (including one hidden) are all played immaculately, incorporating different melodic, rhythmic and catchy styles. Teddy himself has a rather flat but lonesome and infectious voice. His father plays sublime electric guitar on some of the tracks while Garth Hudson of The Band also helps out on keyboards. It's arguably the lyrics, however, that mark this album down as a classic. It's been a long time since I've heard a songwriter bring such fresh, if cynical and self-pitying, insights into personal relationships and their almost inevitable breakdown. Moreover, despite his mere thirty years, he provides searingly contemptuous comment on the mundanity of modern life. This album is the best I've heard for sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Seperate Ways..NOW!, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
The reviews have said it all. This guy is going to be huge. There isn't a bad track on this album and the brilliant 'Altered State' will stay with you for a very long time to come. Not only can you here the quite wonderful Jackson Brown floating around in the beautiful atmospheric lyrics, but here and there on the album is Crowded House. Buy it now before everyone else does..you won't be dissapointed. And after you do, uncork the wine, turn the lights down and just revel in the best album of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original. Atmospheric. Emotive., 19 Dec 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard of this artist until I bought the sountrack from Brokeback Mountain on which Teddy makes two contributions. Probably as a result of that purchase, Amazon recommended this album. Not a duff track on it - not even the one you can only listen to after the last listed track (and several minutes of silence) have passed. I intend to play this album until my family beg for mercy - which, as they like it too, may be a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chip off the Old Block, 8 Jan 2006
By 
Graeme P. Houlden (Reading, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
I'm sure Teddy gets fed up with the Father/Son comparisons, but let's face, it was always going to happen. It can't be an easy thing being the offspring of such a brilliant songwriter and having to follow in Dad's footsteps - as I'm sure his cohorts Rufus and Martha would concur!
However, it is well worth anyone's time giving this album a severe listening. Teddy is not merely a Richard clone and the standard of songwriting displayed here is absolutely exemplary - as it was, though less consistently - on his previous solo outing.
I would guess that a lot of this album was written as a result of the passing of a relationship; God knows we've all been there! Sorry to hear that, but if it results in songs of the quality of I Wish It Was Over, Separate Ways and Altered States then maybe it was all worth it.
The family do appear - there is a lot of very familiar sounding guitar on the album. In fact, if I have a criticism it would be over the rather silly "hidden" track at the end - an attempt to shoe Mummy in to the album and not really necessary. Her albums are more than good enough to need this exposure!
Anyway, buy it. Not a bad moment throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upbeat and happy, 5 Feb 2006
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
I got this cd on a whim as i had never heard of him or his famous mother and father before and i just thought that the reviews on the cover sounded good, but i'm sure glad i picked this one up.
It's a very interesting mixture of country music and feel good rock songs; i especially love the song "Altered State" it's a brilliant upbeat, happy sounding song. Another of my favourites is "No Way To Be" as i think it sends out a very good message. ive only had this cd about two days now, and i truely love it already.
Every note of music and guitar/drums, whatever may be playing in any song at any particular moment fits perfectly.
I'm not very good at writing these reviews, and i havent done so in a while, but be sure that if you're looking for a good, happy-sounding cd to really brighten up your day you really can't go wrong with this one, this really truely is a brilliant cd(!!!!) and i'd definatley say to check it out especially at the price its at now you simply cant go wrong.
I'll be sure to check out his debut cd very, very soon!
Brilliant find!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 3 May 2006
By 
J. Stranks (Rio de Janeiro Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
Have been a fan of his dad's for decades, so I was a bit wary of what the son might come up with - but what a delight. This album is a joy to listen to, with the title track and 'Think again' meriting special mention. Beautifully understated arrangements and great instrumentals (check out Richard on 'Think again' - reminiscent of what he did on Sandy Denny's version of 'Blackwaterside') accompany really good lyrics and moving delivery. Will certainly get more of his albums soon. My advice to anyone else is 'Get this one!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Shines So Much It Hurts, 3 Dec 2005
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
You usually get an honest opinion in the customer reviews section and I have to thank the first person who reviewed this album for their excellent feedback. This is a truly beautiful melodic album and hopefully will be like James Blunt, a late charger. He deserves every success for 2006 so let's hope many more of you will read these reviews and take our word that this truly is a master class of singer-songwriting !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Teddy not daddy, 27 May 2006
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
I saw Teddy Thompson at the Wedgwood Rooms in Portsmouth. He's charming, witty, quirky, and above all he can sing - the words come from his heart. 'Separate Ways' the album's title and you know he's been through it, stood out in the rain and waited. 'I should get up', how many of us have been there, fighting the blankets knowing that we ought to rise but wanting the comfortable sanctuary. Insistent, however, there is no sanctuary here, we must get up. With no backing except his guitar 'Sorry to see me go', perhaps cornily, he sang this as an encore at Portsmouth, is simple and soulful. Track 4, `I wish it was over'; haunting, you know he doesn't really mean it. Not all the songs however are about lost love, 'Everybody move it', this is a party, no frowns allowed and I defy anybody to sit still for `That's enough out of you'; superb guitarist by the way. I love the richness of `Altered State' with the guitar of you-know-who in the background, which brings me on to a plea. Please people, stop, referring to RT in your write-ups. This is Teddy not daddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 20 July 2006
This review is from: Separate Ways (Audio CD)
Every now and then an album comes along that quietly sneakes up on everyone until we are all talking about it. This is one of those albums. Brilliantly crafted well written songs with help from his dad and among others Rufus Wainwright. The track "Everybody Move It" is just sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Separate Ways
Separate Ways by Teddy Thompson (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews