Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2005
I bought myself a copy of this album after seeing 65daysofstatic live earlier this week, and it has been playing pretty much constantly since then.
The best comparison for this bands sound would be to someone like Mogwai, only more - the guitars and some insane drumming taking a Mogwai type sound up a level.
most of the songs do take a minute or so to get into full swing, slowly building up layers of all the different instruments, some tastefully simple piano, background atmospheric noises, some frantic guitar playing and some very cool drumming - live at least via a live drummer and a drum machine playing together (if i am not mistaken at least) all building together to make the song as a whole.
The highlight of this album is definatly the final track, Radio protector, starting with some very nice piano playing slowly increasing and building, the other instruments kick in as the piano builds, going from simple single note lines into full chords and onwards with bass and so on adding to the mix. This song just has a huge, awesome sound to it, one of the big epic sounding songs i wish i knew how to write but never can get anywhere near.
I have not yet heard the last album, but if it is anywhere near as good as this one i will definately be buying myself a copy soon. this is definately worth the £8.99, and if you get the chance, please do take the time to see this band live too.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Listen to any 65dos and you'll be taken so far from mainstream music, you'll be on another planet! I listen to them every day on my walk to and from work and I never, ever grow tired of their albums. They are just so different, playing with soft and loud (the first couple of play-throughs I thought I'd hit the pause button by mistake but no, it was just them being quiet), violins and synths, garbled radio voices, punishing guitars. I tried to explain it to a mate once and gave up; 'You'll just have to listen' I said. He did and is now a fan too. Top track - Radio Protector
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2006
The Fall of Math was probably one of the best albums ever. And that is not an exageration; for anyone who likes their music beautiful, powerfully euphoric, stunningly creative, and rocking, you simply couldn't get better. Could you?
With One Time for All Time 65 days have done the impossible and improved on perfection. And never has an album title been so utterly apt.
The sound on this album has changed subtly, its certainly not dramatic, but with time to listen it is for the best. For those of you who like to see a band morph like a chameleon from one album to the next this will be a disappointment, but for a band who's sound is so revolutionary it is hard to imagine how it might evolve in any case. The songs are longer here than on the Fall of Math, and more subtle in many ways, taking more time to build and create the layers of swirling brilliance that'll blow you sideways. The drum n bass element is stronger than before, but listen to tracks like 'await rescue' and the awe inspiring '65 doesn't understand you' and you'll see that this can only be a good thing. One Time for All Time is more of a grower than the first album, it'll take a few listens to really crack it open but as you listen you hear more and more. Every listen gives you something new to grin wildly about, and as you gradually progress past that point of disbelief attained previously you'll wonder what the hell is going on. How could it be this good?
It is this good.

One Time for All Time reaches new pinacles of brilliance, a true achievement for such an outstanding band, and personally i am waiting with baited breath to see what jaw dropping wall of sound they unleash on us next. Until then, put this in your CD player, crank the volume up, hit repeat, and never leave the room again.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
Well this band is a young band from Sheffield, if you like Mogwai, Aeroegramme, Mountain Men Anonymous, you love this.
Instrumental throughout, here is the a band that mixes pre recorded loops with live music. The drummer is a genuis, to keep it all together( seen them live top stuff)with so much going on.
The band take you on a rollercoaster ride, from heavy guitar riffs, swapping into drum and bass and trance, back to rocking out again.
2 albums so far and both are stunning, English underground music rises again. A must buy, all my friends got this album for xmas, they all loved it.
Buy this and buy the 1st album and see them live you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
Wow.... the second album by instrumental rock band 65daysofstatic is a jawdropping burst of intense guitar riffs, crunching drums, and splitting glitchy breakbeats that will leave the listener hitting the repeat button.

On their first album The Fall of Math, 65dos introduced their sound to the listening world, and most of us were left gagging for more of the same. Thankfully they haven't given us The Fall of Math part two, but have instead allowed the electronic side of their music to flourish, leading to album number two having alot more of the synthesisers and glitching that made most people love them.

We still get the huge rocking crescendo's of noise and guitar, but I think this album is tamer than their debut. Thats no slur on them though, as its probably a more focussed sounding record.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
"one time for all time" is the album i recommend to my friends when introducing the current post-rock genre, and i think that says more about an album, that is 5 years old, than anything. i currently still listen to this album as much, or more, than any other post-rock album that i own, so i most definitely recommend it to anyone either trying break into the post-rock genre, or anyone who is expanding their tastes in the post-rock genre.

one time for all time, technically the second album released by 65daysofstatic, is a sonic achievement. beginning with a piano solo over a slowly building drum, the album ebs and flows to a crescendo when, as others have pointed out, it hits the final track radio protector. overall this album functions remarkably well, letting each single track function individually, yet contributing to the overall album as a cohesive whole.

personally, i enjoy the electronic touches that are present in 65daysofstatic's music. i haven't seen this influence in any other artist. i have heard either pure electronica, or either mogwai/godspeed your black emperor style bands. the difference with 65daysofstatic is that there is a delicate balance between the two styles- though there are electronic elements such as what sounds like drum machines, the general form of the songs are more similar to a mogwai song of the loud/soft style (listen to "sine wave" by mogwai). 65daysofstatic substitute the conventional instruments you would expect in a post rock band with electronic ones, which is what makes them unique.

-EBF
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2005
This album is just what i`ve been hunting for, it has the rock and the electro of a great band. its loud and different but at the same time quiet and meaningful.
its a real joy to listen to as each time you listen u hear something new.
just buy it it will amaze you!!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
wondering aimlessly through town, went to music zone, heard this unique sound coming outta the speakers and was compelled to buy it - that's a rare thing for me - so this baby gets 5 stars by default!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.01

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)