Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Hitstory' - The Legacy Of The King, 20 Nov. 2005
By 
F. B. Quinn (Caddington, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
This triple CD 'Hitstory' comprises 'Elvis' 30 No.1 Hits'; '2nd To None' and 'The Story Continues'. First of all it is fantastic value for money should you not have the first two discs. It makes a great Christmas present and above all features mostly Elvis at his best. The laughing version of 'Are You Lonesome Tonight' on Disc 3 mentioned by another reviewer is an absolute gem and the most requested track by fans for re-issue by his record company Sony BMG. Contrary to that review it was recorded at the absolute peak of Elvis' comeback in Las Vegas during August, 1969. Elvis was even
slimmer than he was in the 1950's, looked fantastic and his stage presence/charisma/voice overwhelming.
All of the big hits are here and one listen will prove why they are timeless.
If you are a newcomer to Elvis then this CD set is a great way to start any collection. On this set, Elvis sings in many genres from pop, to country to R & B to Ragtime to rock 'n'roll to gospel. This is what made Presley 'King' and he remains so.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis is still the King!, 29 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
For those who have brought the "Number 1's" and "2nd to None" compilation albums this new release will be a little frustrating, as both of these previous releases make up discs one and two with only a 3rd disc offering anything new.
That said, the 3rd disc does have some amazing songs on it and if you haven't brought the aforementioned compilation albums then this is an essential purchase.
There are some amazing tracks spread over the 3 discs on offer; some of Elvis's earliest recordings are here as well as his more popular recordings (over 30 numbers and 59 top ten hits), in addition to the recent remixes of "A Little Less Conversation" and "Rubbernecking." If you've never brought an Elvis CD before then this is the one for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always the king, 14 Nov. 2005
By 
John Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
if you buy just one elvis record it should be this. the voice,the power the magesty that was elvis presley from jailhouse rock through its now or never to way down, forget the idiot review regarding the laughing version of are you lonesome tonight, it was a joke on stage not a drug filled idiot forgetting his lines.
how many of todays artists will be around 50 years after there first recording? forget all the idiots who mimick the fat elvis in a white jump suit, he may have been on the slide at the end but the voice rarely deserted him as the later hits prove. way down he might have been at the end but as hitstory proves he was not out. buy buy buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
This 3CD set is the ultimate collection of Elvis' RCA recordings with a few Sun recordings added here and there. The omission of 'Blue Moon of Kentucky' is baffling, given 'That's All Right (Mama)' is on disc 2, but never mind. For those who wish to complete their collection with Elvis' Sun recordings, then I advise Sunrise. Also missing is 'I Was The One' from 1956 which was the original b-side of 'Heartbreak Hotel' but became a hit in its own right as people flipped the single to get more of the exciting young recording star. 'I Was The One' can be found remastered on the excellent Early Elvis

I can understand those who are frustrated having purchased discs 1 and 2 independently ('Elvis No 1#s' and 'Second To None'), but I believe price per pound makes the re-purchase for disc 3 worthwhile.

If you are looking for some recommendations for more introspective and interesting Elvis recordings, look no further than the following:
> From Elvis In Memphis (Legacy Edition) (which features the brilliant 'Any Day Now' which was a b-side of the single 'In The Ghetto.')
> Separate Ways (which includes the title track penned by Elvis' minder and companion, Red)
> Peace In The Valley - The Complete Gospel Recordings (which includes 'How Great Thou Art')
> Hits Like Never Before (Essential Elvis Vol.3) (which among the outtakes, we have 'I Beg Of You') The Essential Elvis CDs are a must for all serious Elvis fans with outtakes and alternative versions of his pre-army 1956 - 1958 recordings).

Elvis recorded a great deal of songs prior to going in the army so that RCA could keep the momentum of his career going. Sadly, his return from the army led to Elvis becoming more of a Radio 2 artist than staying a hot Radio 1 rocker and the start of an endless movie period but still we had some super recordings of the highest standard. Included on these discs are '(Marie's The Name) His Latest Flame,' 'The Girl of My Best Friend' (on Disc 3) and the incredible 'A Mess of Blues.' A couple of 1958 recordings were held back in the vaults and released during a barren time in the 60s as The Beatles et al dominated the scene - one example being the superb 'Ain't That Loving You Baby' (Disc 3). The haunting 'All That I Am' can also be found on Disc 3.

A word about the recordings themselves. RCA were very particular about giving Elvis all the help he needed by adding to the musician side where necessary. Elvis arrived from Sun records with Scotty and Bill - this wasn't enough as Elvis drifted from mid-west and southern country-esque songs to mainstream rock'n'roll. Also, RCA presented Elvis with a first-class backing in The Jordineres. The later 1965 - 1977 recordings then became deeper with the assistance of other session musicians but what is less-known is that Colonel Tom Parker, Elvis' Manager, would insist RCA producers bring Elvis' vocal forward on the mixes of the master tapes, which is why Elvis appears always at the very front of several of his 1968 - 1977 recordings in particular - with the digital remastering with these 3CDs, it is less apparent but just listen to 'There Goes My Everything,' 'Suspicious Minds,' 'Suspicion' and even 'In The Ghetto.' By the time we get to 'Moody Blue,' the musicians are far behind in the mix and Elvis' vocal is so far forward. Exceptions to Colonel's involvement appear to be 'Way Down' and 'Promised Land' which both have more bass-ier mixes - thank goodness. The Las Vegas period was interesting and we have some outstanding live recordings in 'I Just Can't Help Believin'' and 'An American Trilogy.' And for me 'The Wonder of You' from 1970 captures Elvis enjoying the stage shows.

At the end of the day, Elvis was the king of rock'n'roll and for me, listening to the remastered version of 'Burning Love' encapsulates this perfectly. He never lost his interest in rock'n'roll even though his Manager took him down a different path - one too many Vegas shows me thinks. In the early 1970s, Elvis was the hot ticket in town - it was exciting to see Elvis in concert, and for TV audiences Aloha from Hawaii via Satellite (Legacy Edition) is perhaps the finest example. And I must mention his Elvis Presley - '68 Comeback Special [Deluxe Edition] [DVD] [2004] which is Elvis emerging from a few wilderness years and just prior to his live Vegas period - his performance of 'If I Can Dream' on the TV special and included on disc 2 as a studio version is simply unbelievable. It was shame that the great man never toured the UK but his legacy is not tarnished as a result.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A GREAT REMINDER', 11 April 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
'august 16th 1977' was without question one of the saddest moments in terms
of the loss of any single artist I can remember, we'd lost 'THE KING'
his music has lived on and will continue to do so, his music will be
discovered over and over again.
this 3-disc compilation is a perfect keep-sake with so many of his best
known hits on board, even if like myself you have much if not most of his
music on a number of 'CD's, owning such a valuable account of so many 'hits'
down the years is priceless.
'keep 'rocking'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A solid three set of Elvis., 21 Oct. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
I have as yet to buy this three cd set of Elvis, as I already have the first two cds mentioned in this set. There is no disputing the fact that with a ninety track listing this set really is a tremendous buy, but is it just me that thinks that if I have to hear some of the early rock n' roll stuff again, I will crack up. If I never have to hear "Hound Dog", "Rip it up" "Blue suede shoes" "Reddy teddy" and other similar songs again, it would be no great loss, and as someone who has nearly every Elvis LP and CD released in the last forty years, I am sure that I am not alone in this frame of thought. I see this is an RCA product, I thought that BMG have all the rights to the Elvis catalogue, and I for one would like to see something a little more rarer, being released. In the year following the death of Elvis, when his records were flying out of the shops, RCA deleted the album "Hits of the 70's" which not only stunned the fans, it stunned the retailers at the time, as it was their best selling item. Maybe someone at BMG or RCA could re-release this album again and expand it with a few more 70's tracks for today's market, now that would be innovative. Do'nt get me wrong, this is still a five star release, and I will probably get as a Xmas stocking filler, but the majority of these tracks I already have. For someone who is just new to Elvis, this item is essential, and well worthy of a five star rating. Yours, Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING OF ROCK "N" ROLL- ELVIS IS BACK!!!!!!!!!, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
elvis presley is of course the one and only,he is a legend and this album explains the reasons behind elvis' success.
many still think elvis is alive and in some ways that is very true he will regin on for ever more and so will his music!
please get this album to show how much you care for him
elvis was a of course just a one off super-star and it's so wrong people try to copy him in every way.
ELVIS PRESLEY 4-EVR!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the magic.............., 3 Sept. 2007
By 
A. Thorpe "crossan8" (Cheadle Cheshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
Of Elvis Presley, this is the definitive greatest hits album,3 disc's of the brilliant,brilliant Elvis from the mid 50s to the mid 70s some great lesser know songs can be found on disc's 2 and 3.I cannot recommend this enough,I already had the first disc which is the 30# number 1s album and also have the new album Elvis the king but this is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THE BEST GREAT COMPILATION, 7 May 2014
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
This is the one to have if you want a really good compilation of Elvis one minor complaint pity there not in chronilogical order
also would have liked a few more of his early sun recordings even so this is an excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 15 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Hitstory (Audio CD)
'It does as it says on the tin.' As I did not have any Elvis CDs in my collection, I went for this one. It is a 3Disk Set with 91 tracks and covers a wide range of Songs - Heartbreak Hotel,1956 to Way Down,1976. Great Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitstory
Hitstory by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews