Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BananaDrama!
It's been more than a decade since Bananarama has had a UK release, and this album proves that the wait was definitely worthwhile. "Drama" must be the best album Bananarama has released as a duo. It has the best production values, and each song is laced with melodic pop tunes that only Bananarama can deliver!
"Move In My Direction" begins the set with its slinky...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by D. Chandranayagam

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks but plenty of filler
I've been a casual fan of Bananarama since the early 'Eighties, and it was quite a surprise to hear them back on UK radios after a long hiatus. I decide to give the album a try and I'm not sorry I did, although I think other reviewers are being far too generous in their praise - I cannot imagine how anyone could say this is a stronger album than...
Published on 5 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BananaDrama!, 15 Nov 2005
By 
D. Chandranayagam "dmc" (KL, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
It's been more than a decade since Bananarama has had a UK release, and this album proves that the wait was definitely worthwhile. "Drama" must be the best album Bananarama has released as a duo. It has the best production values, and each song is laced with melodic pop tunes that only Bananarama can deliver!
"Move In My Direction" begins the set with its slinky sexy beats. A laidback poppy number, said to be quite Kylie-esque, with sweeping strings and melodic harmonies, the song sets the tone for the rest of the album's glamourous pop feel. Practically every song is a standout, notably the singalong chorus of "Look On The Floor (Hypnotic Tango)" (the second single), "Waterfall" (lush and swoonsome), "Frequency" (a cool funky 80s retro groove), "Lovebite" (a firm favourite among fans) and "Your Love Is Like A Drug" (by far the best number on the album).
Also making a surprise appearance is "Middle Of Nowhere", a song which appeared on their 1999 demo tape. This version blows the demo version out of the water, with very laid back and bossa nova-ish vibe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GIRLS ARE BACK TO SHOW HOW IT'S DONE!!, 19 Nov 2005
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
The album opens with the excellent first single "Move In My Direction" a great track but not the strongest, believe me nearly every track on this CD is worthy of being a single. Second single "Look on The Floor" is like a hybrid of Madonna,Kylie and the Nana's and sounds great.
"Waterfall" is very Goldfrappy, it seems "Cheesy Bananarama" are no more and the girls are now looking to take the electro pop crown. The tracks are filled with edgy techno beats and great hooks and the girls vocals are as laid back as ever. Super!
It's hard to pick favourites but "Feel For You " is strong lyrically and its bassline will have you tapping in no time. Sara and Keren have not said goodbye to pure pop, this is shown in "Don't Step On My Groove".
The girls only take a breather once with the floaty summery "Middle of Nowhere" but are soon back on the dancefloor with the belter "I Love The Way" which wouldn't be out of place on a Hed Kandi compilation.
Where most CD's waiver towards the end, I think this is the strongest part of the album. "Love Bite" and "Rules of Attraction" are are both hard hitting pop dance tracks and pave the way for the Nana's crowning glory on this CD "Your Love is Like a Drug" it's brilliant! This track could be dispatched to the clubs, and have the whole place up on their feet and begging for more! Fingers Crossed and maybe this could be released as a single (the remixes would be awesome).
The final two tracks are not really necessary but a nice bonus. A remix by Marc Almond of "Venus" is a glorious dancefloor filler and the Solasso Mix of "Really Saying Something" proves that their music can cut it on todays club scene.
The music press have given some great reviews for the CD and I can back them up. The most sucessful girl group ever are back, better than ever and a force to be reckoned with!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im Not a Fan... but...., 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
This is really a fabulous little record. 'Your Love is Like a Drug' is a dancefloor hit waiting to happen... I can imagine it being played in clubs like BEYOND - I promise!
There are some brilliant tracks here, and this deserves to do really well, it doesn't take itself too seriously, and sounds quite goldfrapp-like at times. The vocals are great, and there are no cheesy lyrics. Its the sort of record Rachel Stevens would love to make.
THis might be the best £10 you spend on CDs at the moment. It really is a great party album.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move in their Direction.., 19 Nov 2005
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
Drama is Bananarama's first UK released studio album for over a decade, and as such, it certainly does not dissapoint. The classy, toe-tapping pop of the two singles is echoed in possible 3rd single, Lovebite, whilst elsewhere, the album goes more electronica, with Rules of Attraction, Frequency and the beautifully chilled out Waterfall. But lover's of Kylie-esque fun pop need not fear, as they are catered for amply by the catchy Feel For You and Don't On My Groove. As the album nears its close, it hits the dancefloor, with Your Love is like a drug, and the two old but new hits, remixes of Venus and Really saying something.
This is the ultimate 'going out' album, so stick it on and get it the mood! Bananarama are back at their enjoyable best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Dance Pop Album From the UK's Best Girl Group, 14 Nov 2005
By 
R. Mawkes "koochie12" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
You have probably already heard the first two singles Look on The Floor (Hypnotic Tango) and Move In My Direction...and the good news is that the rest of the album is equally as good (if not better!)
The Goldfrapp-esque Waterfall is slinky and sexy, Frequency is a suprisingly radio friendly pop tune with a breezy chourus that features nice guitar work. The next two tracks, Feel For You and Don't Step On My Groove, take you back to the dance floor in style. Modern pop-dance never sounded so good.
Middle of Nowhere - while it doesn't quite fit well with the album - is a sweet summery, mid tempo track - that I am glad to finally have on cd.
The album take the electro edge up a step for the last three album tracks, the stomping Lovebite, the funky Rules of Attraction and the old school sounds of Your Love Is Like A Drug.
Also included are two really good remixes of Venus and Really Saying something that have been club favorites this year.
After two patchy albums - Bananarama have really delivered this time - a fantasically fun, stylish and modern pop masterpiece - shame it will largely go unnoticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars welcome back ladies, 13 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
If the first two singles, Move in my direction and Look on the floor, plus a stomping new version of Really Saying Something, are anything to go by, I am really excited to see Bananarama returning back to the charts, 12 years after their last top 40 hit in the UK, in top form and looking sultrier than ever. I hope these new tunes gain Bananarama a new legion of fans as well as satisfy those who waited patiently since their Exotica album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's no drama here, 15 Nov 2005
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
If you like to be happy, have a right-off laugh with your mates, and just a brilliant good time, then this is the MUST-HAVE album of '05.
Packed with dance hits and great beats, this album is perfect for home entertaining. The girls are back and continue to amaze us! They look gorgeous and their vocals are really strong. Thanks girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 16 Nov 2005
By 
JW (Scottsdale, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
This CD is awesome. The Nanas know how to write a well crafted pop song, and this entire CD delivers. The songs sound fresh and contemporary, but each of them still have a great 'hook' that makes you want to groove and sing along. This is purely a dance-pop record, and one of the best in that category I've bought in a long time. "Move In My Direction" was a great single but I was blown away when I first heard/saw the video for "Look On The Floor". This is one of the best Nana tracks ever. The new versions of "Venus" and "Really Sayin' Something" are both outstanding. It's hard to pick fav's from the other tracks because unlike most CD's I buy these days, the whole CD is strong from start to finish. "Middle Of Nowhere" has a great casual/island sort of vibe going on, but the rest of the tracks are pure masterful pop. "Lovebite", "Don't Step On My Groove" (which as a slight disco feel) and "Waterfall" (which has some more unique vocals than other Nana tracks) are outstanding. I live in the U.S. and downloaded this (legally) cause I couldn't wait for the CD to arrive, and I bought two copies off Amazon for me and a friend. If you are a Nana fan BUY THIS CD, if you ever listened to the Nanas in the past but haven't lately BUT THIS CD, and if you are just a fan of good dance music and don't listen to the Nanas BUT THIS CD. You will not be disappointed!! Support that Nanas and buy this CD. Madonna is getting tons of press for her new "Confessions" CD and I bought it, and it is not nearly as strong (or as fun) a dance record as "Drama". Thanks Sarah & Keren!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All The Drama with BananaRama..., 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
Drama is the 9th album by Bananarama and was released in 2005.
It features eleven tracks along with a remix of their 1986 smash hit "Venus" (done by Soft Cell's Marc Almond) and a 2005 remix of their 1982 hit "Really Saying Something", an underground bootleg club hit produced by Solasso.

Drama is a comeback for Bananarama members Keren Woodward and Sara Dallin and is their first album to be released in their native UK since 1993. The album's first single "Move in My Direction" debuted on the UK Singles Chart at Number 14, also becoming their first UK Top 40 hit since 1993. The second single, "Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango)", also charted at Number 26 at the UK Top 40, and climbed to Number 2 on the U.S. Hot Dance Club Play chart as an import, becoming Bananarama's biggest U.S. dancefloor hit since "Venus" two decades earlier.

The album mostly incorporates pop and eurodance musical styles, with some synthpop elements and was produced in Sweden and the UK.

This is their best album up to date along with VIVA(2009) and WOW!(1987).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it said on the label, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. L. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drama (Audio CD)
I wanted the CD and the price / condition were acceptable, delivery and ease of transaction was perfect, would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drama
Drama by Bananarama (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews