Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Melodic Black Metal Album, 26 Jun 2001
This review is from: Stormblast (Audio CD)
dimmu borgir have been getting worse since this ultimate release from the kings of melodic black metal. this is definately a very melodic album, although cheesy in many parts, they seem to get their music together very well. it is fairly well produced also, which means you can actually make the most of the perfectly written keyboard melodies and guitar solos. the keyboardist, Tristan, is better than Mustis, who is superb, yet Tristan must be my favourite keyboard player of all time...for example the intro to the first track is superb. he has a very classical style which i like. the guitarist, Astennu, is also without a doubt the best of his genre. the drumming is carefully set out, with the snare carefully choosing rhythms to support the out-of-control keyboard parts...this album totally blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a remake that works, 3 July 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stormblast 2005: +DVD (Audio CD)
stormblast 2005 is a remake of the bands classic 1996 album but the band felt needed to be remade as they were never happy with the sound given the original time restraints and budget and their lack of knowledge on what it took to make an album they way they wanted.Black metal purists have indeed ran for the hills on the news that the album was set for cleaner production and a more majestic sound but the band have stated that this is the stormblast that they are most proud of,and i have to admit that this is a spine tingling beauty.

The original album had a cold atmosphere about it,that atmosphere remains more or less but the sound here is crystal,each instrument can be singled out and the drumming from the legendary hellhammer is one of the great improvements,the guy is one of the true greats,most of the original line up from the first album have jumped ship bar shagrath and silenoz and the band are indeed a greater force these days so thats a good sign.

The albums sound as i stated is vast here,the keyboards are lush,the arrangements tighter and the use of choir adds to what was a clinical album anyway and in that this is possibly better than the original,all the tracks just sound glorious ,plus you get two bonus tracks for your trubles and a bonus dvd of a concert at ozzfest to an uninterested crowd perhaps but the band slay away,51 minutes of operatic black metal is what you get here and these days no one does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormblast (Audio CD)
This is the second release from Dimmu Borgir's illustrious career. As you would expect this album contains keyboard heavy black metal with a folkish touch. You can see the progression from the bands debut album 'For All Tid'. This is album is generally considered a classic underground black metal release. My personal favourites on this album are the magnificent title track 'Stormblast' and the amazing 'Broderskapet Ring'. Besides this all of the tracks are excellent and this is definitely worth getting if you like Dimmu Borgir or symphonic black metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL PRODUCED BLACK METAL RELEASE!!!, 19 July 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormblast 2005: +DVD (Audio CD)
One of the best BM releases, with a very good production!
Strong songs, harsh but with great atmospherics & melodies - Shagrath's finest vocals, clear, audible bass, thunderous drums from Hellhammer (lots of double bass flurries) and GREAT guitar tones/riffs and fills.
This is very heavy BUT also extremeley melodic by BM standards, with a real big, epic feel in places.
The keyboards are more restrained with less symphonics, used instead to add atmosphere and FX to the brew.
There's no authentic orchestra present but this doesn't detract at all.
Lyrics are all in native Norwegian which is perhaps why the vocals sound so fantastic here!
This album actually sounds quite medieval, despite there being none of that type of instrument present - just a general feeling similiar to Satyricon or Burzum, but MUCH better produced!
It's certainly very different to In Sorte Diaboli or Death Cult Armageddon - great albums but this just sounds, well, so NORWEGIAN!!!
The bonus DVD is excellent with a professionally filmed concert set, and a decently animated menu.
Essential for any Dimmu Borgir/Symphonic or Melodic Black Metal fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic and evil ??????, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Stormblast (Audio CD)
Well, this album is a tough one. Don't get me wrong its fantastic !!! i love the old DIMMU sound and the new one (bonus for me i feel, as so many others seem to be split on that). This album is all in these Norweigans native tongue which gives it a different quality to new DIMMU albums. The production quality is not the best in the world but it really adds to the atmosphere of this great album. This album in all honesty is not even very fast paced for original black metal, but without a doubt what makes this album a true classic is the wonderful use of piano strewn across it giving out an almost romantic feel. Well, like i said this is a tough one to review but not because it not good. The weird thing is with this is that whilst listening you may be inclined to pledge your soul to satan or it may want to make you serenade your girlfriend, weird.

Get it now and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stormblast (Re-Recorded), 3 May 2006
By 
D. S. Van Strien (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormblast 2005: +DVD (Audio CD)
I would give this album a 4 star on the basis that it is a re-recording of the best Dimmu Borgir album and for me one of the best black metal albums. It has great guitars, drums from Hellhammer (Mayhem), some great keyboards and the black metal singing (although not as extreme as the original).

This album is only lacking the atmosphere with the keyboards and the hypnotic guitars on the original which was the main good point of the album. Also the guitars sound too produced and not like they have been played while recorded. They sound like they have messed around with too much. The drumming is good, but it sounds like they have edited and changed it alot. Thats the main problem with this album - theyve taken the amazing things out and put worse things to replace it.

I would suggest this album to more mainstream metal fans, as they will like this as it has good sound production and is played very well and is not to heavy. I would also suggest it to people wanting to listen to some different kind of metal but not going too far off the radar.

But for black metal fans stick to the original unless you want to hear what theyve changed.

It is interesting and has got a good DVD, but for me I prefer the original for the beautifull keyboards, vocals, guitars and drumming. I personally think the original is miles better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rerecorded but still great, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Stormblast 2005: +DVD (Audio CD)
Well...... where to begin, ok yes this is a rerecorded version of the original brilliant stormblast. The original stormblast was lush with atmosphere and piano this album is very different. There is still plenty of atmosphere to be had here but this album is more about crushing guitars and amazing drum work. Some songs sound similar in places to the old ones whereas some bare no resemblance to the old ones at all which is actually quite nice. The production is fantastic and there is still some great piano work on show here again. I would not recommend in choosing between the stormblast albums i would just buy them both as they are both great in their own seperate ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good album, 5 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormblast (Audio CD)
This album to me is indeed excellent, however its very early black metal and can sound slightly dated.
This is in no way comparible to the new Dimmu Borgir.
However both good for different reasons in my opinion.
This album is much slower than what the band are doing
these days, and is lets say less "Studio" sounding, much more raw. The only negative thing to me is Shagraths lead guitar work,
its almost non existant and i cant really make it out.
However the keyboards are excellent and very well played giving some haunting melodies to this partiular album.
Get this album simply to hear what can only be discribed as
true black metal. Nice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Recorded Masterpiece, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Kevin Blake (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormblast 2005: +DVD (Audio CD)
I’m not a black metal fan per se as, while I find the music often interesting, I usually can’t stand the vocals. However, there are two bands who are the exceptions for me: Dissection and the awesome Dimmu Borgir. I have never bought into the purist black metal mindset which dictates that, for it to be “authentic” and “evil,” it has to sound like garbage -- as an artist of any stripe, surely you should want your music to sound the best it possibly can? Thankfully, both Dissection and Dimmu eschew this silly and self-defeating mindset, and an excellent production sets these bands apart.

On this basis, I can understand why Shagrath and Silenoz chose to re-record their 2nd album because they were dissatisfied with the original production. Purists will carp and complain, but the re-recorded version offers a superb sound – truly MASSIVE guitars, thunderous drumming courtesy of the legendary Hellhammer, and exhilarating keyboard embellishments by Mustis. I won’t go into a song-by-song breakdown other than to say that Sorgens Kammer is possibly my favourite black metal song ever – genuinely haunting and eerie riffs and heavy as Helvete! Stylistically, you can hear a difference between these songs and everything they’ve done from Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia on (every one of those releases a classic in my opinion), so it’s fair to say that Stormblast is slightly more old school than those later albums, but it shares their excellent production, so if you like that sound then you will definitely like the re-recorded Stormblast. The fact that this album is sung entirely in the band’s native Norwegian matters not one jot as I can rarely tell when Shagrath is snarling in English or Norwegian anyway!

Lastly, a word about the idea that Dimmu have “wimped out” and gotten “cheesy” and “sold out” since Puritanical: I defy anyone to listen to any of these albums and objectively conclude that they are anything other than extreme metal. To say otherwise is laughable. Dimmu have not betrayed their sound, they have just perfected it. Forget the small scene purist mentality and appreciate a band who make great, and great sounding, music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb melodic black metal, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Stormblast (Audio CD)
Having only heard Dimmu's more recent cheesy sound, of which I am NOT a fan, I was not expecting this album to be any good. But how wrong I was, before Dimmu became the laughing stock they are today, they managed to produce this gem (and for all tid before it).
The sound on this album is completely different to there new stuff. Its melodic, at times ambient, and generally quite a chilled album. Instead of relying on OTT blast beats and cheesy riffs, Dimmu create a very dark and evil atmosphere through tentative, almost fragile musicianship.
Throughout the album there is a perfect balance between the instruments, nothing drowns anything else out, the riffs are catchy, the drumming is simply amazing (and subtlety complex), the vocals are uber atmospheric, mostly due to them being sung in Norwegian and the keyboards are kept tightly under control, sticking mostly to the traditional piano sound. In short, a melodic black metal masterpiece that should be owned by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormblast 2005: +DVD
Stormblast 2005: +DVD by Dimmu Borgir (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews