Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the casual gamer...
I'm amazed how anyone can't appreciate the techinical achievement that this game is. It is not possible to do this in any platform available today, but the 360 (or some high-end PC)!!! There's 800 characters moving on screen at the same time - the maintnance tunnels for instance.

The story line is one of deepest I've seen in any game, but one has to dedicate...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by Jose Alves Goncalves

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun enough, as long as you have a HDTV
As others have said, this is a fun but flawed game.

The save system is somewhat frustrating, and it's all too easy to kill a boss, only to not be able to save.

The real annoyance is the infamous small text, which makes the story almost impossible to follow on a regular TV. My TV is pretty sharp normally (32" Sony Wega), and even there the text is...
Published on 13 Nov 2006 by Howard Jones


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the casual gamer..., 12 Oct 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm amazed how anyone can't appreciate the techinical achievement that this game is. It is not possible to do this in any platform available today, but the 360 (or some high-end PC)!!! There's 800 characters moving on screen at the same time - the maintnance tunnels for instance.

The story line is one of deepest I've seen in any game, but one has to dedicate much, much more than just a few minutes,

This is an hardcore game at heart. It's Capcom, so expect to offer your time and soul to the experience, otherwise stay away. It's hard! You got to play at least 5 times from start to finish in order to level your character up and learn all the fine/fancy moves, and then you'll have to pull much more than just one button, as a matter of fact there's some pretty hard to pull moves that involve a serie of nutton combination + analog stick push/pull - 25 different moves, that include neck break; round kick, zombie throw, etc. and those are not random, one has to actually do it.

Graphicwise the game's great, zombies has disctinct looks, and very little repitition. Capcom used the very good Havok engine (used by other high-profile new games).

Of course the game has flaws, like aiming wich although explained at the begining of the game (Frank - our character - never had shoot a gun in his life), some unbalanced guns (handgun are way too underpowered, and mini-chainsaw is an unstopable killing machine); the "real-time" structure mixed with the one-slot save can be a pain (although Frank's stats do pass from a game to another) but the biggest "flaw" for me is that I don't have the time (not a teen anymore) to dedicate myself to the game as much as it demands, but for this I don't blame the game, it's just the way it is.

If you can live with this buy it, it's a landmark on the videogame industry. I can understand people beeing angry with the difficulty of the game, but it's not Capcom's fault, they are hardcore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good bloody fun., 30 Jan 2007
By 
P. Thompson "Czech Fan" (Clanfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a game that requires concentration and persistence. Put in the hours and the game comes to life in a way that is very addictive. It may not satisfy the 'I need a quick shoot 'em / bash 'em fix' but it is certainly one of the most original games for the 360.

I have completed the game 4 times now and have unlocked almost all of the achievements (zombie genocider being the most satifying = 55,000 bodycount, yes that 1000 times 55!). This game excels in its intensity. Stuck in a crowd of zombies with a limping survivor and limited weaponry? Think hard on how you are going to get to the security room. By the time you get there you will be breathing a big sigh of relief.

Graphics are good but not excellent but how many other games have hundreds of 'intelligent' zombies on-screen at any one moment?

If you don't like edge of your seat missions with rigid timescales then steer clear of this game. If, like me, you love blood and gore galore, then saddle up, lock and load and kick zombie bottom in a huge variety of humorous ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game!, 19 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ive had my Xbox 360 for a few weeks now (Since Christmas) and this was one of the first games I played on it, all I can say is what an amazing game! Theres so much to do theres just not enough time to do it all in one playthrough its got 6 different endings and another 2 gamemodes to complete after the first one. If mowing down hordes of zombies with either a chainsaw, a lawnmower or a variety of tools and weaponry isnt fun enough for you try doing that while uncovering the mystery behind the zombie outbreak and rescuing as many survivors you can in the process. Throughout the game you'll meet a variety of different characters all with their own individual personalitys from the good and helpful Otis (Security Guard) to a slightly less friendly Crazed Chainsaw Wielding Clown (Sound Fun?) Its up to you to decide which path you take in order to escape the mall.

And as for the person who reviewed this complaining about small text on a Standard Television there is a easy way to fix this problem by simply setting your Xbox 360 to Widescreen Mode (Doesnt matter if you dont have a Widescreen TV) as it will stretch the image slightly but vastly improve the text readability.

Thanks and I hope you enjoy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the Blood!!!, 21 Feb 2007
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
In this game you play as a journalist called Frank West and you are left in a shopping mall to take pictures and gather stories...and Oh yea, the mall is full of zombies. After a few cutscenes, your 72 hour notice of when the helicoptor will be back to pick you up is set and then your off to do whatever you like.

Some people may be put off by the fact that there is a time limit, but its not as if you are going to be in constant worry that you are going to miss the chopper because 72 hours of game time is still many hours of real time gameplay.

You can tackle this game in many different ways, you can stick to the main story and try to uncover the causes for the zombie outbreak, you can go about rescuing survivors, or you can just go exploring and killing and basically causing as much mayhem as possible. Each of these poses different opportunities and rewards and therefore leads to a game with incredible replayability value. I love the shopping mall, because its big, but not too big. This is good because you dont get that dreaded feeling of its too big to explore properly. So after many hours of gameplay, you may end up learning where things are hidden and the most efficient way to get from place to place, and this in my opinion gives a real sense of achievement.

I must admit, it does take a while to get into the game because of the contols and the fact that you are so weak at the start. But keep playing and you'll soon be enjoying it.

Some people found it difficult at the start of the game, but you will progress up to level 10-15 quite quickly and in doing so, the game will become easier to play. This RPG like system allows you to unlock more skills, health bars and item slots and a good thing about this is, if you die, you can start a brand new game with your previous stats.

Some people have critisised the lack of save points in Dead Rising. I think that you just need to know where to find them. Learn where the save points are and you shouldn't have a problem. I advise that you do this as soon as possible because if you die, its back to the last save i'm afraid.

People have also critisised the small on screen text, when recieving phone calls, talking to characters and examining objects. This wont apply to people with HDTV.

Now lets focus on how much fun this game is... in this game, pretty much anything is a weapon from bowling balls to lawnmowers and from cooking oil to toy laser swords, as well as guns and blades. You will most probably spend hours just running around killing zombies in loads of different ways. and if thats not enough you can go into loads of clothes shops and dress Frank how you like. Believe me when I say there are some hilarious costumes out there.

Dead rising is special, its got a great story, fantastic graphics and a fantastic atmosphere about it as well as its fair share of dark humour. and if you get bored doing the missions, why not explore, if you get bored of exploring kill some more zombies. It is very hard to get bored on this game in my opinion. Once you truly get into dead rising, you are going to be addicted to this for quite some. Definetely worth the money, one of the few truly fantastic games out on 360 to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead good!, 12 Sep 2006
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Dead Rising is NOT another Resident Evil. It is from the same people, but it's a totally different game, both in feel and style. You play Frank West, photojournalist, who has travelled to some small American town in search of a scoop. When he gets there though he finds that all Hell, quite literally, has broken loose and with his ride out of there not due for 72 hours, he has to find a way to survive.

The first thing that strikes you about this game is the sheer mass of zombies on screen at any one time. There are loads of them, vast seas of undead. If you don't bother them then generally they won't bother you, but get too close and they pounce. They are slow and cumbersome and one on one you've got a good chance, but if they manage to surround you, you may find yourself outnumbered pretty quickly!

There is immense fun to be had from this game. The number of different ways that you can despatch the zombie hordes seems endless and limited only by your imagination. You can run a lawn mower over them, churning them up beneath the vicious blades; you can batter them with a variety of implements, from baseball bats to handbags! And that's not all. Frank starts the game with only one, non-lethal move: a punch. But as you progress through the game and gain more points, and more level ups, you'll also gain new moves that would put the WWE to shame!

It lacks the eerie atmosphere of Resident Evil, but that isn't to its detriment. In fact, if anything, it makes the game more fun, because you can just run around killing things if you like and you don't need to worry about the various in game missions that pop up to help the story along.

It's not all good news though. Unless you have an HD television you might struggle to read the messages from your walkie talkie buddy, Otis the janitor, who doesn't speak to you, rather his words come up in text on the screen and on an ordinary tv they're miniscule and indistinct. You can forget about reading this on a portable tv too because it'd just be too small.

Overall, Dead Rising is a MUST HAVE Xbox 360 game. At a total of about 6 hours gameplay time, it might be a bit on the short side, but the sheer number of things you can do, and the fun to be had slaughtering the undead, makes it much longer lasting, in my opinion, than many other games that are twice as long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEAD BRILLIANT, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Tmvipan (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I had my doubts about this game when it first came out; I thought it looked a bit plain and very repetitive. But I recently bought it as it was going very cheaply and I was bored of my other games. Now, it is about the only thing I play on the 360! Don't let demos, screenshots, or other reviews put you off. This game is brilliant. The map is exactly the right size, and there is no danger of going off course as the area isn't big enough to get lost in. Plus, you always have an arrow telling you where to go. The story is about a photojournalist named Frank West, who travels to an isolated town in search of a story. But the town has been overrun with zombies and the last survivors are trapped in the shopping mall. The aim of the game is to work out what has happened to cause the outbreak in the next 72 hours. Yes, you're timed, but don't worry, you will still have plenty of time to slice up thousands of undead with the various weapons stashed around the mall. That's the best thing. Weapons. In CoD 5, there are maybe just over 20 different weapons to use. Not in this, this game has the most weapons in a game ever. Has your pistol run out of ammo? Are you cornered by a huge crowd of zombies? Who cares? Just pick up a bench or a flowerpot and bash them with it! Or your health packs if you need to! That's how big the variety of weapons is! Also, you can go into clothes shops and try on loads of different costumes. It is hysterical when you see Frank slicing through zombies with a chainsaw whilst wearing a nice, white tuxedo. Some of the characters are equally as funny, although some are just freaks. For anyone who is a fan of zombie bashing, this is the game for you! I have completed it 6 times now and I'll still be cutting zombies up with a lawnmower all the way through 2009. If you do get it, go into the maintenance tunnels at night time. I dare you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obscenely good fun, 20 Sep 2006
By 
Mike Stevenson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having now completed this game (with the true ending) I can honestly say it's the best fun I've had playing a game in ages. Since Vice City in fact. The best way to describe it in a sentence is GTA + Zombies + Shopping mall + an oppressive clock.

You can pick up a huge array of items and use them against the Zombies (and other enemies later in the game). The weapons you might expect are there - chainsaws, pickaxes, baseball bats, etc. But it doesn't end there. You can even pick up Parasols and run around knocking down hapless Zombies with them, You can pick up traffic cones and ram them on an unsuspecting zombie's head, you name it. In terms of getting around the mall, there are vehicles (Cars, Pushbikes, Motorbikes), and an insanely useful skateboard that really helps in getting from A to B.

You can have great fun just running around killing the poor creatures with whatever you find - but there's also a B movie plot that moves ahead whether you follow it or not. Here it's very important to note that this is NOT a sandbox. You are on a very clock (a very tight one at times). One of the major criticisms of the game has been that you can only have ONE save - and because of the multiple endings, it's quite possible to save the game at such a point that it's now impossible to beat. But in my mind this just adds to the urgency of the game - if you make a mistake, you may well have to start over. But do you really want to save every 5 minutes? That would make the game way too easy right? And nothing that's worth doing is ever easy.

Graphics wise it really showcases the 360's capabilities - the characters are beautifully rendered. But this is not one for the kids - the 18 certificate is there for a reason. There's an enormous amount of gore, and certain characters have alarmingly lifelike... attributes shall we say. The Japanese game developers have always been breast-obsessed (fair enough), and I daresay an entire team was set aside purely to work on some of the characters. Seriously, there is an enormous amount of gratuitous killing and semi-adult content. For someone able to put that in context it's fine, but this game isn't for a 12 year old, no siree-bob.

Any criticisms? Yes - nothing is ever perfect. The story could have used a little tightening script-wise, and the voice acting is quite variable. Some is perfect - Frank, Jessie and Brad in particular. But some of the psychos you deal with in the mall are a bit silly. And of course some multiplayer would have been nice. As for the ending....

But in summary this is game you have to own. Do not rent it - it's better than that. Something like Saints Row is only worth a rent - but this is worth every penny of £40. Just don't let your pre-teen kids play it, and be pragmatic about your expectations. If semi-adult content and ultra-violence offends you, put your money back in your pocket. But if you're adult enough to be able to put in in context, buy this game right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They should call this game art..........., 14 Sep 2006
By 
Dave White (United Kingdom, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
And yes they should. You play freelance photo jounalist Frank West, in search for the scoop of a lifetime. You get a tip that something big is going down at the small town of Willemet, Colorado. From the skies it looks like the town is devastated by a massive, violent riot. But it turns out the whole town is infested by zombies. You land on the shopping mall and have 72 hours to figure out whats going on the town.

And since it's set in a shopping mall, why not kill time by hanging around at leasure park, and cut off zombies legs with that sickle. Or go into the alfresca plaza and cut zombies in half with a hedge trimmer, and chainsaw. The sheer range of weopans is absolutely imenise (with more than 200+), and they all respond differently. The is a diffence if you smash a zombies head with a bowling ball, than using a dumbell from the gym. They all make differnt sounds to, so when you hit a zombie with an electric guitar it makes a sound that you want hear.

Also the graphics in the game are beautiful. I don't have one of those HD TV's, but still it's very realistic. They framerate does not seem to skip when there are 500 zombies on screen.

But it does have some cons, like the use of only one save slot, but i suppose if you had more you could complete the game easily. Oh yeh, the length of the game is not 72 hours, more like 6 hours.

All in all, the game is relativly short, but is amazingly fun. Capcom have done well with this, and if there is another game like this, I will be damned as it is so origanly and oozing with class. So if you want to sit down, and play a truely imersing game for a day or 2, then dead rising will be the perfect time spender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen Goes Old School, 10 Sep 2006
By 
Alan Eccles (Wolverhampton, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wow.

What A Game.

You ever see that film Dawn Of The Dead? Yep. Well this is that but in video game form. You are trapped in a large shopping centre (sorry I refuse to call it a Mall) surrounded by hoardes and hoardes of Zombies. Your job? Survive. And take some photos of it on the way. You play photojournalist Frank West on a quest to find the truth, and what a quest that is.

See the beauty of this game is the simple variety of it all. You enter a store. You can pick up ost anything from the shelves and there is you weapon now just run out into the centre where there are literally hundreds on the undead waiting for you to try out your new toy to gory and often hilarious results. Find a plank of wood. Swing it into a zombies face. Find a hunting knife. Throw it at the zombies head. Find a lawn mower. Well I'll save that one for you to find out.

This really is what the next generation of gaming should be about. Not only does it have great graphics it has variety. Hundreds of on screen enemies. Hundreds of tools at your disposal. No longer are you restricted by the game designers boundaries.

So why call it old school? Well thats just a personal observation of mine. The difficulty level in this game isnt stupidly high but still fairly challenging and with its rigid save structure you often find yourself repeating certain sections again and again just to beat another of the wonderfully constructed bosses. It just reminded me of the old days replaying the first few levels of a game just because you were stuck on a later one. The key thing here is that it isn't even repetitive. It's nice to have a challenge and by replaying certain sections you start to notice little quirks or weapons you may have missed.

Looking for a game that doesnt take itself too seriously? Then look at Dead Rising. If your sense of humour is as stupid as mine you will love it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun enough, as long as you have a HDTV, 13 Nov 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Rising (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As others have said, this is a fun but flawed game.

The save system is somewhat frustrating, and it's all too easy to kill a boss, only to not be able to save.

The real annoyance is the infamous small text, which makes the story almost impossible to follow on a regular TV. My TV is pretty sharp normally (32" Sony Wega), and even there the text is unreadable. I've been playing this game on my PC monitor with a VGA cable, but having to move the 360 and it's brick of a PSU around just to play the game is not really helpful. Capcom really should have playtested it better (or even taken it home to play, one night, perhaps).

The actual game is fun enough, although I can see it's going to get pretty monotonous before much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Rising (Xbox 360)
Dead Rising (Xbox 360) by Capcom (Xbox 360)
£14.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews