Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars43
3.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2006
Before buying this, I have been playing Battlefield 2 on PC for quite some time. I was rather disappointed when I put this shiny new disc into my shiny new xbox360. I thought that porting BF2 to Xbox360 is a great chance to fix all the bugs and Cons of the PC version and Xbox version while making it more like the PC version, but no, its exactly the same Xbox game but with better graphics and flawed controls.

The game just doesn't feel right. Aiming is difficult, Voice system and command/order system STILL has not improved from the PC and Xbox.

Another stupid thing is that some of the missions take place in a country called Kazakhstan. It is very ignorant of DiCE to present Kazakhstan as a "terrorist, Iraq-esque sandy country with muslim extremists" etc, this forms a negative view of a fine country. I read somewhere that Kazakhstani foreign ministry is filing a lawsuit against DiCE for the BF2 on PS2, and releasing the same game with the same missions on Xbox360 just pours salt in the wound.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
I got the demo not long ago, downloading it on Xbox Live Marketplace, it was 300 or so megabytes, i played the demo, one level, one multiplayer round. And i was blown away, literally. When one first enters the game, you are greeted to the sounds of explosions and fire, there literally is not a single moment when there is peace. You choose from different classes such as engineer, support gunner, sniper (with a cool gps tool), assault which each have their own unique weaponry and each army you can play have their own unique weaponry/vehicles. The game is set in rather modern times, possibly in ours. It focuses on a war between the US & China in a battle of the superpowers, there are other combats going on around the world, the EU against Khazikstan and US against the MEC (Middle Eastern Coalition). All of these battles have their own atmosphere, wether it be a sandy desert town with bullet holes in the walls and destroyed mosques or a freezing cold arctic wasteland with snowmobiles and such. This game is truly a excellent experience and well worth the 39.99, i have played other top 360 games eg-Elder Scrolls Oblivion and this one tops the lot. Its especially fun to play with friends, so if your into mostly online (and some single player campaign) madness with friends or foe, this is for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
The game play was dated and really not very good. It promised much but delivered little. My recommendations are to avoid this and not bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
This game is keeping my husband quiet and occupied for hours on end, day after day. I thoroughly recommend it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2007
Battlefield 2 for Xbox 360 is very addictive. The game can be hard at times & dying just at the wrong time can be frustrating, but it never discourages me from playing at all. The missions are varied, graphics are stunning & very detailed, & the audio is totally amazing.
The variety of gameplay is a real highlight. Hotswapping, for example, allows you to switch from one member of your team to another almost instantly, done by pressing the X button. This works brilliantly, & it gives you the chance to view the battle from many points on the map.

Special mention must go to the handling of the vehicles. The tanks feel satisfyingly heavy to drive, while Hummers are faster & more manouverable.

Overall a superb game, & a great way of showing what the xbox 360 is capable of. One of the very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
I was looking at Battlefield 2 to fill the gap now that I've finished Call of Duty 2. Unfortunately, I was dissapointed with this game early on.

Many of the reviews for the game and the slogan on the box, "All out war your way!", would seem to indicate a versatile game with many ways of playing - like a modern warfare slant on Unreal Tournament. In reality, the game is very limited with only the one player campaign and X-box Live enabled Deathmatch and Capture the Flag games to hold any interest. At the very least it would have been nice if there were bots to compete against when my Live subscription runs out.

Aside from those issues, the controls don't seem 100% comfortable (as with Perfect Dark), the graphics are only average for the Xbox 360, and quite simply you wonder why you're even playing it half the time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I've been playing Battlefield for a looong time. I played 1942, then I got Battlefield 2 on the PC, and I liked it. I assumed this would be the same thing, but with a campaign mode. What I got was like a PS2 game. There was no objective system that worked, and I couldn't find class selection in Single Player, it just seemed that you died and respawned as a random guy on the map.
I really think they just tacked a beta onto the multiplayer to sell it at full price.
If you're going to buy a Battlefield game, buy Bad Company 1&2, they are far more like the PC version, and have an actual story, with great multiplayer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2006
I'll start by making a statement: 'This is by far one of the worst games that I have ever played', given that this includes games like Driver 3 that is some statement.

The problem is that this game is so incredibly messy that you are left wondering whether EA actually finished the game, whether they forgot to add the last few pieces of programming. The weapons are very limited and all feel very much the same. There is absolutely no way to give or follow orders (campaign) and as such you have no idea of what is going on, or even what your objective is.

The control layout is poor and very uncomfortable when certain actions are required. For example; jump is the left bumper button, with crouch/prone being the left thumb stick and reload (Which is always with-out fail 'X') is now apparently 'B'. There is no way to change the rate of fire on weapons either.

The graphics aren't too bad but certainly aren't good enough given the we paid £280 for our new consoles, and the sound effects are much the same.

Overall a very poor and disappointing game, which I will be returning to the shop as soon as possible. Definitely not worth £40-50.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
Battlefield 2: Modern Combat features a propaganda fueled single player campaign where you will see both sides of a conflict in one of the most treacherous regions in the world - Kazakhstan. Online play will have you fighting for one of 4 sides - the US, the European Union, the Chinese, or the newly formed Middle East Coalition whilst armed with the latest modern weaponry, not forgetting the ability to control any of the 30+ vehicles in the game.
This title promises to blow the pants off any Halo game, Bungie are going to have to suck you into the screen and put 117's Assault rifle in your hands to beat this!!! It's that dam awesome!
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
its nice but not as special as the one above mentioned...once you actually play it you will know what i mean.
its basicly just a port from xbox with high resolution textures...a shame but thats what it is...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)