Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existentialism the Hedgehog
A well disguised lesson in humility from Sega and Sonic Team. This game reminds us that being a fan of a videogame franchise isn't always roses and chocolates.
Much like Cormac McCarthy deconstructs myths of the Old West in his novel Blood Meridian, Sonic Team have brilliantly and completely deconstructed the functional videogame, and fun experiences in general...
Published 1 month ago by Mr Joe Clarkson

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360
Like many people, I was excited about the fact that Sonic the Hedgehog was going to have a his own new game on the 360... From all the pictures and running footage I had seen, it certanly looked like a promising game, with fantastic looking, ultra smooth running graphics, but sadly, that's all this game really has going for it.

I've been a Sonic fan since the...
Published on 2 Feb. 2007 by D. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly designed game selling on franchise value alone., 29 May 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Let me begin by saying that I have always loved games in the Sonic series, I overlooked a great many flaws in all of Sonic's recent incarnations simply because I found the games greatly entertaining despite their issues. Thus, I didn't hesitate to buy Sonic on the 360 despite negative reviews. Honestly, this game is terrible.

The level design is terrible, the graphics are patchy, none of the individual elements connect into a coherent game and worst of all it has some of the most blatant and shoddy glitches I have ever seen in a game. Call me picky but I honestly believe a game with a focus on speed should not crash if you run into a wall too quickly.

The game does not take advantage of any of the 360's power and yet still takes an obscene amount of loading time to perform simple tasks.

This game is an insult to sonic fans, an insult to gamers and an insult to the intelligence of consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good game, but a few annoying things, 14 July 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game and was expecting awesome flowing gameplay, improved graphics and an easier way of playing from sonic adventure 2. The graphics i feel are superb for a game like this, i mean you cant make a game like this look too real otherwise it would get rid of the cartoon element of it. The gameplay overall is good, but the characters can become difficult to control at times due to the cameras movement, yes they can be rectified by the trigger buttons but they dont always help. Loading screens will annoy a lot of people on this game but you can get used to them, and the game does flow when they are not around. The levels on this game are cool, and remind me a lot of the 1st title on the dreamcast, sonic adventure, which was a great sonic game, probably the best 3d game. Sonic the hedgehog does live up to a lot of expectations for me, and i hate it when people slate a game for a few poor reasons, i would definitely recommend this title to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rushed out game, 24 April 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
1. bad level design
2. very confusing storyline that makes no sense
3. annoying glitches
4. TOO MUCH LOADING SCREENS!
5. over sized hub world that can get you lost
6. the humens in the game are just creepy looking
7. stupid hub world challenges that takes one load screen to load the information on what you have to do and another load screen to load the level
8. the coding is so bad that the blue bar on the bottum left of the screen does not even work and you get unlimeted power

i know sega was trying somthing new and a new start for the sonic series but thay just did not do it right
overall, there are some parts of this game that are actully fun but..its just a bad game, but if you want to play this game then by all means but you will be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of a franchise, 17 Dec. 2006
By 
Magnus Wake "Mazer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Controls that work the wrong way round, you want to look left it looks right and viceversa.

No ability to midify those same controls.

Basic physics that don't work meaning you character can fall off the platform even when the game is in control.

It looks good but really with a studio that should know what it's doing and a brand which is one of the longest running you would have thought they might get the basics right. It does of course look pretty good but looks dull in the face of a completely frustrating control system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sonic, not supersonic, 3 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was very good at the start when I played it. All of the missions and upgrades are fun, in total it was pretty good . It took me about one month to get through the levels and then I haven't played it for quite a while. Thats why I'm calling it Sonic not Supersonic - the best games are the ones that you keep going back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable, 29 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Riddled with plot holes,glitches way too much loading,technical problems, bad level design choices, awful voice acting and lip syncing, bad control, butchered characters, and just bad ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting!!!!!!!, 8 July 2012
By 
Esther Morrison "nash bell" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm just gonna go to the good points.

The levels are very colorful

Lot of high speed action
and that all the good news

To the bad points
so so much glitches its unbelievable
split screen has not got that much game modes so it's so boring
loading is very annoying all the time it happens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!, 26 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. Liam Wharnsby (Romford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well basically this game is a let down. I've barely got anywhere in the game and already I'm bored and frustrated. The controls are pretty lame. The loading screens are annoying and take way too long. Also what is up with the save function, there are huge chunks where you cannot save the game, and then if you die or want to go out and live your life, you have to start miles back on some annoying level that was never fun to begin with.

The 3rd stage after the town part, just after you get thrown off of a whale is pretty damn annoying as you cannot control your speed and have no idea where you are heading, and if you hit a wall or a bad guy you're dead, then you have to start from the end of stage 1 again.

The town parts are as another reviewer said BORING! And to be quite honest I was left hating every character in this game.

And why does sonic not have any weapons, I know he doesn't usually, but it makes killing bad guys very boring as you cannot fight them properly. Also most of the game is spent guiding an uncontrolable sonic to his death.

The 2 player mode is just as lame, my brother played it with me for 10 minutes before requesting we play pro-evo 6 instead!!!

Plus points, and my only reason for any stars at all was the games intro, which looks the dogs b******s until sonic appears. Sonic unlike the rest of the 3D intro is 2D and cartoonish. I realise of course that sonic has always been this was, but it doesn't blend.

Unless you can get this game for under £[...] don't buy it. Oh unless you're a die hard sonic fan and you probably bought it already. BE WARNED!

I can't wait for Halo 3 and GTA4! I hope I don't have to write another one of these bad reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars such potential wasted, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll get this out of the way... this game isn't that bad, there are actually people defending it out there and i'm suprised that a none sold too well PS3 version is selling dirt cheap and yet the platinum making 360 version is going for much higher.

if you admire story, then this might satisfy you if Generations left oyu with too many unanswered questions. but ti does have extreme flaws, especially in it's characters... or character. you already know her name. even mentioning the kiss should be outlawed.

and the gameplay? well i personally only really like the game for it's Shadow gameplay: button mashing slow paced veichular platforming. at least it improves over STH by removing the guns. Sonic's gameplay is standard platformign with one or two gimmicks thrown in (for better or for worse. if you ever get the chance to replay a level with a snowboard... don't take it. you'll thank me later) tht is slower than normal games. with i actually kind of prefer.
And Silver's telekinesis puzzle based gameplay works for the most part. his first level in the Jungle will be scratching your head (i can guarantee it) and his desert level can go straight to hell.

the graphics are permissable, this was 2006, when consoles the likes of the Camecube were beign produced, and no ill's can be said of the music. i find it better than generations massive slog of half-baked remixes with the one completely forgettable final boss theme. THIS final boss theme on the other hand is so epic, so pulse pounding and so well crafted that the only explanation for this game's terribleness is that the game was originally planned to be a Soundtrack Album but Sega demanded it be a game.

and the difficulty does get progressive...ly annoying. i haven't finished the game because of the abnormally questionable section at the end of the world that is impossible to NOT ragequit from. but youtube videos (hello Clement) have provided me with the ending at it's... ok at the least.

unless you have a ridonculolusly huge amount of time on you're hand, little perception of anger or maybe your addicted to something this game might satisfy you. it definatly won't make you feel anything if you're a sonic fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars God damn it, 1 Dec. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Man i tried, been playing Sonic since the genesis and been loving it ever since but holy Jesus, does this game suck.

Now i've heard all of the reviews saying how terrible it was but i tought maybe some enjoyment could be taken from Sonic, for instance, Sonic adventure 1 and 2 for the Dreamcast were not perfect but were alot of fun and had several characters and great replay value to them, sure the gameplay and camera had their quirks but it wasn't much of a hassle to work around them.

Unfortanetly they were right about this one...

Let's start with the graphics, while the important characters are somewhat pleasent to look at it seems the development team just didn't care about everything else. All of the NPCs look like bad ps2 models with horrible animations. The levels have their moments here and there but overall look really boring and empty.

For the sound they kept the same level of effort, voices sound irritating and every time Tails opens his mouth i get the sudden urge to smash my Tv's speakers. Soundtrack does its job i guess but i doubt anyone will remeber a single track in the whole agame.

Last but most definitly not least- the gameplay, and oh boy, do things get ugly here...
First off the difficulty in this game is taken to the extreme, not because of the challenging foes or intelligent level design, oh no my friend, your true enemy here is the camera. More often than not it will switch perspectives while you are running at high speeds or over some gap you have to jump, therefore forcing you to change the directions you're pressing at F-1 speed. Levels are designed for a type of gameplay the game simply doesn't have and finishing one is simply a frustrating task of trial and error and memorizing the places and timings of the hellish camera flip-outs.

In conclusion, Sega messed up big time with this one, if you plan on getting it DON`T! even if you're the most loyal sonic fan ever, you'd be better off getting a genesis and ordering the classics, even better get yourself the megadrive collection but please, keep away from this thing, and if someone offers you as a gift accept it then beat them to death with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sonic the Hedgehog (Xbox 360)
£15.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews