Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great games from a developing era.
Great collection of games. Won't get into the review of it but seeing as a full list is absent of the games present on this collection, here it is in full.
1942
1943
1943 KAI
Bionic Commando
Commando
Exed Exes
Final Fight
Forgotten Worlds
Ghosts N' Goblins
Ghouls N' Ghosts
Gun Smoke
Legendary...
Published on 13 Mar 2006 by M. Brown

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How hard do you want it?
I only really bought this for the 'Ghouls n Ghosts' games that I used to play on the SNES back in the 1980s.

I'd forgotten how hard ALL of the games in this compilation actually were. Enjoyable, but so difficult. I'll never get to know if the games are impossible to complete, and here's why:

You can plough on for hours and hours and hours, finally...
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by Red Rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great games from a developing era., 13 Mar 2006
By 
M. Brown (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
Great collection of games. Won't get into the review of it but seeing as a full list is absent of the games present on this collection, here it is in full.
1942
1943
1943 KAI
Bionic Commando
Commando
Exed Exes
Final Fight
Forgotten Worlds
Ghosts N' Goblins
Ghouls N' Ghosts
Gun Smoke
Legendary Wings
Mercs
Prirate Ship Higemaru
Section Z
Son Son
Street Fighter 2
Street Fight 2: CE
Street Fighter 2: HF
Super Ghouls N' Ghosts
Trojan
Vulgus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadoken, 2 Dec 2005
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the best retro compilation so far released. The games include Ghosts & Goblins, 1942, Gunsmoke, Streetfighter II (3 versions), Commando and Final Fight. All these are classic games. There are a number of other games here, mainly vertical shoot-em ups that vary in quality. A number of the games have 2-player options and Mercs (a Commando update) has a 3-player option. Most of these games replicate the arcade. The only flaw I've noticed is with the Street Fighter games where there are load screens before and after fights.
Basically, £15 for 22 games of which more than half are above average is great value. The era the games come from (mid-80's to early 90's) mean the games have not aged as badly as the namco compilations for example. All of the games are hard but at least you don't have to keep shovelling coins in for continues. £15 well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Old Skool, 2 Aug 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
I am 25 years old and grew up with Final Fight and Streetfighter. Buying this game brought back all those good old memories, how can anyone knock a game with these titles in it! This is a must buy if you are my sought of age and enjoyed these games it will certainly take you back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How hard do you want it?, 4 Oct 2008
By 
Red Rob "Red Rob" (Blackpool, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
I only really bought this for the 'Ghouls n Ghosts' games that I used to play on the SNES back in the 1980s.

I'd forgotten how hard ALL of the games in this compilation actually were. Enjoyable, but so difficult. I'll never get to know if the games are impossible to complete, and here's why:

You can plough on for hours and hours and hours, finally managing to fight your way through a couple of levels only to discover there is no way to save your progress. Other than leaving the game in your Playstation and keeping it switched on so the game remains at the point you left it, you have to start from scratch all over again. Keeping the console switched on is a total pain, but the only solution when the games are so hard to get through.

After half a dozen returns to 'Ghouls n Ghosts' I simply gave up. I know, lightweight.

Capcom Classics: A great idea on paper, but incredibly frustrating in practice. I'm sure their will be die-hard, old school gamers out there who will relish the idea of sitting up all night trying to get through to the end and who think the idea of saving your progress is a cop-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Again, 11 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
Amazing. Just like the good old times. All games are original. Nothing has been touched. 2D magic at work. It feels like going back....filled with evergreens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
inprescindible great classic game in any collection, it is very good and games meets buenes highly recommended, emphasized the speed of sending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CAPCOM CLASSICS REVIEW, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
LOVE THESE RETRO GAMES AS I GREW UP PLAYING THEM AS A YOUNGSTER LOW PRICE AND QUICK DELIVERY MADE THIS A GOOD BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars live for the now, 3 April 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
I so looked forward to playing this when it came out, but alas after buying it I was that frustrated with it i've already sold it, If like me you remember these games with a fond heart dont buy it and cling to your memories. Every game is so annoying and so difficult it pretty much makes it pointless even attempting, I consider myself a semi-decent player yet there is so many games on this that you cant even get past the first couple of screens without restarting a hundred times which totally dulls the experience of enjoyment, best stick to the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but I expected better, 2 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) (Video Game)
If you buy this, don't expect to be overly impressed. There are a lot of classics here - Streetfighter 2, Ghouls & Ghosts, 1942 etc which are still quality games. However many of the titles have aged badly & there's lots of repetition with the sequals. All the vertically scrolling shoot-em-ups are bacically the same game with different graphics. I dont remember the Streetfighter games being this slow & the platform games are horrible.
Usually with these 'classics' collections there are a couple of gems you've never heard of before - but not on Capcom Classic Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2)
Capcom - Classic Collection (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 3.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews