Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 5
I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Stuart D. Johnson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resident Action
Lots of people have compared Resident Evil 5 to its contemporary competition (Dead Space) or immediate predecessors (Resident Evil 4) and have noted that the control system is flawed and that the game is essentially a RE4 rehash with less invention. Having recently rerun through Resident Evil on the Gamecube, itself a remake of the original on the PSone that started the...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by Tyler Black


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 5, 20 July 2009
By 
Stuart D. Johnson "thejonsoon" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel hindered by in the slightest.
A lot has been said about how the series is losing it's 'horror' element in the more action-oriented RE4 & 5. Personally I found number 4 horrific at times (the Regenerators, even on their own had me mortified more than any other RE enemy), but number 5 just isn't horror. That's not to say that the game should be criticised. What it is is a compulsive, highly playable action shooter with the most gorgeous graphics on the 360, in my opinion.
The choice of setting is inspired, but I don't think that the variety of environments in Africa has been exploited on this game. The early chapters, wondering through shanty towns seem authentic, but later levels could be set just about anywhere else with lakes and caves. This is a minor criticism however.
My major problem with this game is it's simplicity, caused by linear level design, self contained and obvious puzzles and the games extremely short length. RE4 took me about 13hours to finish, this took nothing like as long.
However these flaws are compensated by the games replay value. For all of us achievement freaks, there are alkinds of weapons, treasures etc to be gathered, plus screen filters that can be used to give the game a different look. Gimmicky, yes, but it all adds.
I loved resident evil 4 for it's gameplay. The worst we could have expected from RE5 really was an inferior clone of 4, which is what we have sadly, but still a supremely enjoyable game while it lasts.
A lot of people seem to be critical of Sheva's AI in the single player mode. Whilst i can understand some gripes, I can honestly say that for large portions of the game, I forgot that there was any co-operative element to the game. If you're deciding whether or not to buy this game, I wouldn't be put off by the idea of having a computer controlled partner. One or 2 sections may have you tearing your hair out because of her stupidity, but thankfully even on the harder difficulty (I have unlocked but not tried the 4th hardest difficulty by the way) you'll discover you'll only rely on her to keep herself alive and leave her to it.
The enemies in the game are as usual ridiculous and over the top (and usually always very impressive). Lickers are particularly gruesome.
Despite the length of time it took for this game to hit the shelves, it is, as i said, remarkably similar in feel to RE4. If you played and enjoyed the awesome Dead Space, this will really keep you entertained. It's not as good, but certainly worth the admission fee.
Very decent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resident Action, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Tyler Black "tylerblack" (a happy place) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lots of people have compared Resident Evil 5 to its contemporary competition (Dead Space) or immediate predecessors (Resident Evil 4) and have noted that the control system is flawed and that the game is essentially a RE4 rehash with less invention. Having recently rerun through Resident Evil on the Gamecube, itself a remake of the original on the PSone that started the franchise all those moons ago, I haven't been able to look at the latest installment in the same way since. The transition has witnessed the evil pretty much disappear and the action cranked up to the max. Resident Evil used to be about dark settings, creepy music, sparse but tough enemies and slow burning tension. The best thing about replaying the Gamecube version was the realization that there is not enough ammunition in the game to kill every monster that appears. This heightened the tension to heights the action sequences in RE5 will never reach and created real anxiety. There was a sense of tactics about the old games that meant that you had to be intelligent with where and how you used you ammo, in Resident Evil 5 you have a vast selection of heavy artility weapons and endless ammo. It makes shooting zombie after zombie after zombie, in bright settings and hardcore music fun but ... it's not the gloomy, atmospheric Resident Evil that I fell in love with. I'm not saying that the direction the franchise is going in is the wrong choice but I would welcome a return to old school Resident Evil with improvements attached. The old RE's suffered from lots of running backwards and forwards over familiar settings and some rather irritating and silly puzzles, additionally the camera angles where sometimes so bad that you couldn't actually see what you were shooting. I'd like it if the next Resident Evil installment had different game modes that incorporated all of the best elements of all of the previous titles to offer an action romp for those that just like blasting stuff and a single player atmospheric mode that appeals to those of use that prefer the old school style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss Sequel, 27 Mar 2009
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It has enough postives to be a good game, and worth playing, but also enough negatives to keep it far from being a classic.

If you have played RE4, you will find the gameplay very familiar. The controls (stand still whilst shooting, run away, turn around, repeat) remain pretty much the same. While this doesn't stop it being fun, it does make it feel very dated and clumsy compared to games like Dead Space, which showed that you can have fluid shooting-while-moving controls in a survival horror game.

A lot of the game design feels shamelessy recycled from RE4 - enemies, settings, gas cylinders against a wall to push over and shoot when an ememy is following you etc. etc. , even a lot of the music - you really feel like you're just playing RE4 with upgraded graphics but weaker gameplay and design a lot of the time.

The single worst feature of the game is the inventory system - it is an absolute nightmare - easily the worst inventory system in the RE series - possible the worst in any modern game I can think of - it's bad enough having such a badly designed clumsy inventory system - but to also not allow you to pause the game while you access it, is just a recipe for making you want to throw your controller at the screen - you will frequently die because you are surrounded by enemies & accidentally select the wrong item, or can't pick up some ammo for your empty weapon cos your inventory is full so you have to clumsily pass items to your partner to free up a slot - all using a terrible interface while enemies are still attacking you - I'd estimate that during my 1st playthrough of the game, more than 1/2 of my deaths were caused by the inventory system.
I really can't emphasise strongly enough how much enjoyment the appalling inventory system saps from the game - I can't imagine why they ever released it without fixing that one huge issue.

The addition of a partner throughout the entire game is a mixed blessing - it makes the combat more varied - but it takes away the atmosphere of feeling alone trapped in a scary environment - and her AI is patchy at best.

In RE4, the ememies felt a bit like zombies (even though they weren't technically) - but here the enemies are more human than ever, firing guns at you, riding motorbikes. Apart from the parastites bursting out of them, most of the time you might as well be fighting ordinary humans. Although despite the fact that they can run, jump, drive, use complex machinery - as soon as they get within 10 feet of you, they helpfully return to shambling slowly around so you can shoot them.

One particular annoyance I have - is the guys with chainsaws - there are far more of them in this game than RE4 - but unfortunately, fighting them is really tedious - unlike RE4 where battling a chainsaw guy was quite scary but challenging and enjoyable - here it's just not the same - they seem to be able to take a ridiculous amount of damage before going into "stunned" mode where you can melee them or take time to reload or move to a safe distance, plus the badly designed inventory can make switching to grenades or other weapons mid-fight a nightmare - but worst of all, you might be carefully keeping a safe distance, only for your AI partner to go too close and get decapitated and make you have to do the whole section all over again - in RE4 the sound of a revving chainsaw was the signal of a tense and exciting battle - in RE5 the sound makes your heart sink with a feeling of "Oh god not another one."
Combine that with the lazy level design - eg. in the oil-refinery - turn a switch, and a chainsaw guy appears and attacks - go through the hassle of beating him, try to go through the gate to the next area, and another chainsaw guy appears - beat him, carry on and within a couple of minutes, a 3rd chainsaw guy attacks, this time with the added annoyance of 2 friendly characters in the room who can get killed and force you to redo the section - depressing when the designers were so short of ideas they make you fight the same unenjoyable boss 3 times within a few minutes.

Another major criticism, is simply that the level designs aren't very good - it's just nowhere near as much fun to play as it would have been with more effort put into the level design. This is especially true of the boss-fights - they loook spectactular, but gampeplay-wise they are all long-winded and repetitive - none of them come close to being as much fun as any of the RE4 boss fights.

The online co-op play works well, and the replay value is very much like RE4 - being able to go through it again with upgraded weapons, things to collect - in fact it's probably a lot more fun on the 2nd play through - with upgraded weapons and once you've had time to get used to the inventory system from hell.

There is a distinct feeling that this was developed as a 2-player co-op game, with the single player mode being an extra mode thrown in at the last minute without time to fully playtest and fine-tune it. It's as if they knew the controls and abysmal inventory system would make it impossible to get through so much intense combat on your own, but instead of fixing those issues, they just threw in an AI assistant to give you extra some firepower, but sadly didn't have time to give her very good AI.

I don't think anybody could call this a terrible game - people giving it 1 star on here are being over the top (probably out of anger - an emotion that you will experience often playing this game - so I can understand how they feel) - but it is a real anti-climax after the brilliant RE4 - such weak level and boss-fight design, no real attempt to improve the game-engine and controls beyond improved graphics, sub-standard AI for a partner who accompanies you throughout the entire game, and then having what stands out as maybe the worst inventory system of the last decade of gaming, and then taking the inexplicable decision to make you battle against the inventory system in real-time while enemies still attack you.

If someone had never played RE4 (especially the Wii version with it's enhanced controls) and RE5 - I think I'd have to recommend RE4 to them as the vastly better single player game - that's not nostalgia talking, I've been playing through both games simultaneously to compare them.

If they are going to do a RE6, I hope they have a total re-think - this game is really pushing the boundaries of how far they can get away with it using unnecessarily dated contols & recycling old ideas - plus just too much lazy and downright bad design.

Capcom have already announced that the 2 producers who were brought in to create this game, have been dropped and won't be working any possible sequel - it's easy to understand that decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun For Co Op, 14 July 2009
By 
S. Corah "Sim" (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is alot like resident evil 4 as in the fact there is no more fear factor in it, but this doesnt make the bad. This game has some of the best graphics around, the characters look brilliant even during play. When the game starts it takes you right into the action and also the action keeps on coming thoughout the game right up til the end. Its not the constant though it breaks down to give puzzle in some areas and just finding your way about. The weapon upgrade system is really fun and it makes it so rewarding to find hidden treasure in the game. I dont know why people complain about the controls being stupidly hard top play with becasue they are really simple and easy to use. Even if you havent played the other resi's its fine because there is a timeline on the load screens that explain everything.

This game is all fantastic, but its at its best if playing cooperatively whter online with a randomer or with a friend (online or on the same console) becuase the AI of the partner is stupid. So make sure that when you by this game you have got xbox live or a friend to come play on it with u else it wont be as good. The reason i only gave it 4 stars is because of the cooperative situation. PLAY WITH A FRIEND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice attempt at duplicating the fourth game, 7 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fans of the series will know that the 4th game was the turning point in the Resident Evil franchise. So I was pleased to see that RE 5 was following the same stylus as its predecessor, here are a few points that a first time buyer should take into account:

Good -
~ An excellent storyline with plenty of old and new faces to fall in love with.
~ Now you have a partner who actually fights along with you and you can even build up levels of trust with her. Or if you prefer not to use an AI you can always complete the game with a friend as your partner with a second controller.
~ The graphics are breathtaking and incredibly well done particularly in the action sequences with the good ol quick time events.
~ The gameplay itself is fun with interesting puzzles and enemies to fight your way through. New experiences are aplanty in this game.

Bad -
~ The enemies can be very tough, especially boss battles.
~ The storage space is EXTREMELY limited, therefore making storage incredibly difficult.
~ Having an NPC character can make the game problamatic at times as she doesn't read your mind, hence she might do something very stupid...
~ Whether you're a first time 360 player or a pro it doesn't matter: the controls take a while to completely master

Despite certain controversy when this game was first announced it has been an enjoyable experience, enough to get me motivated into completing it a second time - check out the unlockable sections! This game is definitely worth purchasing. Have fun zombie killers! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quals, 4 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Yeah it's awesome, i'm not a big time gamer, but this res 5 game was addictive and loads of fun combining some hardcore zombie shooting, big boss killing, logical problems to solve, timed missions and great guns to buy! not interested... Play Snakes and Ladders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the Game (Not the Demo), 16 Mar 2009
By 
David Thompson "T FUNK 1984" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The amount of people who review a game based purely on the demo is quite frankly shocking. A good (or bad) demo is no guarantee as to the quality of the finished game. Essentially you are reviewing a game you have never played and therefore giving a misleading star rating for those who might think of buying it. Amazon - really can you not lock the review section of a game until release day?

Now then on with the review.

I picked up my copy of RE5 along with a red 360 elite the day before release day and after playing extensively both on my own and in co-op over Xbox live I can say that I have some mixed feelings about this game. Firstly as an addition to the RE series it is more than worthy. Many people I speak to think RE4 to be the best of the series, I think this is better. However I am of the nostalgic old school who want to see more of the RE1 or RE2 style of game, with more of the survival horror and less of the action style (and yes with proper, slow walking zombies!).

Graphically the game looks amazing. In my opinion the only other games that look this good (playing in full HD 1080p) are COD4, GOW2 and Fifa 09. I would go as far as to say it may be the best game I've ever seen on the 360 in terms of graphics. Gameplay is also fantastic. It is pretty much the same as RE4 so if you liked the way that played, you'll like this. My only complaints with the similarity's to RE4 are when killing a 'zombie' they drop various items from ammo to money. This really takes away from the classic survival horror RE format. Another is when passing between chapters in the game you can buy items, sell items and upgrade weapons from a shop. Where is this magic shop? Again I really think this takes away from the survival horror aspect and is turning RE into more of an action RPG.

There are however differences from RE4 which are mainly due to the co-op aspect of the game. Now it doesn't matter if you plan to play on your own or with a partner this is a co-op game. There are many points during the game where you require both players working together to proceed, most are simply a large door that requires both players to open (more a block to stop one player going to far ahead than anything else). Most of these co-op essential moments are unnecessary and some can even be avoided - I don't really see the point. If you play on your own the role of Sheva, your trusty sidekick is played by the CPU. Playing on Amateur or Normal she isn't that much of an issue however anything harder and she really is useless. I would suggest giving her a pistol with about 10-20 bullets and nothing else (or the cattle prod when you get it as it doesn't run out of ammo!). If you give her more ammo/other guns she will waste them. Another rather annoying habit is that she will heal you even when not seriously injured - using a full health spray or red/green herb mix when your health is at 50-60%. For these reasons (as well as it being more fun) I would suggest playing co-op with a friend, although one slight grievance is when playing co-op on one Xbox the screen split isn't great. The split is horizontal and not all the way across the screen (as if playing in two windows within the screen). I think this would be much better if it was the full screen split into two (or maybe even vertical). Again having to play the full game in co-op takes away from the survival horror aspect which RE games are famous for.

Overall I think this is a very, very good game but it doesn't get 5 stars from me because of the frankly unnecessary co-op system. While those who favour the direction RE has gone in since number 4 will maybe think this a good addition to the game, I think this is going too far away from the original format. This, in my opinion is nothing like a survival horror (there's that phrase again!) game is more of an action/shooter/RPG. Get rid of the co-op, shop, zombies dropping items and bring back ye old RE format for number 6 please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definate Must Have, 8 April 2009
By 
Glen Hibbs (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a person who's relatively new to Resident Evil games I think this is brilliant. The gameplay is action packed yet has its tense moments to keep you on the edge of your seat, and the upgradable weapons and bonus extras you get after completing the story give it great replayability. The graphics are truly amazing, probably the best I've seen on an Xbox 360 game.
The multiplayer consists of a really well incorporated co-op mode which really livens up the gameplay. Also, when you thought you'd done it all they recently released a Versus mode which is great fun.
A few bad points include the difficult controls and the fact you have to stand still when aiming... but this sticks true to the feel of the previous games in the series and you soon get used to the controls. Also the AI when playing solo on the story isn't very impressive, almost as if it was an after thought.

All in all its a really great buy and definately worth splashing you're cash for in my opinion!
Hope this helped :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Game, Same Old Resisdent Evil, 9 April 2009
By 
Mr. A. Jones (Shrewsbury, Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is one of the greats. As with the previous title RE4, it has the same over the shoulder view and similar control and menu layout. The main thing you can notice in this game is the level of character, map and SFX detail. I have been playing this game a lot since I have bought it and I still find it addictive.

My only complaint is the poor inventory system. The game provides you and your assistant with 9 item slots. This hasnt really been thought out as well as the previous title (RE4) which had an attache case with each item taking up a relative size in the case. In this game, the 9 item slots are all the same size. For example an egg, according to RE5, is the same size as a AK47 or and RPG. This I feel is a major let down which is why I have only given it a 4 for fun.

Other than that, a top notch game. Go buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the series so far., 24 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having just completed the wonderful RE4 I expected much from this game and I am happy to say that it delivers!!!! True it is very similar to RE4 in gameplay, style and even story but, hey, why change a winning formula.

The game looks so good. There is plenty of variety in backgrounds and settings and some gruesome monsters and enemies. Some of the monsters are old, like the dogs and chainsaw wielding bad guys, but there are many new ones, all rendered in great detail.

The story is pretty standard for this sort of game, but there are some interesting touches. I like what they have done with Jill Valentine, though I wouldn't want to spoil it here for anyone who is yet to play the game. (I did guess it before it is revealed}.

Sheva is a great addition and makes a useful sidekick. She gives a whole new dimension to the game, as you have to equip her with weapons and ammo etc..I also like the fact that you can play as Sheva when you have completed the games. It does actually make a difference to some of the scenes.

The weapon system is also a real plus in this game. Just like RE4 you can buy, sell and upgrade weapons. A fully upgraded magnum or shotgun is a hell of a weapon. There are so many different kinds of weapons as well. It all adds to the replay value of the game.

On top of that there are lots of other things to discover. Medallions to shoot which allow extras to be unlocked. Relics and gems to find and sell for cash. Also the higher grade you get for completing a level allows you to unlock even more extras. There is so much to find and some many extras etc... that combined with difficulty levels, being able to play as Sheva, mini games and so on, you could play this game many times and not discover it all.

The levels are mainly exploring, shooting, puazzle solving etc.. but there are a fair few vehicles to drive which give it a different feel and add variety.

There are various bosses littered around the game, some are easy but some are hard. The hardest I found were the one you encounter on the cargo ship and the battle with Wesker in the enemy base, (just before the final battle on the island after the plane crash).

I love this game and if you have access to XBOX Live there is going to be a new add on giving extra gameplay. Not sure exactly what it is but it is connected with the cut scene where you see the death? of Jill Valentine when she is thrown out of the castle window. Look forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360)
Resident Evil 5 (Xbox 360) by Capcom (Xbox 360)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews