Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its need for speed, but it isn't!
Back when the Xbox 360 was launched, EA released another incarnation of their Need for Speed franchise. It was a meek showcase of the power of the Xbox 360 and a suggestive view into the future. Unfortunately it had one big problem. Sure it had lots of flash cars, lots of parts to buy and some impressive visuals, but for the first time in a Need for Speed Underground...
Published on 14 Sept. 2006 by G. Lewis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A 3 out of 5 Because
The game is quite boring with its long boring drives to a race if you haven't driven to that race before also
boring because you win every race if you have the right car and obviously you'll always have the right car
so it's really boring.

The good points about this game is you can own houses all across Hawaii
there is fast travel so any road...
Published 7 months ago by thao thi taylor


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its need for speed, but it isn't!, 14 Sept. 2006
By 
G. Lewis "mgjjl" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Back when the Xbox 360 was launched, EA released another incarnation of their Need for Speed franchise. It was a meek showcase of the power of the Xbox 360 and a suggestive view into the future. Unfortunately it had one big problem. Sure it had lots of flash cars, lots of parts to buy and some impressive visuals, but for the first time in a Need for Speed Underground style game it introduced cops. This wouldn't normally be a problem if they weren't an integral part of the game and 45 minute chases weren't necessary to advance but they were. You could spend 40 minutes successfully avoiding capture then unwittingly drive over some spikes and you'll have just lost 40 minutes of your life you won't get back.

Now, imagine a game with the familiar free-roaming map, lots of flash cars, lots of challenges and cops. Sounds familiar doesn't it? Well, in many ways Test Drive unlimited is very similar, but only in the good bits. Instead of a made-up world you've got a scale representation of Hawaii, with miles and miles of roads, countryside and coastline. You've got a downtown area full of shops, car dealers, real-estate agents and diners. There is so much map to explore you probably couldn't see it all in one day.

At the start of the game you pick your avatar, get on a plane and soon you arrive in Hawaii. From here you rent a car, take a trip to the estate agents to buy your first house, then to a car dealer to buy your first car. After that it is up to you what you do. You earn money by entering races, completing set challenges and challenging other xbox live players as they pass.

If you are connected to the internet, other Xbox live players appear around you whilst they pursue their own single-player game. If you fancy a race with someone, flash your lights at them and plot a route to race on. If they accept you can attempt to show them your tail lights! Single player challenges appear in blue and multi-player challenges are in orange and you'll pass under their icons as you drive around. Entering a multiplayer event will launch a familiar lobby screen where you wait patiently for the other players to decide that they are ready. Waiting for people can get tiresome but luckily this isn't really essential. There are still hundreds of single-player challenges to do first.

As the money rolls in you can start buying more houses with bigger garages to store your cars. The cars in the game are split into 6 catagories - A to F. A-class cars are the fastest and most expensive and F are the slowest and cheapest. Most of the challenges are locked to a certain catagory of car, so you need at least one of each, but the more the merrier!

As I've mentioned, there are police in this game, but they're a side effect rather then a necessary evil. If you don't hit other cars and annoy them you need not worry about them. Phew.

This game has tons to do, loads of achievements to get and the integration with Xbox live is seamless. There are lots of great cars, ranging from the old American muscle cars to the more modern Aston Martins, Ferarri's, Lambo's, Alfa Romeo's, Audi, VW and many more, plus you can download more from Xbox Live Marketplace.

Cars handle like real cars. The car's weight shifts its balance and effects your cornering and there is no ridge-racer style powersliding. The physics engine is powered by Havok, who are renowned for realistic physics in many games.

Forget what the demo was like, this is more polished, more fun and there is no time limit. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - racing superbly reinvented, 21 Jun. 2007
By 
Paul Blaney "blazctid" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this game. It has so much to do and the fact that you are doing this whilst cruising around Hawaii has got to be a boon. The thrill of racing a mate online dodging throught the traffic at 200mph and laughing as you jostle each other into a head on collision. True, the physics can be a little bit off, and some of the normo cars on the road can randomly swerve in your way every now and then, but it's superb.

Just finished first in the around the island race. The feeling of racing your fully tuned Pagani Zonda at speeds of ~230mph, with the Maclaren F1, Ferrari Enzo and a Maserati on your tail / bumping you / overtaking you / eventually being beaten by you, a full 120mile race at an average of well over 180mph, it's just WOW! Imagine if you'd crashed at the last minute and all 3, who have been with you all the way, go flying past and you have to race again!!! There were 8 cars in the race and the other 4 were quite a few miles behind at the end.

No other game can surely say that collecting gamerpoints is as fun as on TDU.

BUY NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first hour..., 10 Sept. 2006
By 
Glen Bowman (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
.. in my first hour i choose how i actually look, rented a red lotus, bought 2 customised chevys, took some supermodels shopping, lashed some audi's and vw's, mucked around with sat nav and the car windows, bought a house, got chased by the cops for smashing into a SUV, hooked up the LIVE-ness and started racing and chatting with people all over the world around the fairly huge island of honolulu - flash your lights and away you go.

Graphics are lush and detailed, handling is decent;not quite arcade, not quite simulation, music seemed fine, enjoyed playing it really.

The potential of this to me seems huge and I can see this taking up a large amount of my time. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Test Drive Unlimited, the next gen racer!, 21 Aug. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Many people have given this game a few bad reviews, but they are mainly basing their views on the demo, which at the moment is a work in progress and mentions at the beginning it will not be the final version and can contain problems.

Anway, apart from that, Test Drive Unlimited is the next generation racing game that has been long anticipated. The game includes 125 vehicles, including cars and motorbikes, countless challenges where you can simply pull up to another racer in the game, roll down your window and talk through your headset to the other person saying, "wanna race?" And you're immediatly in one. Since this game is an MOOR (Massively Open Online Racer) almost all the racers driving around the island are real people that you can chat to.
The setting of the game is 1000miles of open roads on Hawaii's Oahu Island, where you can literally drive anywhere you want in it.

As for the Online part of the game again, as i mentioned before, you can start up a race immediatly after challenging someone. Also in online mode you can chat with friends, auction off your cars, create clubs where all your friends can hang out and compete against other clubs. If you haven't seen any screenshots or videos of the game, I suggest you do, the graphics put into the game follow up with the title of the next generation racer, including interiors made to perfection.

The creators of Test Drive Unlimited want to give you the feel that you are actually on Oahu Island and they try to include small bits of detail that are realistic, including the Ferries that cruise around the Island on the actual paths in real life.

This game is the start of the next generation racer games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations by a long shot., 15 Jun. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game thinking it was a completely random plan for a game and it would be really hard to make a whole game with just driving around an island somewhat aimlessly, without even being able to get out of the car aswell. But all that seems pointless when you actually pick up the game and play it.

Being able to pick your first car own house and making your way up from having an audi TT, to a ferrari enzo. A Ford mustang, to a lambourghini murcialago. And the game, is not actually as pointless as you may think. You can buy over 40 houses, compete in races competitions that will increase your rank, and the obvious thrill of collecting all the cars.

This game, it has to be said is the best driving game i've ever played and will last me a long time. Being able to travel around a whole island and meet anyone you like if you go to the right destination with little lag time. But then again I am only talking about the pros, and with all games there are always cons.

-Its hard to stay in touch with someone you meet over test drive unlimited,you can see them yes but only for a short while, and yes I do know there is a lock on feature located in the D-pad menu, but it dosent seem to work half of the time

- The cars being indestructible, I mean you either love that or you hate it, but for me it takes the whole experience of driving out of it, you should be able to feel like its realistic crashing into a wall with a ferrari enzo in real life, you'd think all hell has broken and you'd have to buy a new one but now you can do whatever you like with it and its just gonna keep on going. I mean yes there is the police to try and stop you and arrest you but they seem about as effective as a cat trying to catch a dog.

-It seems somewhat to easy to build up your money, within a week i was able to buy the konensigg CC&S The lambourghini murcialago and 4 other cars of that standard. The way into raise your money up is far too easy.

Other then these somewhat minimal faults, I find the game to be quite brilliant, and I would reccomend anyone else to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just a Game, 6 Jun. 2007
By 
E. J. Chaudhry "meme-jamoy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Test Drive Unlimited was the reason why i bought my xbox 360 last summer...never before have i seen a game with such depth. I mean, 1,000 miles of roads, including highways, and some B-road equivelants that sweep throught the mountains...that said, the actual handling physics of the cars isn't that great, but you do get a sense of how the car is going to react. And all the cars are different in that respect...for instance the Lotus Exige S feels like a go kart in comparison to say a Ford GT...The roads themselves are a bit less well conceived, being overly to angular to allow the cars to run over smoothly at times, conside 90mph over a hill and the car takes off, and it's supposed to be a motorway...:S but then again, you never do 90. The cars are the main attraction to this, as well as the interactive play with other people. It really is great. The amount of cars/bikes you can buy is massive, and all the houses you can buy. You can even tune the vast majority of the cars, even the Ferrari's, Lambo's, and bikes. Cars such as the Saleen S7 twin turbo which has been tuned can hit speeds nudging 280mph, with a fair amount of slip stream and downhill...you can also download cars from xbox live, such as the RS4, Skyline, Ferrari F40, RUF RTurbo etc. It's crazy that you can actually realistically clock up mileage on each car you own. You can even find out how many miles you have done in total, and find out your total playtime. Apparently i've done 12,000 miles in a year spread over 20 odd cars...thats alot of miles. you also have 4 stage traction control, on, sport, hypersport and off. depending on the car's characteristics. The attention to detail is incredible on the game in general, especially the interior of every car. The sound isn't great, as it seems alot of the car's sounds have been shared. But as i said before, the depth is immense. If you're anything like me, and into cars and driving and doing a legal (but fake...) 250mph than you will never get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need from a racer, in one island, 11 Sept. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At the time of writing this review, all the Amazon.co.uk reviews of Test Drive Unlimited were written prior to release and are based on the Demo version only. Here's a review based on the full retail version.

When I first heard about Test Drive Unlimited I was excited by the prospect of a persistent driving experience which seamlessly mixes single player and online gameplay. However, like some of the reviewers on this page, I was disappointed by the seemingly lacklustre demo.

However after a bad week at work and the need for some retail therapy I decided to buy the game on the day of release, and boy am I glad that I did!!!

I literally did nothing all weekend but play TDU. The game really kicks off when you have a purpose. Your presence online is pivotal to this game. Everything you do is aimed at climbing the ranks to open up more races and challenges, which in turn get you the much needed money in order to buy the best you gan get in each vehicle class. Then take those vehicles out on the road and burn rubber with anyone in the world, either through preset races, challenges created by yourself or other players in the community, or the quick thrill of challenging any player you meet on the road to a quick one-on-one race. The island is truly virtual.

The graphics look a hell of a lot more polished than the demo and the engine sound is very convincing and unique for each vehicle. My favourite camera position is the photo-realistic in-cabin view - it actually feels like you are sitting in the car even down to the visible hand movments of the driver. You even get insect smears on the windscreens. So much attention to detail!

Oh yes, and last night I drove through a flower bed, so I think they fixed one of the major issues Lost had with the demo.

The cars handle brilliantly with a realistic sense of weight, momentum and power. The only slightly dubious handling issue is the fact tha all the cars seem to turn on a dime when performing a U-turn at unter 10mph, so doing a U-turn feels a little unrealistic. However, I'm prepared to overlook that as having to do a three-point turn whenever you want to set off in an opposite direction could prove unecessarily tiresome.

I'm tempted to give this a 5 simply because it is so much fun, but 5 would mean 100% perfect which is a tough one to call. There are a number of features which could have been included - for instance a damage model for the player cars (nd an associated cost to fix) would not only have been more realistic, but would discourage those online players who prefer to just barge people off the road to get ahead rather than using dring skills.

However, TDU is what we got, and what we got is by far the best semi-realistic racer I have ever played (Burnout Revenge being the best 100% arcade racer). Four stars then, and a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a brillent game the details of all the cars are brillent and the selection of both cars and bikes are really good the challenges are really good and can test the player a must but for any car lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time to drive unlimited!, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
Ian Johnson "Ian" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The amount of 1* reviews for this game is shameless.

This game is one of those for people who like racing and free-roaming, hence "unlimited" being in the title, you start off in an airport looking at a number of people waiting for a plane (these people are actually your character choices) you pick one and they get on the plane. Next thing you know, you're in Hawaii, choosing a car from a rental service in order to go to an estate agents (yes, you have to buy a house, to keep your cars in) and then from there you buy a car.

After you've bought a car you can go out and do races, but bear in mind that cars are classed in this game, from "G" to "A", so you are only eligible for certain races with certain cars. The races themselves are fairly easy to begin with but get a bit more challenging as your progress, the "Tour of the Island" race being a good example of this as it takes close to an hour to finish the entire race, but getting $1,000,000 for it is well worth the time taken.

Now, cars, there are plenty of brands to choose from in the game, and plenty of dealers dotted around the island to find (you have to travel to the dealer in order to unlock it) for those who like driving to places, this is heaven, but it does get annoying when there's like a 50-mile distance to travel and the only car you have is in class G. Some brands that I can think of are:

-Nissan
-Volkswagen
-Saturn
-Ford
-Alfa Romeo
-Ferrari
-Lamborghini
-Aston Martin
-Spyker
-Koenigsegg
-Caterham
-Noble
-Ducatti (bikes are in the game after finding ALL car dealerships, takes a while)
-Pontiac
-Mercedes

So as you can see there is a HUGE variety of cars to choose from, and, they handle realistically! Yes, the slow cars are slow, and the fast cars are fast.

Now, here's one problem (with the xbox 360 version) sometimes, after you've finished the "Tour of the Island" race your data can become corrupted, meaning you can't reload it and have to start again, this is a relatively minor problem (dependant on your view) but it is annoying as you'll have to build up your fortune again.

So, in summary I would recommend getting this game, as it is a refreshing departure from the standard racing games and offers a unique setting (Hawaii) and an abundance of cars to choose from, if you can see past problems then it is a brilliant little game.

Also, this is NOT Xbox 360 only, it's also on:
PS2: Test Drive Unlimited (PS2)
PC: Test Drive Unlimited (PC DVD)
PSP: Test Drive Unlimited (PSP)

Although the PS2 and PSP versions are lacking features present in the PC and 360 versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Try it out on Xbox live 360 now, it'll have you pre-ordering for September, 15 July 2006
By 
Amazonian Native (Amazon Rainforest) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was due out late 2005 and has been put back several times, at least you can now try the game out on Xbox Live to see what's in store for it's September release.

On first impressions I was a little dissapointed with the graphics, they are good, and rich looking in colour, but they just don't have that real life look that other games seem to do better such as PGR 3, they have a distinct pastelly dry look to them, imagine Forza Motorsport, they look just like that.

But that aside the cars and driving experience excel, and are arguably the best ever created in a console video game, I have NEVER heard a cars engine from inside the car sound as realistic as this, the Lotus is frightening! it's deep, throaty and aggressive, and would have Jeremy Clarkson waving his hands in the air and jumping up and down with excitement, what's more, each car has it's own distinct sound, so when you try the 3 different cars available in the demo you'll notice the engine sound will be different in each one, and the handling too, this makes a joke of the ultra arcadey NFS series, where they build an entire games career around unlocking the cars only for them to all handle exactly the same, and if your like me and drive with the bumper view; all look the same; all you see is tarmac. In Test Drive you get the actual drivers view inside the car like in PGR3, and it's fantastic, I'd say there is even more detail in the Test Drive versions than in the PGR cars.

The game consists of Races, time trials etc, situated in different places all over the island of Hawaii, and you start the game in your flashy condo, complete with it's own huge garage of supercars, just walk into the garage, choose your motor and a screen will show you driving out in your car, then you can roam the entire island looking for whatever you want, or use the teleport option to get to where you want to go right away.

The game is somewhat limited in one respect, basically no matter how many tracks the game has, it's all in one environment, something you may tire of, it was the same with NFS Most Wanted, but the island feel reminds me of the phenomenal TT Superbikes on the PS2, set in the Isle of Man, so roaming around an entire island in glorious sunshine might just be more interesting than I'm giving it credit for.

The Test Drive series was always NFS's poor relation in the past, even though it's been going longer, the two series were very similar, both focused on sports cars in various worldwide locales, with the emphasis on outlandish speed, with the TD Series peaking IMO with TD5, it then threw it's rep away with the awful TD6 , and later the somewhat lukewarm TD Overdrive was passable, but the handling was poor. Now they have really pulled out all the stops, and for the first time in years I'd say the latest TD game is a 'serious' racing game that blows NFS and others out of the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360)
Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
£22.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews