Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Shoots, It Scores..... Much to my Surprise!
Critics delivered early sights of 'Goal' by hailing it as the 'Rocky' of football (or soccer for those states based commentators!).

I have to say that 'Goal' is by no means an on the pitch reflection of boxing saga 'Rocky'. But the film, however, delivers a plentiful punch in it's portrayal of a young man who longs to pursue his dream to become a world class...
Published on 30 Jun. 2006 by Mr. Sean Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE DAY I`M GOING TO BE A TOP FOOTBALLER
The title says it all . Many have the dream . This film makes it look like "Roy of The Rovers " had it easy . A film where your own father has a low -level American dream for you , but you have your own dream . A former Newcastle scout sees "a talent " and promises him a "try-out" if he can travel from the USA to "The Toon " , Newcastle . But has he got "it" to cut his...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by ALAN BOWMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Shoots, It Scores..... Much to my Surprise!, 30 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. Sean Harris "The H" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Critics delivered early sights of 'Goal' by hailing it as the 'Rocky' of football (or soccer for those states based commentators!).

I have to say that 'Goal' is by no means an on the pitch reflection of boxing saga 'Rocky'. But the film, however, delivers a plentiful punch in it's portrayal of a young man who longs to pursue his dream to become a world class football player.

Story: The story centres around a young man in Brazil who longs to chase the dream of every youngling and run onto the turf rubbing shin pads with soccer heroes and lead his team to victory. His life, however, is entangled in poverty and strict family vaules and so the thought of playing football at even a semi-pro level is in it's simplest form only a dream. Everything changes though when a former scout for Newcastle United shows up to watch a game and realises that this young man may have more to offer than simple kick-a-bouts with pals in Brazil.

Pros: As a Newcastle dweller, it is awe injecting to see how the filmakers have captured the beauty of the North East and based their entire story around Newcastle United and the football injuiced passion that embraces so many people in this city. Even if you've only visited Newcastle or fancy paying it a visit - this film will highlight the fact that Newcastle upon Tyne remains one of the UK's greatest cities to the eye. The whole filmography is well placed together, and compliments a great story of two worlds in the life of the young rising Newcastle player.

Cons: The film, though moving in moments, at times falls prey to the genre and juxtaposition that is only known as 'cheese'. And, sadly at times the acting seems to be pushed to it's limits when the story's actors are delivering more emotion than decent or sound dialouge. That said; the film is fronted with a league of actors who seem to lead the film to the glory it deserves by the final scenes. Some of the stars of St James' Park also make a appearence.

Best Bit: Alan Shearer's moment of humour in the fitness suite is worthy of a laugh. A definitive moment of comedy, even if you're a fan of soccer and Shearer or not.

Worst Bit: David Beckham tries to deliver a few words of the script in a night club to the newly raised Newcastle Star - but his ability to do so reminded me that neither him nor his wife were cut out for such roles (do you remember Spice the Movie?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good honest film, 24 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Tempted to give it five stars, because of how much I enjoyed it, but there's no disguising the fact that this is not a 100% classic. But it's a bit like 'You had me from "Hello"' ... the kid who plays the young Santiago so clearly just loves the game (and can really play). I was hooked from the opening shots and never came unhooked.

As others have said, the main plotline is not original, but this is an honest, decent telling of it, and it does manage a few little twists along the way. Yes, there is a little bit of cheese, and some of the acting is clunky (at least Shearer doesn't make a total tit of himself, and Zidane has the sense to make his half-line more or less unintelligible) but there is also bags of real emotion, by which I mean it moves you the way that football can move you. There are also some very nicely done secondary themes.

Some of the football is a little unconvincing (if you were brought up watching Norman Hunter or Chopper Harris you may find, as I did, that some of the tackling was a bit nancy) but the feel of the games is very convincing - reserve matches in front of next to nobody, and the scenes at St James Park are surprisingly strong - and actually the football itself in the big finale game is some of the best in the film.

I see that some of the reviewers have liked it because they're Geordies. I'm not, I'm from Leeds, but I completely agree that some of the cinematography around Newcastle is stunning. OK so I like it partly because it's a decent view of a northern city. Similarly, nobody will fail to recognise which Premiership manager they've based their fictional Newcastle manager on (it's no spoiler to say it's a London club) but so what. If you enjoy football at all you will surely enjoy this film. A fiver and a couple of hours well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars goal, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Goal is a classic rags to riches story in which santiago munez (kuno becker) trys to achieve his dream of becoming a proffesional football player. He starts with nothing but a football and a picture of the world cup , but using his gift and a bit of luck he manages to make it from the LA suburbs to newcastle united but with a lot of trial and tribulations, gain and loss.
How will he end up?

===Acting===
Considering i had not heard of any of the actors in this film before , apart from the many cameos from famous footballers, the actors do a very good job. The standard is high and beleivable and their is no amateurish mistakes or actions , everything is smooth from beggining to end. The unkown actors really work in the films favour as its about a nobody trying to achieve a dream and that it could be anyone.

===Filming===
This film has a lot of action camera scenes as they get as close to the football as possible and want to make the viewer feel as involved as possible. Alot of the filming of football matches was real footage and after the game they would ask the teams back out onto the pitch and send in the actors to recreate big moments alongisde real footballers.

===Script===
The script is well written and allows alot of different emotions into the film , the story has lots of sadness, love and happieness. It all falls into place quite well. The script feels realistic again and its not made to be over the top as the story is kept low profile and mundane so it feels realistic.

===DVD extras===
The dvd features a lot of extras including documentaries on how the movie was made and behind the scenes, their is also audio commentaries and golden moments from the world cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONE DAY I`M GOING TO BE A TOP FOOTBALLER, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
ALAN BOWMAN "KREATIV KILDE" (NORWAY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The title says it all . Many have the dream . This film makes it look like "Roy of The Rovers " had it easy . A film where your own father has a low -level American dream for you , but you have your own dream . A former Newcastle scout sees "a talent " and promises him a "try-out" if he can travel from the USA to "The Toon " , Newcastle . But has he got "it" to cut his name in the turf of the English League . One muddy try-out later and he fails . But the scout believes in him . And with the help of " inspiracion " the Spanish speaking hopeful battles through .
Some great use of aerial photography give panoramic views of Newcastle and him training alone on the beach running through a resistant rain which symbolises his real struggle to breakthrough.
The acting is more 3 star but the story captivating . I nearly wanted to cheer him through to make it . Getting out of the reserves is one struggle how much resource is there lying in him . Vain hope or top talent ? Great film-story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment., 11 Jun. 2006
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am not a football fan. On the first day of the World Cup, this DVD arrived from Amazon rentals. I can't even remember listing it, but must have done. Great.

Well, in fact it's a damn good film. Poor boy overcomes problems to achieve success; yes it's been done before, but a couple of things mark this one out. Lots of interesting characters- especially our hero Nunez (Kuno Becker). Lots of cameo appearances-but was that really Sven? How did he get the time? The whole thing has a feel good appeal. And the cinematographer has rightly made Newcastle look beautiful. Some stunning shots of the Tyne. A bit of irony here, the poor boy coming over from L.A (which looks a right dump), home of Hollywood, to achieve fame in a formerly industrial northern English city, now looking very classy.

Definitely worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Footy Flick ever?, 27 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a 3 star film really, football fans add 1 star, Geordies add 2 stars.(Im a Geordie)Probably the best film ever made about football, but to be fair there isnt much competion. The story follows a young Mexican footballer living in poverty in Los Angeles, who is discovered by an ex football scout and given a trial for Newcastle United.
Filmed mostly in the North East, Newcastle films brilliantly, with excellent panaramic sweeps of the city.
New boy Kuno Becker takes the lead and gives quite a moving if some what schmaltsy performance, while Anna Friel plays the love interest with quite an impressive Geordie accent and Alan Shearer manages his line!
The film is very American at times, but this doesnt detract from the fairly fast pace too much. The football scenes are well mixed with live action and there are several cameos including Beckham, Raul, Zidane and Brian Johnson from AC/DC. The sondtrack is excellent featuring some classic Brit pop anthems.
All in all this is very entertaining and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST IN THE FRANCHISE, 29 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
GOAL...WHAT A GOAL BY SANTIAGO MUNEZ,OH WHAT A WICKED PLAYER HE IS WISH HE WAS REAL FOOTBALLER,IF HE WAS REAL NEWCASTLE WOULD WIN THE PREM AND I AINT CHATTIN,I HAVE WATCHED BOTH GOAL AND GOAL 2 AND TO BE HONEST...GOAL IS THE BEST BETTER THEN GOAL 2 BY A LITTLEBIT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I bought this for my son as he had read the book in school and had loved the book. He was very impressed with the film and thought that it had stayed true to the book. He thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend the book and the film to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goal DVD, 31 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Product arrived too late for Christmas as the previous ordered copy had been "lost". Not at all happy about this or the fact that this item arrived too late for Christmas as this was a present for my 10 year old's father!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab film, 30 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goal! [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am an honourary Geordie and have adopted NUFC completely - my brother has no interest in football at all and I was worried he wouldn't enjpy the film - he loved it, I loved it and of course my Geordie boyfriend loved it. It's not just about football and it's not just a chick flick - it's spot on in the way it portrays how the North East feel about their football - I was chuckling to myself the whole way through the film ! By the end of it my brother wanted to go to St James's and see a game, and me and my hardened Geordie boyfriend both ahd tears in our eyes - A fantastic film - can't recommend it enough ! It couldnt have been filmed in a better location either :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goal! [DVD] [2005]
Goal! [DVD] [2005] by Danny Cannon (DVD - 2006)
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews