Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the dog's bollocks in aspect to follow please.
Well, as usual for me I come to this movie well behind the herd since I only just saw it. Viewed this far down the line, frankly all the fuss that's been made about it strikes me as a bit daft.

Apart from the fact that it ditches a conventional narrative it seems to contain all the elements typifying a standard Guy Ritchie flick: memorable larger-than-life...
Published 9 months ago by Richard

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a crime against cinema by any means
Neither the total disaster the UK critics claimed nor the misunderstood masterpiece its few fanboys insist, Revolver is at the very least an admirable attempt by Guy Ritchie to add a little substance to his conman capers. But then, nothing is more despised than an ambitious film that bites off more than it can chew, especially one using the gangster/con-artist movie...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5--It's not Ritchie's best, but it's not a total mess either, 29 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Guy Ritchie says he got into the film business because he always wanted to direct entertaining movies. And his latest crime thriller "Revolver" is exactly that. It's heavily flawed and utterly ridiculous, but at least it's entertaining. The story, confusing as it is, focuses on Jake Green (Jason Statham), a quick-witted gambler who puts his life on the line when he insults Dorothy Macha (Ray Liotta), a powerful casino owner. After Macha orders his ruthless killers to take him out, Jake seeks shelter with two con men offering to protect him in return for his fortune.

"Revolver" is as chaotic as a massive shoot-out in which it's nearly impossible to figure out who's shooting whom. Ritchie's script is a total, pseudo-philosophical mess, digging deep into the intricacies of the human ego. Ritchie also plays around with certain rules and formulas to pull off the ultimate con, but the whole game concept is ludicrously over the top. Meanwhile, the characters spend most of the time tossing around wise rules instead of delivering a coherent exchange of dialogue. "You can only get smarter by playing a smarter opponent" or "The greatest enemy will hide in the last place you would ever look" are just two of a horde of examples. The film also ends with a major twist, but if you haven't lost track of things or even care enough to stay focused until the end, chances are you won't be surprised.

I initially expected more from the actors, but they're certainly not in their best shape. Jason Statham is always good at playing tough guys looking for trouble, and he's undoubtedly the only cast member to put on a good show as Jake Green. Ray Liotta struggles in the role of malicious casino tyrant, but the only intimidating thing is his underwear. He really could've worn more clothes. As for Andre Benjamin and Vincent Pastore, their shallow performances almost go unnoticed.

On a more positive note however, "Revolver" is incredibly fast-paced and action-loaded. No matter how confusing or ludicrous the plot really is, the movie is stuffed with hot pursuits and crazy shoot-outs, captured stylishly by cinematographer Tim Maurice-Jones. In the end, despite the crippled script, Ritchie's direction and vision give way for some extravagant but compelling sequences that will keep the entertainment boat afloat for 105 minutes. I recommend this flick to Ritchie fans who are glad he dumped "Swept Away" and returned to the action genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for a Region 1 version, 14 Dec 2007
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the trend towards negativity in the other reviews this movie has received here, this film was in fact an excellent movie. No it was not a Lock Stock or Snatch type of movie, no it did not follow the mold of some of these movies Guy Ritchie has done in the past few years, but it was still an excellent work.

The acting is trashed because the characters being portrayed are not your usual characters, and so what is actually an extremely difficult role very well done is seen as poor acting. The film is confusing because it is meant to have depth, to make you think, and unlike Lock Stock and Snatch it has a theme. This movie has a MESSAGE. It is not a clear message because it is not an easy one to understand, and I'm not even sure if the makers of the movie meant it to come out this way, but there is a definite message in this movie that is clearer and more effectively communicated than about any other movie I've seen which touches similar topics.

In this movie you still get the gangster/mobster type professional killer characters, you still get the feel and plot type of a Snatch or Lock Stock movie, and the plot is as good or better than those movies, but in addition you have a depth and richness of meaning that was not present in those earlier works. While unconventional, and not easily understood to those looking for mindless action and excitement, this is a truly great movie and stands apart as one of a kind for all it attempts and, more importantly, PULLS OFF in a manner that, if you're open to it, will truly stun you. I won't even attempt to discuss the meaning of this movie in a mere review, I'll just say there is meaning in a way I wish more movies had the guts to attempt. See the movie, watch it multiple times, and I hope you will understand the message there. It is well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obscure nonsense, 13 Sep 2012
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Multi-layered? Thought provoking? No doubt both of these, but along the way there is not much fun, and a creeping sense that all you are watching is an exercise in self-conscious profundity by Guy Ritchie. He is a great director, but he overreaches himself badly here: make a clever film by all means, but not one that is too tricksy to entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A***, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
This film surprised me with it's depth and ingenuity. the added bonus of Jason Statham makes it a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CHECKMATE, 19 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
The movie opens with Jason getting out of prison. The opening line sets the tone for the movie "One thing I've learned in the last seven years: in every game and con there's always an opponent, and there's always a victim. The trick is to know when you're the latter, so you can become the former."

There is a lot of first person narration by Statham. If the first few minutes we know he is being scammed and will somehow turn the scam on his scammers. The story becomes, who is scamming who? There are a lot of criminals and tough guys in this casino based story. Ray Liotta plays a casino manager/crime boss who has placed a hit on Jason, while bad guy Vincent Pastore plays a loan shark who protects Jason...for a price. Jason knows he is being conned, but what is it? How does he recover?

The soundtrack is good and a constant throb. Statham's narration becomes a little annoying, but it is a major part of the film. There were a few times I thought I was watching Tarantino, especially with the cartoons. This is not your typical Statham, wears the shades, jumps on roof tops action film. It has none of that. As the film progresses, it get weirder. I would love to give you a spoiler review, except I wasn't sure I understood the ending. Good Luck.

F-bomb, brief nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is not Lock Stock 3!, 28 Dec 2006
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Now a lot of people don't like this film because it's not like Lock Stock and they don't understand it. I don't believe that it deserves so many negative reviews because it's a brilliant film that actually makes you think.

I saw it at the cinema originally and I was very confused for a lot of the movie, yet still appreciated the brilliant directing. The second time I watched it I loved it and pretty much understood the whole thing. Now I've bought it on DVD.

This film is very well done. It's not for everyone, but despite personal opinion, it is a movie masterpiece. Guy richie at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Tries to be too clever', 17 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Guy Ritchie tries too hard in this film to make things over complicated and tries to be too clever. The constant repetition of quotes gets on my nerves and at the end where i expected it all to fit together....it leaves the viewer asking questions and drawing their own conclusions. This is frustrating as a constant watcher of films and it has to be said Guy has made worst but he has done alot better with films like snatch. On the up side Jason Slatham is superb and really gets into his character. Overall this film is good for a bit of action and if you want your mind twisted into ways you never thought possible but not if you want a satisfactory conclusion....a generous four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revolver-make up your own mind, 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Ok we have all read the terrible reviews that Revolver had here in the UK, I like most (considering its terrible perfomance at the cinema)have waited for the film to be released on DVD.
In a nutshell its not that bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Without doubt this film had the makings of being as good as Snatch or Lock Stock as the main story is good, but it was let down by some stupid sub plots and some animation sequence that was great in Kill Bill but not in this movie
This film is not hard to follow as most of the reviews I have read its just a little too clever for its own good.
I suggest you see the film for yourself and make uo your own mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 2 April 2006
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
Most people i know who saw this film found it boring and complicated. that's what happens when you don't think during a movie such as this, in the respect the film deserves 4 stars for even engaging the audience.
The performances were spectacular, the only weak point being Ray Liotta before the films ending where it seems to lose momentum. do not expect another crime comedy film, this is a more thought provoking film that has been edited so that you are constantly guessing and working out what has happened.
This movie is a con in itself, follow the rules that they state through out and you will find it a lot more engaging.
definitely worth a watch, though not as a "lad" flick i would say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolver, 24 Mar 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the reviews, I decided to watch this; there can't be a bad Guy Ritchie film, can there? Revolver can be parallelled with The Usual Suspects, it is totally intrigueing and has so many twists and turns in the plot you dare not miss a minute. For me, the intrigue has to be there to keep me interested, but obviously the critics want a film they don't have to think about, with every answer dropped into their lap. Revolver is very thought provoking, but you must keep watching or you will become lost within those avenues and alleyways and the film will make no sense at all. As an amateur crime thriller fiction writer I would be proud if Revolver had been one of my titles - it's fascinating, and this is the reason why I enjoyed it so much. A copy of the DVD is worthwhile as you may need to watch it a second time, and this makes it value for money. And with so many of those twists and turns, you're not going to get bored even on a fifth or sixth viewing, because there's bound to be some titbit you missed before. This is my kind of movie, I enjoyed it immensely and even found myself thinking about it for a couple of days afterwards, wondering if I really had sussed everything out? There's nothing worse than a film (or book) which lays everything out on a plate for you, then next morning it's forgotten. Great! Keep 'em coming please, Mr. Ritchie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolver [DVD]
Revolver [DVD] by Guy Ritchie (DVD - 2006)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews