Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filling your head again
As a long-time avid Rammstein fan, I was concerned that this was just a cuttings and scrapings collection following Reise Reise. I'd seen them testing Benzin live in Berlin during last year's tour and liked what I'd heard, but what about a whole album of stuff that basically wouldn't fit on Reise Reise? I needn't have worried. Sure, the first...
Published on 8 Mar 2006

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mneh...
I am a big fan of all past Rammstein albums, but in my opinion this one is just not as coherent as the others - you might be reaching for the 'skip forward' button before the end of some tracks. I do not think that this is the 'user-friendly' introduction to Rammstein - if anything, Herzeleid shows off their range pretty well! Nobody who does not like...
Published on 10 Jan 2006 by El Zilcho


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filling your head again, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
As a long-time avid Rammstein fan, I was concerned that this was just a cuttings and scrapings collection following Reise Reise. I'd seen them testing Benzin live in Berlin during last year's tour and liked what I'd heard, but what about a whole album of stuff that basically wouldn't fit on Reise Reise? I needn't have worried. Sure, the first couple of listens left me a bit lukewarm, but then the usual Rammstein obsession bit.
Simply, Rosenrot presents us with the guts of a giant stadium rock album. Anybody who has seen them in concert will argue that Rammstein are the world's ultimate live act, and the biggest songs on Rosenrot are clearly crafted to deliver giant anthems on giant stages, with all the theatricals and pyrotechnics that that involves. Rosenrot might lack some of the musical subtleties evident across Mutter or in parts of other albums, but there is a lot to enjoy here.
A solid start with Benzin is followed by the heavyweight single Mann Gegen Mann. After that, we're into three consecutive anthems, building to the enormous Wo Bist Du which will one day be a live centrepiece to rival Sonne and Ich Will. We're on a massive roll now, and the impetus is perversely maintained by an agonizing operatic duet with Texas' Sharleen Spiteri. Bizarre as it may sound, this comes over as a sort of Coldplay riff into German Bryn Terfel into Sarah Brightman wail, which may sound nauseating, but is actually haunting, tender and magnificent. You'll be humming it for days. It also provides a decent vocal stretch for Till Linderman, proving that he has genuine range and depth beyond the usual.
Thereafter, there is less that's truly remarkable - they function perfectly well as solid album tracks, but there's not much of the single or the stadium about them. However, the Mexican buzz of Te Quiero Puta! provides a great tongue-in-cheek diversion, up there with Mein Teil from the last album, and sure to be a lot of fun on stage.
All in all, Rosenrot is excellent. It's not Mutter, but then no other album ever could be. However, there's much here to love, and it makes a great progression from Reise Reise, though probably not an ideal "introduction to Rammstein" for a casual observer. Stick with Herzeleid or Mutter for that, then grow into this. Whatever you do, get into Rammstein - there's nothing else like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeds expectations by a huge margin, 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
I bought this CD with some trepidation having read some fairly lukewarm reviews. I was also slightly concerned at how soon it was released after the superb Reise,Reise. Would it contain the mediocre leftovers from that album?
Well, those concerns proved to be well wide of the mark - this album does not disappoint at all. There are the classic Rammstein riffs, the clever black humour in the lyrics and catchy choruses. But these teutonic titans are not afraid to experiment too. The rather unexpected and unlikely duet with Sharleen Spitieri is a hauntingly beautiful love song, while the Mexican oddity Te quiero Puta is hugely infectious. Rosenrot, Benzin and Spring stand out among the rest, but this is a great album from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great piece of work, 26 Jan 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
rammsteins fifth album,isnt a brand new album as such,for there are 6 songs that were ommitted from previous album reise reise along with 5 new ones,and sometimes an album of leftover tracks can be very dodgy,look no further than the shambles that was metallicas reload,however with rosenrot rammstein have released another brilliant album and deserve high praise.

rosenrot on first listen isnt as immediate as reise reise and thats hardly a shock as reise reise is pretty much perfection,but what although rosenrot may not be as good as reise and indeed mutter it starts to reveal itself after a few listens as a very dark but brilliant piece of work.

All the songs are great and even the inclusion of texas singer sharleen spiteri heightens what is an excellent song in 'stirb nicht vor mir (dont die before i do),the album contains some killer riffs and the attitude is spot on,the band still have a hunger that few can rival,so get this and you will be more than happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking follow up to 4 cracking albums!, 3 Nov 2005
This review is from: Rosenrot: +DVD (Audio CD)
Given that the previous four Rammstein albums have been excellent I was expecting them to have fallen down on this one. However I was mistaken. while keeping the same basic formula the boys have reduced some of the heavier stuff to give the album a more tuneful, melodic, even tender feel. Of course the CD does have its fair share of heavy metal. Particularly the track Mann Gegen Mann. In addition some new styles have been tried. The interesting Te Quiero Puta hs a good mix of spanish type music and good Rammstein signature. Overall the album has no poor tracks but it may not appeal to fans of really heavy tracks like Reise Reise and Mein Teil from the previous album.
The album is, like all the others going in a different direction which is what I like about the band. This means that their style does not stagnate and each album is refreshingly new.
Some standout tracks:
Benzin - the first single off the album. Very good upbeat song. If you haven't seen the video do, its great!
Mann Gegen Mann - A very good track makes a good anthem for the album whith its catchy chorus.
Wo Bist Du - A truly haunting track. Excellent chorus.
Stirb Nicht Vor Mir // Dont Die Before I Do - Half English half German, quiet, tuneful, thoughtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to perfection, 2 Jan 2007
By 
D. Q. RAMOS (Sintra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
I didnt like "Reise Reise", to me it was the poorest album, made for mass-chanting concerts, music seemed too similar and much of the same. It lacked that imagination and blend of heavy music with synth-futuristic sounds.

After that disappointment, i was very afraid to buy "Rosenrot", now im glad i took the risk.

This album is a very balanced piece of work, powerful, inspiring and as good as the 1st and 2nd albums at least ("Mutter" is a mark hard to surpass).

Favorites.. "Benzin", "Rosenrot", "Spring", "Wo Bist Du", "Stirb Nich Vor Mir" (the slow one in the album), "Zerstören" (perhaps my favorite of all the bunch), "Ein Lied"

Other songs arent bad, on the contraty, powerful "Mann Gegen Mann" or even entertaining "Te Quiero Puta!" (the comedy track). I cant seem to find a bad track in here.

In the present-days, listening to a new album with more than 5 good tracks is a rare thing, the majority here is excelent, the rest very good. That's enough for me to consider Rammstein in top-shape and cant wait to hear new stuff from them again.

If you love the first 3 albums, you wont be disappointed at all. 5 star to the art-cover also, "Mutter" and "Rosenrot" album-art are their best to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stepped it up a grade since Reise Reise, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Rosenrot: +DVD (Audio CD)
I hated reise reise, i mean i trully couldnt stand the album after mutter blew me away. I felt that songs like amerika somehow opened up rammstein into giving me a feeling of too much commercialism in terms of how the style of the music had changed.
I was actually abit reluctant to buy rosenrot but to be fair its pretty good. Its not on par with mutter but comes close. The album is growing on me and i dont care what people say Te Quiro puta is quite a cool song. Abit different but is that not what rammstein has always produced? weird and unusual songs with some heavy guitar riffs thrown in with weird melodic techno.
No this album wont dissappointment, its well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous classic Rammstein, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
Possibly the best packaged album I own, this is another fine album by Germany's finest. Still the recognisable Rammstein style with many variations in tempo and power in here and remarkably easy to get into. Perhaps not as powerful and consistent as Mutter, I still give this 5 stars as under the Amazon star system it deserves them because I LOVE this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Das ist gut, ich liebe dich... HIT, 28 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
First time for everything, so here goes... Rammstein have released yet another masterpiece. Admittedly this is a bit different from their previous albums but it still maintains all of the ingredients that we have come to expect from the band: heavy riffing, stomping rythms, haunting melodies and a streak of black humour running through as long and wide as the Danube.

I am not going to list all the tracks but suffice to say that "Spring" is now my all time favourite song by the band, "Wo Bist Du" just gets better and better with each listen (as does the whole album) and Te Queiro Puta, a sort of Ennio Morriconne meets tijuana meets industrial metal, reduces me to fits of laughter with every play.

A better album than Reise Reise for my money, but don't take may word for it... buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosenrot, 12 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosenrot: +DVD (Audio CD)
A very different album than Reise Reise but to be honest all R+ albums have been very individual.This album shows a growth and maturity that manifests itself into a sleek professional sound that loses none of the normal R+ punch.
The much talked about 'Te Queiro Puta' is extremely clever. R+ combine two contrasting styles to create a unique 'funky' song(I love this one for driving).
Wo bist du is beautiful (strange concept for a R+ song I know). The melody is haunting and very Ohne Dich.
The only song that disappointed me was Stirb nicht vor mir sung in duet with Sharleen Spiteri of Texas.Flake in a recent interview said he was embarrassed by this version and prefered the duet sung in German with Till and Bobo. Personally I agree with him as I think a lot of the beauty of this song is lost in translation.
If you are a hardened R+ fan that wants the same music :loud,hard and rough this is not the album for you. This is typical R+ ; distinct, accomplished and powerful.There are songs for all : melodic (Ein Lied), stomping (Mann gegen Mann),fast paced riffs (Zestoren).
Personally I love this album and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless, 10 Aug 2006
By 
crazyroofromengland (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rosenrot (Audio CD)
This album is so powerful. Typical Rammstein, slow songs, fast songs, all brilliant. Before this album came out, 'Seemann' and 'Buck Dich' were my favourite Rammstein songs. Now, 'Benzin' and 'Feuer und wasser' are vying for top spot. I saw 'Benzin' performed live last year in, Birmingham, and It stunned me, sent me into shock. It is so Rammstein, dramatic, powerful and so well made. Mr Lindeman is a fantastic singer, he could do opera if the band ever splits up. That wont happen though if they can achieve such brilliance on a fifth album. Arguably the greatest band of all time, but this can't be called there best album as they are ALL amazing. Long live Rammstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosenrot
Rosenrot by Rammstein (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews