Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 20 Oct 2005
By 
C. I. Parker "chrispduck69" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
Featuring ex members of the crockets this is everything you would have hoped they'd become. Often played by John Peel, this album shows why. Great melodies and catchy tunes yet at times dark and disturbing. One of the albums of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish Amazon would get their act together..., 30 Nov 2005
By 
S. Denyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
...it would be useful if the "correct errors" form allowed you to point out that they have the tracklisting wrong. In this case, the listing given is for an old demo release the band did rather than the US release of Tragedy Rocks.
The actual tracklisting is as follows:
1. Piano Intro
2. White Russian Galaxy
3. Lottery Winners On Acid
4. Baby Boom
5. Loosing My Hair
6. The Great Unknown
7. Here Comes The Suffering
8. Bad Vibrations
9. Opposite Ends
10. Howling At The Moon
11. The Miserabilist Tango
12. Girl Just Died
13. Gazillions Of Miniature Violins
14. Someone's Crying
Short review: fantastic stuff, and well worth importing. The US version has three more songs than the UK release.
Longer review: the biggest draw of The Crimea for me is Davey's lyrics -- acerbic, witty and pragmatic words set to cheerful indie pop. The most poppy songs here are Girl Just Died (a wonderful guitar-driven tune) and Lottery Winners On Acid, although tracks such as White Russian Galaxy, Baby Boom, Miserabilist Tango and the Beach Boys inspired Bad Vibrations also bounce and glide along smoothly.
It's the recently-written numbers such as Losing My Hair and Gazillions of Miniature Violins that are a particular draw for fans who've been following the band for a few years, though. They stand as evidence that the band have plenty more to give after this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 17 Oct 2005
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
This is a a fantastic band, the whole album is a beautiful soundscape of melodic, crazy, idiosyncratic songs. Within the great indie circus they will be very significant for years to come. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euphoric Tragedy, 5 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
It has been a long wait comrades...
The power, depth, pain and sheer scope of these ten tracks can not be overpraised. Davey Macmanus is a man possessed with a frightening desire for honesty and the gift of poetry that is capable of melting your spine. His lyrics speak of bleak brutality and gaping vulnerability beautifully wrapped by Johnny Marr/Bernard Butler-esque guitar from the frighteningly great Andy Norton. The layers of sound make the Flaming Lips seem tissue thin and the fragility renders Coldplay thick with cliche and monied baggage. These guys pick up the mantle of early Suede, take us on the road that the Manics lost too early and leave the listener in a place it is impossible to get home from. If you like being lost, jump in while there's still room...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty and melodic, 30 July 2006
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
The Amazon pages kept recommending this album and I eventually gave in and bought it - this is one of the best cds I've listened to in the past 6 months. The lyrics are good and the songs have memorable tunes. The vocals remind me occasionally of Mike scott from the Waterboys but unlike some other 'now' bands (clap your hands,Arcade fire etc) the guy can actually hit the notes without it sounding painful.

Best song - Bad vibrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENIUS, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
Owned the original release of the album for over a year. Hadn't taken it out of my CD player when this came out. Didn't think it possible but made a marked improvement on the earlier release. If you like intelligent and moving music buy this album. People will be listening to it in a thousand years time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band, 30 Oct 2005
By 
D. Williams "Welshboy" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
What an amazing album. There is not one duff song amongst them. I kind of don't want this band to be huge, which they will be. When you have found something special you want to keep it to yourself. However, more people deserve to listen to hand hear about the genius that is The Crimea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 5 Nov 2005
By 
S. Gilliver (Rydebäck, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
What an album. Skewed lyrics that are simultaneous bonkers, humourous and touching are complemented by the year's finest collection of melodies and sparkling arrangements. The Crimea make a mockery of the praise heaped upon this year's supposed bright new bands (with the exception of The Magic Numbers). Really, I can't praise this album enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best find of the year!!!, 6 Aug 2006
By 
Jacqueline (Dumbarton, Dunbartonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
I saw these guys by chance at T in the Park (we were really early and they were first on I think) and I loved them right away. Came Home and bought this album and haven't stopped listening to it since.

Every Song on this album is brilliant but the ones that are my favourites are Gazillions Of Miniature Violins, Baby Boom, White Russian Galaxy and Lottery Winners On Acid.

You must buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More, 20 May 2009
By 
Mark S. Hooper "Mr H "El Pais de Gales"" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tragedy Rocks (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of The Crocketts, at first listen this wasnt satisfying enough, but then I listened again and relistened, and naturally accepted that although quite similar to a lot of the material recorded by The Crocketts, including a re-do of the B-side Opposite Ends, any band has to move on. Maybe I just loved the punk side to the original band a bit more.

All the same, I have always felt that they deserve more international recognition, and from what I can gather they are now far from unknown in the likes of the US.

Buy it, love it, respect it. If you can see them live, Do So!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tragedy Rocks
Tragedy Rocks by The Crimea (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews