Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the box not best of
if you want a best of nirvana then get the cd album entitled "nirvana" as this is actually a best of a box of recordings - mostly home and demos.
i think it's worth it to hear the alternative versions - another version of rape me which has the same words but sounds so different because of the recording; the version of sliver has some different words; as does spank...
Published on 7 Feb. 2012 by Hannah

versus
40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's that noise?...Oh yes, the sound of barrel scraping
Fact - Nirvana were one of the most (if not THE most) exciting bands of the 90's who almost single handedly rescued the ears of discerning listeners from the 'hair metal' of the 80's. All of their studio albums are must-haves for any serious music fan.
So far, so good. A live album in the form of 'The Muddy Banks...' was expected bearing...
Published on 3 Nov. 2005 by Mr. A. Hinkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the box not best of, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
if you want a best of nirvana then get the cd album entitled "nirvana" as this is actually a best of a box of recordings - mostly home and demos.
i think it's worth it to hear the alternative versions - another version of rape me which has the same words but sounds so different because of the recording; the version of sliver has some different words; as does spank thru which is also sung in another key; sappy sounds different (one of the better versions of it) and the one i think is worth getting the album for (or at least downloading the track) is you know you're right which has a different feel and sound altogether from the studio recording as well as some different wording.
there's also a number of lesser known songs on this but unfortuneatly being live/demos/home recordings the sound quality is inconsistent; this is especially so with smells like teen spirit which is almost unhearable. overall this album is a little treasure for nirvana fans, especially if you don't have the box set (with the lights out) or other collections, and for those few who only know the main albums it's an enlightenment as to just how versitile/eclectic the sound of nirvana was(the recordings appear to span their entire musical career).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's that noise?...Oh yes, the sound of barrel scraping, 3 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
Fact - Nirvana were one of the most (if not THE most) exciting bands of the 90's who almost single handedly rescued the ears of discerning listeners from the 'hair metal' of the 80's. All of their studio albums are must-haves for any serious music fan.
So far, so good. A live album in the form of 'The Muddy Banks...' was expected bearing in minds their incendiary live performances (also check out the 'Live! Tonight! Sold Out! VHS/DVD) and then a greatest hits with a complete gem of a 'lost' song in 'You Know You're Right'.
Then it got worse. A 4 CD box set of rarities released last year that a) cost a lot of money and b) was really only for completists, bearing in mind it contained ropey demos that confirm why Nirvana didn't enjoy immediate success. However, there was still enough on it to (just about) justify a purchase with some excellent B-sides and covers but you kind of got the feeling the good bits could have been squeezed onto a single CD.
So then what does 'Sliver' bring? The highlights of the box-set with another 3 previously unreleased songs but hardly any of what I consider the. First question - why couldn't these have been put on the box set? The second - does this mean that Nirvana's back catalogue is to go the same way as many others with re-releases every couple of years with more 'lost' songs suddenly found?
For the record, the new songs really don't add anything and certainly aren't worth another £9 of anybody's money. The version of 'Spank-Thru' is not as good as the one on 'The Muddy Banks...' the one of 'Sappy' is not as good as the properly recorded version on the proper box set, and the mix of 'Come As You Are' is nowhere near as good as the original.
If you must have them why don't you just download the new ones off i-Tunes and save £7? Then put on 'In Utero' and listen to a band at the top of their game and not dregs that really should never have seen the light of day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Of The Box - A debateable title, 1 May 2006
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
It's not easy being one of the most influential popular music bands, especially when the lead singer is dead! Even so Nirvana still have more to release! 'Sliver - The Best of the Box' gives a concise version of the box set 'With the lights out'. The raw sounding demos along with three previously unreleased tracks, 'Spank Thru' (yes it is a sexual pun!), 'Come As You Are' and 'Snappy' give you an early Kurt Cobain in development. There are some appealing tracks on this compilation including 'Clean Up Before She Comes' that incorporates soulful harmonies along with an acoustic guitar, as well as the classic 'Smells like Teen Spirit'. This is a very rugged sounding compilation, and I would not advise you to start out with this CD if you are new to Nirvana. Although I was quite impressed with the tracks on this album the austerity of it didn't grab me, but for any Nirvana fan it is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Draining every penny out of fans ..., 17 April 2015
By 
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
Draining every penny out of fans ... from my side only one star ... maybe for fans with the obsessions to complete or those who do not have the box, but not for these who already own the box! ... Or maybe should I buy it ... it has 3 unreleased songs ... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sliver, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
Nirvana is far beyond greatness, so it is always a good choice. This compilation also gives a taste of where it all comes from. It doesn't add anything to the Box, but it's a good "lighter" version of it. Part of my Nirvana collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and a must buy at this price!, 13 July 2006
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
I was a bit apprehensive about what to expect after reading some of the reviews above. Yeah, its not super digitally remastered quality but I'm happy about that as its early stuff from nigh on 20 years ago. If I'd been lucky enough to be there then this is how it would have sounded. Its great to hear how the sound evolved through the years, it also shows that great music doesn't have to be *perfect* it just has to have feeling and hit the spot. Girls Aloud and all that manufactured shite is clearly produced and refined to a far greater degree but you just know that the artists are just going through the motions. To be honest even if it had turned out to be total crap I'd not have cared, I've had many a ropey pint and they all cost more than £2 these days anyway. I'm very tempted to search out the full box set now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unrevealed Nirvana, 2 Nov. 2005
By 
My Name "jono8192" (Stranded, Pacific Ocean) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
This album collects the best 22 tracks from the hit box-set With The LIghts Out. The CD contains home demos, band demos, live tracks, acoustic radio versions and studio demos.
The start of the CD contains the 'Bleach' type of songs, note a live version of Floyd The Barber and a home demo of About a Girl with very different lyrics. After 8 or 9 tracks we encounter the 'Nevermind' era type tracks including a Nevermind outtake called 'Old Age', this is actually a very good track which would be good, had it been on the final masterpiece as it is a very catchy song. It has a band demo of 'Rape Me' and you can hear Kurt's daughter Frances crying, as it was recored with her sat on Kurt's knee.
Listening to this album gives you a true insight to the early days of Nirvana as well as more 'near the end' style tracks. Some songs on this album such as Opinion, Old Age, Sappy, Blandest and Do Re Mi have that typical Nirvana style behind them and I think would be haeavy successes had they been on the albums.
Overall a great Album as it shows Nirvana did have a completely different side to them, as well as that what brought them to fame.
I hope this has been helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars but the sound quality is pretty, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
Probably ok if you have all Nirvavan albums already, but the sound quality is pretty poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
great CD, my daughter enjoys blasting this out from her bedroom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars to be or not to be?, 5 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sliver: The Best Of The Box (Audio CD)
well, in the good old days of cassettes, this album would rule! but the quility just isn't there. this is a must fo rht edie hard fans, but they are likely to have box.

for the price you can't complain, but get a live album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sliver: The Best Of The Box
Sliver: The Best Of The Box by Nirvana (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews