Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For your inital impressions about the look ...
My views might be slighted blinkered as this is one of my long time favourate anime, which was destroyed in 2003 by the new translation from Jonathen Clemments. This, fortunately is the original.

Yes the art work may be dated and there may be a 1980s style sound track, but that is because that was when this anime was made. The art work is not too disimilar to...
Published on 12 Feb. 2008 by Gary Sereno

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the first and best
the cg movies had little lastable charm- the toon shading glared in the first, and the second had a horribly unsympathetic storyline and seemed to rip of every other scifi i ever saw with a mgs4 style 'supper ridiculously long dying scene of the villain.

this anime is old, and clearly made within a budget but is lovable compared to the above for its no b.s...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by Steven Dunne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For your inital impressions about the look ..., 12 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
My views might be slighted blinkered as this is one of my long time favourate anime, which was destroyed in 2003 by the new translation from Jonathen Clemments. This, fortunately is the original.

Yes the art work may be dated and there may be a 1980s style sound track, but that is because that was when this anime was made. The art work is not too disimilar to the original manga, and the story is posisbly closer to book 3 of Shirow's manga than Oshii's Ghost in the Shell.

While a lot of the political complexities behind the story may be lost, as was back ground information, this is still a very well done anime with good pace, intrigue and plot. The latest version may be a visual feadt, but has little to do with the original manga bar the setting.

This is an anime I would fully recommend, just get beyond those prejudices over the looks. At £5-10 for the DVD this one is most certainly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anime, 25 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
A classic anime, created by master Masamune Shirow (Ghost in the Shell, Intron Depot). A great action story that brings you to a future world, among bioroids and mecha robots. The animation might be a bit obsolete compared to the newer computer generated anime, and thus compared to the newer Appleseed or Appleseed Ex-Machina, but still it is fun to watch, and a must have for Shirow fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 27 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
dont listen 2 the negative reviews here, this is the 2nd best anime ive seen (after akira) and it beats the newer version 10 fold! the character KARON, a crooked cop, hopes 2 shut down the city of olympus as he sees it as caging the humans in, whilst his colleagues, a blonde girl and some robot with rabbit ears, try 2 stop him, not knowing its karon whos doin it. Karon, altho the bad guy, is the 1 u sympathy with and want 2 win, as he is right in a way, and when he dies at the end ull truly be like OH GOD DAMN IT! the music and animation is alright altho its 80s so what do u expect, but its a brilliant movie and well worth seeing, so BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anime, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
i liked appleseed as i was after it for awhile.
like all anime films loads of action in these films.
yes people who like anime get this one if you dont have it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the first and best, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Steven Dunne (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
the cg movies had little lastable charm- the toon shading glared in the first, and the second had a horribly unsympathetic storyline and seemed to rip of every other scifi i ever saw with a mgs4 style 'supper ridiculously long dying scene of the villain.

this anime is old, and clearly made within a budget but is lovable compared to the above for its no b.s storyline that kinda makes sense and plus hitomi looks cute when she's tipsy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 July 2008
By 
M. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
THis is no ways an amazing manga,but its a classic one of the first i ever saw,everything about it is why i got into manga,the 80s look n all,so take a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. W. Meegan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Manga, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this movie back in the mid 90's back in my collage days, and I was never expecting it to be up there with the likes of Akira (which it wasn't). This is in fact a great fun anime movie to watch without having to think about the story to much. The only issue I always had about this film, was that it was to short, as its only on for an hour. I still need to see the new versions of Appleseed which I also purchased along with this one, so I will get them watched this week. But all in all, definitely worth the purchase for the price, and add it to your Manga collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for the Collectors, 21 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to immediately debunk the film as a travesty, as it has its moments, but there is little to like here when compared to Appleseed's remake over a decade on from this version. The animation, characters and soundtrack all sound typical of a 1980s animé and by that respect may well come across as unremarkable. Readers of Shirow Masamune's manga original may appreciate this film more for its closer ties to his storyline, and fans of the Appleseed remake may appreciate the steps made since this film's productions, but while the film should not be met with great expectations it's still one of the better line of unfortunate victims to animé aging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
DK-BUYER (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty cool animation though it's not a real "3D" kind of animation. It is still a "flat" kind of animation but still Japanese style with funny faces when they get upset. Top shelf Asian animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD]
Appleseed: Urban Combat in the City of Dreams [DVD] by Kazuhiko Katayama (DVD - 2005)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews