Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2003
Taking Back Sunday are a great band. I can't actually remember how I got into them. Probably though Thursday or Finch, but that's not important. "Tell All Your Friends" is a brilliant CD and will appeal to almost anyone who likes punk, emo or hardcore, as it blends all 3 styles perfectly. My favourite songs on this CD are "Cute Without The E", "There's No 'I' In Team" and "You're So Last Summer". Each song is filled with emotion, and while the screaming (which I think just makes the songs sound even more emotional) may not be to everyone's taste, makes the lyrics so much more effective.
Fans of Thursday, A Static Lullaby, Finch and Thrice will love this. Or at least most of them will :D I do.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2003
As I sit hear writing this review their are only 4 already submitted. By the end of this year there is bound to be 100+
Taking Back Sunday are going to be massive. Why? Because they bring together the finest elements of todays finest rock bands to produce their own unmistakable sound. The loud melodic guitars of Thursday, the emotion of Dashboard Confessional, the catchyness of Hundred Reasons and their own clever use of dual vocals. Ive had the album since July but I only felt compelled to write a review after listening to the album again yesterday. Im rubbish at writing reviews so you'll just have to take my word for it and check them out yourself. If you want a flavour of their music try downloading Cute without the E and Timberwolves at New Jersey. If you are a fan of Thursday, Brand New, Hundred Reasons, Jimmy Eat World or Finch you most certainly wont be disappointed. Its just a shame their going to have their name disgraced by mini moshers and irritating kids in the forthcoming months.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
What a cracker. Quite simply one of the best albums i own. When i first got it i thought it would just be me who liked it, but as i played it to my mates, admittedly all emo/core listeners, they loved it. Initially brilliant, then it grows a little bit more every time. I played it non-stop for weeks if not months. And now every time a stick it back in, i kick myself for not listening to it sooner. Two amazing singers up front and a guitarist who actually knows what he's doing (rare amongst the emo band wagon). So good, a genuinly lifting album, perfect for a sunny day, or any day, especially sunday, when theres nothing to do, just listen. Can't recommend it enough
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2003
Taking Back Sunday are a band at the front of the "next big thing" queue, and while the recent troubles within the band have delayed their breakthrough into the mainstream, they are undoubtedly a band heading for very big things. Their sound is one which can't be pinned into one specific category, it's a convincing and exhilarating mix of punk/post-hardcore/emo and rock. One of the most unique and powerful features of this band is the dual vocals of Adam Lazzara and John Nolan (who, since, has unfortunately left the band). And it isn't just the ubiquitous one who screams pointlessly/one who whines annoyingly combination of other bands of their ilk (e.g. Senses Fail, From Autumn To Ashes etc), this truly is great stuff, exchanging lines, bouncing off one another. The complexity of the vocals and instrumentation is phenominal, but never overly so, but you can come back to these songs over and over again and find something new each time. There is also alot of variety in the album, and even within songs, from quiet breakdowns, to driving up-and-go punk, to heart-breaking fury. Add all this to pianos (in 'The Blue Channel') and ghostly female vocals (in 'Ghost Man On Third') and you've got one of the finest post-hardcore records of the past 5 years. 'Cute Without The 'E' (Cut From The Team)', 'There's No 'I' In Team' and 'Great Romances Of The 20th Century' are my favourite tracks. A great buy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
What an album... well done Taking Back Sunday!
This realy is one of, if not the best, debut full length i have ever heard. I hadnt heard much of this band before i bourght this album on recommendation. The album is just brilliant in every way.
The opener, 'You Know How I Do' realy gets the album into gear, and is followed up by the equally great 'Bike Scene'. There are however, in my opinion, three untouchable standout tracks, which are 'Cute Without The E', 'No I In Team' and the magnificent 'Great Romances Of the 20th Century'. All of these tracks offer different, but essential things to the album as a whole.
You realy should check out this CD nomatter what. It is fantastic!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
I purchased this album from a friends recommendation, not thinking to much of it at the time. I had only heard 'Your so last summer' and was moderatly impressed by it. Now, i can say, hand on heart, this is the best album i own. No exceptions, no except fors. It is Pure class.
Every other review i have read, reads very similar to my own personal opinion, and that is that out of the 10 tracks on this album, there are 10 moments of pure genius. 'From the September Never Stays This Cold' of 'Great Romances Of The 20th Century' to the 'On & On & On & On & On' From 'You Know How I Do' to the ending lyric 'Don't Call My Name Out Your Window I'm Leaving' in Head Club.
This album helped me through getting dumped in a big way, as i started listening to it after breaking up with a long term Girlfriend. afetr hearing Bike Scene once, that was it, i know it was something Special.
I can't recommend this album enough!! If you own a copy you will agree it is a standout moment in Emo Music. Even if you are not sure about buying this album, by it, because you will not be disapointed!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2003
I suppose i would personally say that Taking Back Sunday are most like Finch or maybe Thursday "catchy tunes" with a mixture of screams and more melodic layered voices and very heartfelt and emotional lyrics.
The lyrics are VERY emotional (suppose thats why they call it "emo") and although some songs are uplifting there's an underlying story of heartbreak in many of the songs. Not the alubm to listen to you when you're wanting to get over someone! However, the detailed lyrics with plenty of differnet interpretations make a refreshing change from the manufactured pop sounding lyrics which are simplistic and a bore to listen to.
Overall, Taking Back Sunday are "an amazing band" certain aspects of them sound like a few of the bands out there but they are very unique in many ways. Again it is the great emotion that seems to be poured into every song that really makes listening to this album enjoyable to me. I;d recommend it to everyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
The first time i put the cd in to my player i was amazed. Usually on a album you'd get the majority of good songs and some average. This album is amazing start to finish. From songs like 'cute without the e' to 'blue channel' Taking Back Sunday show how to play proper emo! Anyone even remotely considering getting this album, get it. Theres not many bands who can make hairs stand on the end of ya back and for any band to do so you know they can only get better. Taking Back Sunday are a must buy band!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2006
I did the whole thing backwards! Heard Makedamnsure so bought Louder Now. I loved that album so thought i'd risk buying Where you Want to Be. I was blown away! Better than Louder now by miles. So then i decided to go all the way and get Tell All Your Friends. First time i heard it i was sooo un-impressed. Cute without the 'e' was the only stand out song. The rest i did'nt care for. I was slightly disappointed after hearing the other 2 masterpiece albums i thought Tell all your friends would be great.

But i listened to it again, read the lyrics and it was almost like an epiphany.

Tell all your friends is a brilliant album, nothing i expected, but so much more! I'm not sure whether it's better than Where you want to be, both albums tell different stories which are fasinating (WYWTB - Band members leaving. TAYF - The 'feud' with a best friend).

Never the less, i'm sure a lot of people will have discovered TBS because of their new album, and if you have then buy their previous two records, because they're fantastic!!

Stand Out Tracks - No 'I' in team, Cute without the 'e', You know how i do.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2004
Taking Back Sunday are one of those bands that once you here one of their songs you want to hear more and more and more.Their music is brilliant and their lyrics very meaningful indeed. Their best songs songs being 'your so last summer','head club,theres no I in team' and 'cute without the E. Infact all of their songs won't dissapoint. Really i honestly advise you to listen to this. Recomended for people who like mineral,thursday,thrice or saves the day
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)