Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars52
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2006
This interactive quiz is seemingly a great conversion of the show to the DVD game format. The questions are all asked by Stephen Fry in full video, the answers explained in a similar fashion. The writing and performance for all the questions (and the wrong and right answers) are very amusing and interesting, which would make this interactive DVD completely recommendable and an essential purchase.

BUT, the game itself has a fatal flaw built in. There are 7 categories with 50 questions to answer in each. When you get to the end of a category, if you've answered everything correctly, but on one or more questions you've not answered with the most interesting correct answer, you're sent back to do all 50 questions again! There's no indication as to which answers are teh most interesting as that's subjective and there's no audio or visual clue that you've done so, and answering the questions again is frustrating as this time around, the long, witty but unskippable speeches by Stephen Fry get in the way when you're trying to speed through the secion again.

This knocks 2 stars off the review for me, because the game is essentially broken and frustrating despinte the fantastic content.
11 comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2006
Love the show, love Fry, but feel a bit conned into buying this DVD. Why? The Amazon review states "With team or one player options" - not so! OK, so there could be 1 or 100 people answering the questions, but there is no "team" option. I bought this to entertain my dad while he recovered from an operation - intending it to be a family game with 2 or 3 teams.
The quiz itself is thoroughly entertaining, and I am now bursting with quite interesting, sublimely useless, information.
Entertaining, but don't buy it as a game with teams!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
This is a disc that I do want to like, but I must confess to being a little disappointed. It is the kind of thing that, unless you are very deeply into QI, you might want to dip into as and when, but not something you're likely to play for hours unless you've broken a limb and have to sit in one chair for days at a time. (Though, reading some of the reviews on here, maybe I'm in a minority with that?!)

I disagree with the people who say it's 'just random guessing'; often one can find the correct answers by a combination of general knowledge, common sense, and a little judicious guesswork. However, it is almost a shame that one can keep on guessing, and also that even getting all the questions right does not mean you have completed the quiz. I am not that bothered about finding the anagram, and it ain't *that* hard (I've done each thread once (rented it from lovefilm, quickly sent it back!) and got 4 out of 7 letters) but that could get frustrating very quickly, and to find it methodically would take a good deal of the fun out of the thing.

There are seven 'threads', of which the one marked Steely Dan was by far my favourite. Plus points include the many interesting facts and random bits of information you will pick up along the way. As on 'real QI', Fry is an engaging host, though he is far better with Davies and others to abuse, tease, and generally bounce off. The variety of 'no you're wrong' responses is good but the repetition starts to grate after a while. However, some of the questions with more entertaining wrong answers have their own 'personalised' wrong answer responses, some of which are very entertaining - more than once I deliberately went through the answers I knew or guessed to be wrong because his responses were informative and funny.

In conclusion, this would probably be a fun quiz to play with others if you are a fan of QI and an inveterate collector of general knowledge, but it is no replacement for the life, vitality and humour of the show itself, and unless playing games with your DVD player is your 'thing' then you will probably come away feeling uncomfortably that you have rather wasted an hour or two of your life. Best to be borrowed from a QI fanatic than rented or bought!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2005
If,like me, you are an annoying little oik with more brain cells than friends you will adore this chance to further alienate yourself to those few chums you actually still retain
Some of the questions appear at first glance to be quite stright forward, however there is a sting in the tail. Several questions actually have more than one answer and failure to select the required one will send you down a long dark path to oblivion (or at least back to the start of the thread). As there are numerous posers that are only available on your way to these cul-de-sacs of the damned you will find yourself playing on even after completing the main task just to find these tiny morsels of interest.
On a presentation note, Stephen Fry is,as usual, impressive in his manner and has recorded many humourous clips advising you of your utter idiocy.
In conclusion this is definately the DVD to purchase for the nerd in your life.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
Hmmmm. Well, I love QI, I really do. It's one of my favourite TV shows. However, I know I am not alone in thinking that DVDs containing QI episodes would be a much more worthwhile purchase. Unfortunately, for some bizarre reason, it looks like the series are not going to be released on DVD, so we have to make do with this.
Initially I was amused by Stephen Fry's banter and the typically quirky questions. However, I got quickly bored with this game. The questions are so difficult that I found myself guessing randomly every single time. Stephen also has a limited number of responses to getting a question wrong, which quickly gets annoying when you've heard him say "oh no, that's quite wrong," about ten times.
The game might have been more enjoyable if you could compete in teams rather than on your own, if some of the questions were easier, and also if other QI regulars featured in the game. Only Stephen is used. The people who designed this game failed to recognise that the appeal of QI is not down to Stephen alone, as wonderful as he is. It is also due to the hilarious Alan Davies, as well as the numerous brilliant regulars such as Bill Bailey, Sean Locke and Rich Hall. It is a crime that none of these other great comedians got a look-in.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
The Qi interactive DVD game can be loads of fun, but at times it can be very irritating. The quiz content is excellent, as is the concept of the game, which is to select interesting options rather than answer the questions correctly at first go. Some questions have two correct answers and if you select the least interesting correct answer you hit a "dead end". When you hit a dead end you have to start the same question set from the beginning which is very annoying and tedious. The game captures the irreverence of the show and Stephen Fry is an entertaining and sometimes informative quiz master. I would have preferred additional information about the answers to some of the questions. If you are a die hard fan of Qi and Stephen Fry you will probably enjoy this game despite its faults, if not, give it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2005
If you liked the TV show, you will definitely like the DVD. The questions are divided into seven threads, each of which has about 50ish questions. If you get the question wrong, don't worry, you get another chance. This means that you can actually work your way through by elimination (a drawback, but probably essential if you see the questions!).
In several of the questions, there is more than one right answer, and in some cases, this lets you get to a dead-end if you choose the less interesting one!
Stephen Fry, as usual, reads the questions superbly, and provides a more-or-less logical link between the questions - some more stretched than others. In addition, wherever a question has a slightly interesting wrong answer, you get a video clip of Stephen explaining why it's wrong, rather than just a canned 'No'.
Overall, highly recommended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2005
This interactive DVD is based on the TV show of the same name, where the obvious is to be avoided and points are awarded for interesting and/or amusing answers. Necessarily, the format here is slightly different, with Stephen Fry asking a variety of questions to each of which you are given the option of four answers. Should you be wrong, Fry will scold you in delightfully humorous ways. Apparently, should you complete the DVD (I haven't managed to yet) you get the chance to register online for some mysterious and no doubt quite interesting prize. If you have a sense of curiosity and/or humour, then I would heartily recommend purchasing this product, and then playing it in order to learn some fascinating new stuff, clear your head of stale rubbish put there by school, and have a damn good laugh at the same time. Spiffing, what?
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
This is a great game for all ages to enjoy since the questions are so impossible and strange.
Stephen Fry does a great job of connecting every question together and has some hilarious put downs should you get an answer incorrect.
One of the ingenious things about this game is that you do not lose from answering incorrectly, but rather for giving the least interesting answer when there is more than one correct answer to a question. One example could be this question: What can rubber bands be used for?
a. Powering Helicopters
b. Overpowering Crocodiles
c. Emergency Food Rasions
d. Machine Gun Ammunition
More than one of these is correct, but should you choose what is considered the least interesting you end up at a dead end after one or two more questions and Stephen sends you back to the start of the thread.
There are seven threads in total, each one containing around 50 multiple choice questions. If you correctly and interestingly answer all 50 in one sitting, Stephen rewards you with a letter of the alphabet. One you know all seven letters and re-arranged them, you have the correct word to take to the QI website.
The best interactive DVD game I've played so far. Definately worth a buy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
I got this for Christmas last year and once I started I felt it EXTREMELY hard to put the DVD remote down once I started playing! It was very satisfying reaching the end, solving the anagram and getting congratulations on the QI website when I typed the correct solution in.

Did you know that there are 8 to 10 thousand known species of grass? That's just one of the many interesting (if not that useful) things you may well learn during your adventure through the 7 'threads' of the game.

The game is both enjoyable to play on your own or with family/friends.

A *must* buy for all QI fans!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)