Customer Reviews


615 Reviews
5 star:
 (485)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy cheap - buy twice
Having recently taken up photography for a hobby I wanted something to protect my lens from accidental fingerprints, water drops or worse.
Initially I just wanted something cheap for this and bought a supposed 'genuine' lesser known filter on ebay - it was total rubbish and was thrown away.
This filter is very well made, produces very good results and is very...
Published on 14 Mar 2010 by Ashley H

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality
I bought this filter for a new Canon lens I wanted to use on vacation. I have been using the filter for 4 days. I noticed that the filter looked smeary when first using it. I cleaned the filter with a lens cleaning cloth. After 4 days the coating is coming off of the filter. It's completely unuseable after less than a week.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy cheap - buy twice, 14 Mar 2010
Having recently taken up photography for a hobby I wanted something to protect my lens from accidental fingerprints, water drops or worse.
Initially I just wanted something cheap for this and bought a supposed 'genuine' lesser known filter on ebay - it was total rubbish and was thrown away.
This filter is very well made, produces very good results and is very shallow - good for ultra-wide lenses.
Unlike the next level up of Hoya filter this one has a screw thread at the front which is important if you still need to use a 'pinch' lens cap that grips the thread.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permanent lens protection, 12 May 2010
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a higher end filter. Fitted to a lens I have not noticed any reduction in lens performance. I now have all my lenses fitted with Hoya UV Pro filters, these add protection to expensive lenses and also help in keeping the main lens clear of dust, hair, water/moister and general bits that try to settle on lenses. If you are paying out for a lens it makes sense as an additional protection. The pro filters have a thin profile and on my lenses do not cause any vignetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya Pro 1 Digital UV Filters, 8 Mar 2010
By 
N. Tyler (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good UV filter - and reasonably priced on Amazon (let's face it, the best part of £30 for a what looks like a smallish single piece of glass shouldn't be referred to as "cheap").

Very clear with no effect on focussing whatsoever. Has a noticeable impact on (for example) the colour of the sky on clear days, plus it provides that all-important lens protection.

I've been so impressed with the performance that I've now bought the same type of filter (of different sizes) for my other two Canon lenses.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Price & Good Filter, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Misbah Tariq - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this as a lens protector. It's multicoated, low profile and does the job without costing the earth. Works well, and I can see the difference when not using the filter in a really sunny day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya pro 1 UV FILTER, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. L. V. Williams (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality filter at a great price, less than half what I would have paid at my local dealers
what more can I say, top gear, top value, it doesn't get any better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya 77mm pro 1 uv filter, 26 Oct 2010
By 
J. F. Lister (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had lots of problems with a budget filter leaving unwanted marks on my images (big mistake buying budget filter)at that time i was concerned more about protecting the lens on my Canon 400 prime, so after lots of unusable images i decided to try a pro filter and the 77mm Hoya pro 1 filter does a very professional job therefor i have no hesitation in recommending the above.
PS Should have gone to Hoya in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality item, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. M. Greenley (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A low profile, top quality filter. If you're buying an expensive lens, this should be your first choice for a UV filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya HMC 77mm Digital UV (C) Multicoated Filte, 25 May 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Bolton Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent buy, superb quality and the lowest price on the net from Amazon.
I use it on a Canon L series lens so I needed top quality, I've not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unless you are an optician, how is the average photographer-in-the-street to best decide among the myriad of filters on the market? So, I went for a well-established make and a Pro model on the basis that thinner glass is better (less if any vignetting). What can I say: it screws onto the lens (Canon EF-S 18-200mm IS), without problem; you could screw another filter onto it; the glass does not rattle around, and I've noticed no strangeness with the images produced. I wanted protection for the lens, besides the UV filtering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This filter was bought as a protector for my lens, it is excellent for what it was purchased for, it feels a good quality so good that l purchased the same make for my other lenses, it allows me to screw other filters on to it leaving the UV on at all times. I purchased a lens cleaner and cloths recomended by reviewers which was not good for the UV filters leaving them with a hazy film, l was advised by my local camera shop to use a mild washing up detergent and warm water it worked a treet they are now lovely and clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews