Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars foster&allen sing the number ones
this is a good cd to bring back memories of what you were doing when the songs were no 1,in the style of foster & allen.It brought back many happy memories with a feelgood factor and is a must for over 55s,It took me back to the time of innocence of youth as my mum would say and i realy enjoyed the cd and would recomend it to anyone who likes Foster& Allen
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by CHERYL A EDWARDS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
this item was ok for its purpose and did just what i wanted it to do and no more thanks
Published 19 months ago by derick r watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars foster&allen sing the number ones, 5 Jan 2011
By 
CHERYL A EDWARDS (Bridgend,South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
this is a good cd to bring back memories of what you were doing when the songs were no 1,in the style of foster & allen.It brought back many happy memories with a feelgood factor and is a must for over 55s,It took me back to the time of innocence of youth as my mum would say and i realy enjoyed the cd and would recomend it to anyone who likes Foster& Allen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening covers of British number one hits, 30 May 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
Mick Foster and Tony Allen may wish that they'd had even one British number one hit, but they've managed to have a very long and successful career anyway without even coming close. Nevertheless, their albums have always sold reasonably well in Britain and they are very popular in several other countries including, of course, their Irish homeland.

This album is a part-compilation, including as it does 13 tracks recorded between 1986 and 2002, together with 27 tracks recorded especially for this release. Some tracks that qualified for this release, but which appeared on other then-recent compilations have been excluded. For example, the 2003 release Very best of Foster and Allen included a few covers of British number one hits such as The wonder of you, Can't help falling in love, Green green grass of home, One day at a time and Matchstick men and matchstick cats and dogs, all became British number one hits in the sixties or seventies for other artists, but they aren't included here. Similarly, no tracks from the 2004 release Sing the sixties are duplicated here. Wisely, the compilers decided that a significant proportion of people buying this set also bought one or both of these two earlier compilations. Another thing to note is that three of the original number one hits are instrumentals and they are played as such here, so the compilation title isn't entirely accurate, as Foster and Allen only sing on 37 of the 40 tracks.

The track listing tells us when the songs made number one but makes no mention of other versions that charted. Thus the listing for I have a dream (the Abba classic) mentions Westlife but not Abba, the original having spent a month stuck at number two behind Pink Floyd's Another brick in the wall. For those songs that made return visits to number one, each visit is recorded. The opening track on the first CD, Unchained melody, has been number one for four different artists and all are listed, but again no mention is made of other hit versions.

Inevitably, the hits chosen reflect the duo's own tastes, with many of the originals dating back to the fifties, sixties and seventies though some are later. They are clearly huge Elvis fans as they recorded Good luck charm and She's not you for this album, to add to all the other Elvis covers they'd previously recorded and which can be found elsewhere. There are no Beatles covers as such, though John Lennon (Imagine) and Paul McCartney (Mull of Kintyre) are represented. Still, although I'm not short of Beatles covers, I'm disappointed that at least one wasn't included. There are a few country songs here, although two of them (I can't stop loving you, If tomorrow never comes) were British number one hits for non-country artists. Three more (Distant drums, Coward of the county, Lucille) were among the few genuine country recordings to have become British number one hits. As for Annie's song, it depends whether you count John Denver as country or not.

I'm not going to pretend that Foster and Allen's versions are better than the originals, but the covers here are very well made and just hearing these songs together in one package will bring back many memories for older people. I really enjoy hearing this double CD. Sometimes when playing it, I'm reminded that it's time I played one or more of the original versions again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Compilation, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
For those like me who appreciate melodic understandable lyrics and truly great songs from the past this is it !! Eat you heart out Simon Cowell, this, what you would call 'cheesey' music, will live on forever and time has proved that these two great performers definitely have the "X" Factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars foster and allen, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
good songs easy to lisen to. all ways liked foster and allen.anyone who likes good clear words and music would like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
love this keep it in the car it has all our favourites on it and is good for a sing along very good price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
A well thought out content, all songs are well suited to the Foster and Allen voices.Thoroughly recommend this cd for easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
What a bargin great price there's not much I can say about a cd it's a cd what my ant wanted for her birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
this item was ok for its purpose and did just what i wanted it to do and no more thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another one for my collection, 15 Feb 2013
By 
N. DRAKE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
And for your collection too! If you missed the Foster and Allen era, then
get on board and try this selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foster and allen Sing the number ones, 19 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. J. Vick (Market Harborough, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sing the Number 1's (Audio CD)
I have just braught the new Foster and allen sing the number ones dubble C.D. It is a fantastic one. The songs are really good. It is well worth buying the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing the Number 1's
Sing the Number 1's by Foster & Allen (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews