Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why edit it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you read the notes in the accompanying booklet it talks of 2 or 3 stumbles in this live broadcast, and says that for this DVD release they have edited them out and replaced them with scenes from a taped rehearsal. WHY! I mean, the whole point of the production was it was LIVE and so why not just stick the live version on dvd without these edits. This is one of those...
Published on 4 July 2009 by P. D. gray

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quatermass, take two
I have been a fan of the Quatermass universe since the early 1960's which I first saw the second feature film (Hammer production of "Quatermass II", also titled "Enemy From Space") on television and got the bejeezus scared out of me. The character is the creation of Nigel Kneal and the two original theatrical releases ("The Creeping Unknown"...theatrical title of the...
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Jon Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why edit it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 July 2009
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you read the notes in the accompanying booklet it talks of 2 or 3 stumbles in this live broadcast, and says that for this DVD release they have edited them out and replaced them with scenes from a taped rehearsal. WHY! I mean, the whole point of the production was it was LIVE and so why not just stick the live version on dvd without these edits. This is one of those mad decisions that makes me scream.

In one scene for instance, the reporter...stumbling over his lines has to be helped back to the script with the help of the actor playing the editor, seeing a sort of understandable trip like that just shows the immediacy of it all, the tension etc...so why not leave it in, no its replaced with a recorded scene from a rehearsal. Also theres a loud crash as someone knocks over some glass and one of the actors reacts to it and loses concentration for a short while, this also is removed. One scene in which David Tennant is running around he slips and ALMOSTS falls over, now I cant recall if this has been left in the production, I think it is...certainly is in the MAKING OFF documentary but if he had not regained his balance Im sure this dvd release would have replaced it.

Still, a brave production...fascinating...just the dvd release made this silly error of judgment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut, intelligent and thrill-a-minute, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I've never seen the original Quatermass so can't really compare the two versions. What I am able to say however is that this particular version, having been transmitted live (an extremely brave thing to do no matter the class of actor and technical people employed) is a triumph. Daved Tennant and Jason Flemyng are excellent in the lead roles, the set is a throwback to the B-movies of the '50's and Hammer horror of the '70's. The sets look decidedly creaky at times but that's all part of the charm of the piece. The dialogue at times also seems disjointed but the actors bring to life an often hammy script with great skill and enthusiasm. Fans of science fiction with a touch of horror will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quatermass Experiment, 13 April 2009
By 
Maria Fischer (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What shall I say? I was completely bowled over? I was riveted to the chair? I was intrigued throughout? I held my breath? All of these and more: I was profoundly impressed by the theatrical qualities of this mysterious and astonishing play and the powerful performances of its actors. This is definitely one for the culturally spoilt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quatermass, take two, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Jon Thompson (Van Nuys, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have been a fan of the Quatermass universe since the early 1960's which I first saw the second feature film (Hammer production of "Quatermass II", also titled "Enemy From Space") on television and got the bejeezus scared out of me. The character is the creation of Nigel Kneal and the two original theatrical releases ("The Creeping Unknown"...theatrical title of the "Quatermass Experiment" story in the US and "Quatermass II: Enemy From Space") were brilliantly directed by Val Guest, despite the limitations of special effects of the 1950's and the obviously limited production budgets.

Recently I obtained the original television versions of those two stories as well as the original 1950's television version of the third Quatermass story (released in a theatrical version in the late 1960's under the title "Twenty Million Years To Earth", but originally titled "Quatermass and the Pit" and produced in the 1950's as a limited run series.) I was quite amazed to see the vast differences in the storylines of the tv mini-series versions and the compressed theatrical versions. Generally the tv versions are considerably looser, slower and sometimes tend to go in inexplicable directions, defects nicely corrected in the shorter theatrical versions, most likely for budgetary and running time reasons.

I am also a fan of David Tennant, having completely absorbed his entire Doctor Who canon (you will be missed, David).

If you wish to make a comparison of the way the same story can be approached in what are essentially two very different media (television vs. theatrical film) I would enourage you to obtain not only this release but also the 1956 Hammer Films version of it titled "Creeping Unknown" and starring Brian Donlevy as a very American Quatermass. I think you will find that the 1956 version is much "tighter", much better directed (Val Guest), with a better script and compelling performances. While this "live" 2005 production has its merits, it seems to have been done merely for the point of being done live on televison, a kind of experimental throwback to the very era when the original was produced. In the US we had a similar "live television" production of the political drama "Fail Safe" several years ago, starring Richard Dreyfus and George Clooney. They were both quite interesting but perhaps too expensive or simply tension making for the proudction companies to ever repeat. Indeed, even "Saturday Night Live" is no longer live, strictly speaking, being on a several minute tape delay (to cut out any naughty bits that might be blurted out by over-excited performers in the midst of the hilarity.)

Still, if you are a collector of all things Quatermass, this is a must for your dvd shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maturing nicely, 23 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It was hard to watch this live in 2005 without anxiety for the horrors of a live production. Looking at it again in November 2006 it is remarkably impressive. The acting is first rate and the direction is very much more subtle and sophisticated than any old 50s 0r 60s live shows. The cutting, angles, close ups are very well timed and must have added even more pressure on the cast.

Seeing it again I wasn't worried by the absence of a creature at the end - which had been a very succesful feature in 1953 but would be hard to get right now.

The look of the production is deliberately kharki green and it al lhas a very distinctive feel given a smooth pacing by the live production. The oddest side of it is the retro look. It is, after all, an adaptation (often word for word) of the 1953 script and it can't be brought completely up to date. It's not clear in this alternative reality if there has been other space exploration. The point of this trip is that it has gone far further than people have ever travelled- no one has gone further than the moon even now.

Full credit for producing something so unusual, seriously made and with its own strange beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful But Not Essential., 17 July 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am not a lover of classic television programmes being remade for the modern audience, they are never as good as the originals and more often than not the original drama's reputation suffers. Take for instance the remake of A For Andromeda, it isn't a patch on the single episode and the extracts that exist from the 1962 version starring Peter Halliday and Julie Christie. This remake of The Quatermass Experiment on the other hand is generally OK, the reason is probably because this edition allows us to see a fully complete version based on what Nigel Kneale originally wanted at last, the TV original of course sees only the first two episodes survive and the less said about the Brian Donlevy film version the better. The fact that this allows us to see that full version does not automatically mean that it is any good however as per the previously mentioned remake of A For Andromeda, it all comes down to the actors ability to reenact old material in a convincing way and to present that material as new and fresh, this is almost impossible as no matter how good a remake is or how brilliant the acting the spectre of the original production always rears it's head. I challenge anyone to come up with a remake of a film or a TV series that is as good or better than first one, I honestly cannot think of any.

This Quatermass Experiment is a polished production that is well acted and well directed and will allow fans to achive a sense of what the story was all about, but if the truth be told even though I like the production I would rather watch the two episodes that starred the great Reginald Tate and read the script of episodes 3-6. This version will only really be used by myself when I feel lazy and don't want to read scripts. At the end of the day this remake is an inferior cousin to a lost classic and will be used as a substitute for the fans that are secretly wishing that, nice though it is they would rather a remake wasn't needed. It is useful but by no means essential even to huge Quatermass fans like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A CLEVER LIVE ADAPTION OF THE 1950'S CLASSIC, 28 Nov 2006
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a very well made and groundbreaking live adaption of the now classic Quatermass Experiment. Movie actor Jason flemyng stars as a very youthful professor Quatermass previously played by middle aged actors. Due to the production being made live there are some limitations with the locations and filming. And some of the action and diologue is on occasion miss-timed and limited in scope which also limits the special effects. This relies more on what you don't see and the tension of the unseen monster stalking London. There are some overtones of the 50's with fashion and hair styles which looks very odd indeed as it's set in the present day. New Doctor Who David Tennant puts in a good performance as a scientist but doesn't get many lines. Of the Dvd there are some extras with interviews from the cast and writers that's a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but it is not a patch on the original., 4 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I really am sorry but this is not a patch on the original. The original had a Hitchcock atmosphere that left you hiding behind the sofa, the acting was exceptional too. I watched it all the way through hoping the actors would loosen up and become less stilted, they didn't. I bought this as a David Tennant fan but, all in all, I was very disappointed. I've seen better stage plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting period piece from 2005, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. V. Thurgood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was quite impressed with this, having not seen it in nearly 4 years. As a piece of atmospheric television and an exercise in the television of ideas, where we're not shown everything, it was pretty good.

Jason Flemyng's take on Quatermass is not going to be everyone's cup of tea, but I think he makes the part his own. Andrew Tiernan is fantastic as the alien-possessed Victor Caroon. The show is an ensemble piece like the original show and everyone pulls their weight, considering the pressure of recording it live.

The ending may be a little underwhelming but I think it is closer in spirit to the 1950s show than the 1979 Euston Films Quatermass.

Not a patch on Quatermass and The Pit or even Quatermass II (BBC Versions) but worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fair to middling, 21 Jun 2014
By 
JOHN-MICHAEL KEATING "mikeodad" (Orléans, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Ever since I saw Jason Flemyng's (difficult to believe - what's a police constable doing in a highly scientific team?) entry to Primeval I had difficulty believing in his characters. This version, therefore, was not a patch on the original... a part from the colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005]
The BBC Quatermass Experiment [DVD] [2005] by Andrew Tiernan (DVD - 2005)
£11.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews