Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 1970s Sexy Romp
I recall seeing these two films on my local ABC Cinema during the late 1970s and remembering enjoying them too. Although they have dated badly, they are still worth seeing today just to see how life has changed for many of us who lived in those far off days, especially the costumes, cars, music and locations. I particularly liked the background disco music which brought...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seventies Soft Porn Classics
When I was a teenager, like many of my contemporaries, I devoured the novels of Jackie Collins and my particular favourites were 'The Stud' and 'The Bitch' featuring the glamourous Fontaine Khaled as the main character. I'd never seen the films until now, so I decided to give them a whirl. The plots are pretty much as you'd expect from any late 1960s /1970s Jackie...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by SilentSinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 1970s Sexy Romp, 1 Aug 2011
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
I recall seeing these two films on my local ABC Cinema during the late 1970s and remembering enjoying them too. Although they have dated badly, they are still worth seeing today just to see how life has changed for many of us who lived in those far off days, especially the costumes, cars, music and locations. I particularly liked the background disco music which brought back a lot of memories. It was of course, during the same era as the classic disco film Saturday Night Fever which had been released in 1978.

Joan Collins portrays Fontaine Khalid(some name eh?) a wealthy disco owner who also has a voracious sexual appetite. Becoming involved (not emotionally) with Tony Blake, played by Oliver Tobias, an ambitious young man who desperately wants to own his own disco. They share a strong sexual relationship which eventually destroys her marriage to a wealthy businessman. There are some hilarious scenes in this, and some rather raunchier scenes too. Guest stars are Emma Jacobs, along with Sue Lloyd and Mark Burns.

The Bitch I rather enjoyed as slightly better of the two. Once again, Fontaine Khalid wheels and deals her way through various men for sexual pleasure, and others for business purposes. Set around the high class area behind The Hilton and Park Lane Hotels, it provides glimpses of what London was like in those far off days. Guest stars are Michael Coby, Ian Hendry, Sue Lloyd and Mark Burns. An enjoyable romp.

As for the DVD presentations, I found the picture quality and sound not too bad at all considering that the ages of both films are more than 30 years old. There are trailers available and little else.

Worth buying considering the low price which is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and a real laugh!, 19 July 2011
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
Saw these films years ago (probably when I shouldn't have!) and they haven't changed! Amazingly cheesy lines but all in the perfect context of these great films.. If you like 70's disco, either for the first time time or re-visiting, the soundtrack to both these films is the best! Buy these as a gift or just for a weekend treat.. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seventies Soft Porn Classics, 25 Feb 2009
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
When I was a teenager, like many of my contemporaries, I devoured the novels of Jackie Collins and my particular favourites were 'The Stud' and 'The Bitch' featuring the glamourous Fontaine Khaled as the main character. I'd never seen the films until now, so I decided to give them a whirl. The plots are pretty much as you'd expect from any late 1960s /1970s Jackie Collins novel: money, discos, glamour, diamonds, hairy men, cars, fur coats etc etc, so these films don't really disappoint on the visual images. The plots have altered slightly from the books, but nothing too vast. The acting's pretty wooden, especially from Fontaine's close confidante, Vanessa, but otherwise it's fairly competent.

The quality of the DVD picture isn't as great as you'd think though; it's as if they've just lifted them from the old VHS tape. There are no extras either - simply trailers for other similar films/sequels. To sum up: a good period piece with a fab soundtrack, but quite frankly, if you wanted high-class entertainment, what are you doing watching these sort of films anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joan shows her true class, 4 Oct 2008
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone wishing to add a camp disco classic to their bulging DVD collection this really is your bag.
Watch as Joan cavorts with the now seldom seen Oliver Tobias in a trully desperate performance. The radio personality David Jacobs daughter Emma pops up as a bored teenage temptress in a very lame sex scene. I first saw The Stud at the cinema and at that time thought it all very glam,it perhaps hasn't aged that well. However when I saw it was available on Amazon I had to buy it. More for old times sake than anything else. So is it worth watching ? well I would list it as a guilty pleasure. Its a hard film to dislike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
It is as I remember it. It's a bit dated I know but replaces my video copy which I can no longer play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 1970's pop porn., 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this D.V.D. along with some others of movies that I saw at the old ABC in Leeds in the 1970's.

It isn't a bad idea for a movie really, a fellow tries to obtain preferment in his working life by using his sexual prowess. He really doesn't have sex with any one that he wouldn't like to have sex with in any other circumstances. That's the idea of the movie - a sort of 1970's version of Kirk Macambley is the Oliver Tobias figure.

Unless I have it wrong I think that the old, late and unlamented British Leyland paid to have their Triumph TR7 product placed in this movie. In a way this is quite apt, it's a celluloid version of a Triumph TR7 if you see what I mean. Which is to say, it wasn't a bad concept to try and realise. ..thing is, some how or other.....

I suppose that if you're my age and you recall the moral outrage that the original movie provoked in the 1970's and you, like me, brushed off the dirtiest ever look from the cashier that sold me the ticket [ did I actually brush it off though - given that I stil remember it now ? ] then perhaps it's worth the money.

The movie comes with the sequel to 'The Stud' a movie called 'The Bitch' in with it. Kenneth Hague must have needed the cash, no other rationale........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
Having just finished reading both books, I thought I'd now like to watch the films - but how wrong I was! They were both dreadful and extremely dull. They were far too cheesy and the acting left a lot to be desired. The quality of The Stud was very poor. I found the sound far too low and couldn't pick up much of the dialogue so a waste of time really. The Bitch had slightly better volume but wasn't much of an improvement on the first film. If you enjoyed reading the books, don't watch these films, it'll only let you down in a big way. Total waste of money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Load of Old Mirror-Balls., 15 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
From the mighty Brent-Walker Distributors (the 70's equivalent of Anger and Warhol!) comes a sexy Joanie and Jackie double-bill!
Wow, just relax and bathe in that sleaze.

Joanie plays Fontaine Khaled - rich, bored, horny.
In 'The Stud' - the first film in this monumentally erotic series - she takes up with her night-club manager (Oliver Tobias), has her fun, dumps him, then loses the lot when her husband finds out. Simple but really emotional. Look out for an incredibly arousing copulation scene in a lift, and a Fritz Lang inspired orgy sequence; fuzzy camera shots evocatively conveying the effects of chemical stimulants and the subsequent come-down.
Unfortunately, Joanie can clearly be seen wearing a body-stocking in this, and other sequences; modern-day close-up dvd scrutiny is a lot less forgiving than the smoke-filled Rank's of the 1970's.

Though 'The Stud' is exquisite entertainment, the sequel 'The Bitch,' is even better.
Taking up with a diamond smuggler and the mafia, Joanie is joined by John Ratzenburger from 'Cheers' - younger, thinner, with fetching facial hair; his performance is a tour-de-force of shouting loudly over blaring disco music, while planning to sell a stolen ring. Fantastic.
This one contains extreme and realistic violence essential to the plot, as well as the smoulderingly beautiful soft-focus soft-core.
So view with caution - when little eyes are closed in Bedfordshire.

Popular music colossus Biddu does the unforgettable scores; both films contain unending sequences of gyrating disco grinders, bopping to the likes of 'Yes Sir, I Can Boogie' and 'Native New Yorker' among others.
The choreography is outstanding: on the throbbing dance-floors, sparkly purple boob-tubes blur energetically with enormous flares and wicker sideburns in a whirl of excitement and photographic momentum.
Shout it loud and proud: "Let's..Go..Disco !!" clap your hands now...

So, for a succinct slice of salacious, sequinned, 70's sleaze - you need look no further than 'The Stud/The Bitch' double-bill.
Forget 'Last Tango in Paris' or 'Confessions of a Driving Instructor' - this is where the true spirit and mystique of high-impact Euro eroticism dwells.
I pray nightly to all my gods, for a Paris Hilton remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
Great memories from my early teen years, they almost had to put a calf in my right hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 18 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] (DVD)
Fab watch so very tame now a days but a good entertaining all the same .The Stud is better than The Bitch both good though I enjoyed the sound tracks to both films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stud/The Bitch [DVD]
The Stud/The Bitch [DVD] by Gerry O'Hara (DVD - 2005)
£39.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews