Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film that keeps you thinking all the way through.
When I started watching this film I couldn't figure out what it was going to be about. It starts off with Kate Hudson working in a hospice. She gets sick of the job and decides to find a new one. She then finds a job in the paper which is looking after an elderly man who has had a stroke. She moves to the mansion to start work. This is when the suspence begins. I can't...
Published on 4 Oct 2005 by rayrimmer83

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it...
At first, this film was building up to be a lame horror. A dull story about a nurse having to look after a stroke victim. A plodding plot, with no scares and uninteresting characters only barely passing the acting grade.
But to unlock this film's real treasure, you need to give it the time of day, as it comes with one genuine sucker punch of an ending. For a long...
Published on 3 April 2006 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film that keeps you thinking all the way through., 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
When I started watching this film I couldn't figure out what it was going to be about. It starts off with Kate Hudson working in a hospice. She gets sick of the job and decides to find a new one. She then finds a job in the paper which is looking after an elderly man who has had a stroke. She moves to the mansion to start work. This is when the suspence begins. I can't tell you much from now as it spoils the film but it keeps you thinking all the way to the end. Totally unexpected ending. It has a few edgey scenes but it's the story that grips you and keeps you watching. Not a blood and guts horror but very good if you like a film that keeps you thinking. Definaltely one to add to your Dvd collection. You won't be dissapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good thriller., 1 Feb 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure what to expect when I watched The skeleton key. I rented it after seeing a couple of trailers as it looked quite a good thriller. I wasn't disappointed either, this is a good thriller with a good twist!
A healthcare nurse for the elderly decides that the old peoples home isn't for her and would rather give one to one care. She takes a job living with an old couple to help look after the terminally ill man. However the house has a dark past and all is not as it seems!
It's not really scary, but it has a few suspenseful moments as Kate Hudson wanders about the house at night in her underwear investigating strange noises and shadows. It's well acted and the story is good but many will see the end coming long before. Overall good fun for a nights entertainment, especially if you enjoyed the likes of Secret window, What lies beneath etc, with plenty of DVD extras as well! 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Secrets from the Delta, 15 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
"The Skeleton Key" is an enjoyable thriller , well acted and filmed ,with a chilling plot based around the "hoodoo" witchcraft of Louisiana. Kate Hudson's serious minded character isn't one much for smiling at the best of times , but after she takes up a new job as a nurse for a dying man in an old house outside New Orleans , there is even less reason for her to smile as a series of discoveries and disturbing events lead her unexpectedly into the dangerous world of the occult.The tension and suspense escalates steadily and there is an exciting finale with a neat twist at the end. There is a fair amount of depth to the "The Skeleton Key" ,with the "hoodoo" backdrop providing most of it and the characters and dialogue were credible. Definitely one of the better horror/thrillers I have seen lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it..., 3 April 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
At first, this film was building up to be a lame horror. A dull story about a nurse having to look after a stroke victim. A plodding plot, with no scares and uninteresting characters only barely passing the acting grade.
But to unlock this film's real treasure, you need to give it the time of day, as it comes with one genuine sucker punch of an ending. For a long time a movie's "twist" has been obvious, or just rubbish. It's been ages since I saw a movie that genuinely shocked me come the ending, and was actually pretty decent and made me glad I had watched through that dull hour and 20 minutes.
But the film doesn't offer much more than that, although that is worth watching the movie for. It's not remotely scary, the acting is slightly hammy, and it's just far too plain for far too long. But, as I've said, come the end, I didn't mind.
Extras wise, although bountiful, they don't fit the mood of the film. Whereas the film has long shots, and moves at snail pace, the extras are like MTV documentarys - very fast moving, fast cuts and edits and shaky, abstract camera work.
Still, the extras are quite good, particularly a recipe for making gumbo. Kate Hudson's ghost story is a little lame, but the making ofs are interesting and show behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernature and suspense, 23 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
Horrow can be puerile "look how nasty we are" or it can use suspense, ideas and a good story. The strength here is that there is a great central concept which only becomes apparent at the end, giving the plot a 'twist' effect. The plot is interesting along the way, and the script holds a good balance between giving clues and concealing the suprise - in other words there's some consistency.

It is genuinely creepy and the suspense is good. The central themes are voodoo and a young care worker stumbling on some odd situations which leads her to try to get to the bottom of it all.

Extras were limited and I would have liked to have seen more of the research and findings on real voodoo and less of the fillers.

Good story done professionally and good entertainment. Suspenseful more than shocking and gross, and made me think about whether it really could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Do Not Believe ........, 2 Dec 2005
By 
K. A. Mearns "kevin6187" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
I have just recently rented this film for something to watch, not buying it first incase i didn't like it. But after finishing this film i was very pleasantly surprised as i rented this as a horror which didn't look scary, and found myself with more of a thriller, which was, for lack or a better word - chilling.
The film is based around Caroline (Kate Hudson) who, sick of the job she is in (due to people's lack of caring) takes a job in a large mansion looking after an elderly man who has suffered from a stroke and is paralysed. She is given (skeleton) key which will open every door in the house by the man's wife, who to Caroline seems quite strange as she allows no mirrors in the house. Caroline gets on with her work but it is only when she discovers a secret room in the attic (which the key won't open) and forces her way in that room and finds many objects relating to 'HooDoo' (am ancient magic) that the mystery deepin's. As she becomes more and more involved with the strange house and the mystery that lies within, and delves further into the HooDoo magic that a series of shocking events take place and lead to a shocking climax (that i never even guessed) which leaves the viewer in shock but satisfied as the film ties itself up nicely.
The acting in this film is superb with Kate's performance flawless and extremely believable. The settings are few but effective and the house is the perfect setting for this chilling tale.
I can't comment on the features for this DVD as it was a rental and i never had time to watch them but going but what it says on the packet, they seem really good for a single disc DVD.
This is definatly one i'm going to buy as it's one i could see me watching over and over and i'm sure alot of people will feel the same. So i recommend this if you are looking for a film that keeps you guessing right through till the end without being a total gore-fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classy suspense movie, 11 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
As a horror movie junkie jaded by too many movies that use gore and blood instead of suspense, I was as pleasantly surprised by this movie as I was by The Ring and The Grudge - especially an ending that was neither predictable nor "Hollywood". The pace of suspense is generally well-kept, and you are given just enough clues to keep your sense of foreboding up but not to give too much away. My only complaint is that Kate Hudson, while generally doing a good job, could probably have been replaced by a better suspense actress.
The DVD has loads of extras, some not as promising as the titles indicate (like Kate Hudson's ghost story) but generally interesting. The background info on voodoo/hoodoo, plantation life and slavery etc were quite interesting. And there's a gumbo recipe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep grinding those bricks, 22 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
The Skeleton Key is a tolerable piece of hoodoo hokum but there's a much better film struggling to get out. Along with a reasonably interesting story idea all the ingredients are present: The attractive female lead, the classy supporting cast, the atmospheric location, and some excellent cinematography. What's missing is tension. This is a slow-burner, and there's nothing wrong with that, except here the flame is barely alight at times. The first two-thirds of the movie are pretty uneventful and would have benefitted from a few good shocks to keep the audience awake. Despite a solid performance from Hudson she struggles to keep things moving with a plot that really needs winding up. The twist at the end is reasonably satisfying although the outcome will be at least partially divined by the observant viewer. Overall this isn't a bad film but it doesn't live up to it's potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously sinister super-natural thriller- 'It can't hurt you if you don't believe it', 5 Jun 2008
By 
S. Hammond "bidders86" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this movie on the basis that I had only seen Kate hudson in rom-coms, and wasn't sure of how well she'd do out of that genre. I needn't have worried- she gave an excellent performance in this intelligent, tense story-line with a twist. It really sends a chill down my spine every time I watch it.

Hudson plays Caroline, a feisty, twenty-something live-in nurse, who is employed by an old-fashioned Louisiana woman, Violet (Gena Rowlands), whose husband, Ben (John Hurt), has been severely impaired by a recent stroke. Caroline is given a skeleton key by Violet, claiming it opens every door in the house but one- the back attic room. Curiosity gets the better of Caroline, and upon entering the room, she finds it is full of disturbing artefacts from the local hoodoo customs. Meanwhile, Ben seems desperate to try and communicate to Caroline something that is terrifying him, and it isn't too long before Caroline starts to believe that something evil is going on.

The film visually is perfect for building and sustaining the super-natural tension: the spookiness of the landscape- an ancient plantation mansion nestled in miles of silent swamps and swathed in willow trees, together with the soundtrack is really macabre- the creepy hoodoo music really gets under your skin. This deeply disturbing sense of evil and mounting unease is very gripping, leading to a climatic twist at the end, which is truly startling and unpredictable. I defy even the most hard-core scare-devils to not be even a little bit afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 11 Feb 2006
By 
Brett84 (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Skeleton Key [DVD] (DVD)
Like in another review, this isn't really a horror, more of a Chilling Thriller.
The film is quite deep, you must watch it all the way through and maybe watch it again to actually understand it.
Well written and directed. However, again I must go back to another review...I think the cast could of been re-thought.
Worth watching definately, good to watch in a group rather than on your own.............*spooky* lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Skeleton Key [DVD]
The Skeleton Key [DVD] by Iain Softley (DVD - 2008)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews