Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files - Season 1
Jim Rockford was fallible, vulnerable, got hurt and often ended up on the losing end of the deal - so different from most American cop and private eye shows. Intelligent scripting and quality acting won this series a clutch of Emmys over several years and James Garner gave the role of Jim Rockford his own persona. Great to see Season 1 on DVD (roll on Season 2). And check...
Published on 14 Sep 2005 by steveacoustic

versus
8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid 70's entertainment
no extras on this package which is a shame.james garner has true star quality as jim rockford and the scripts are good.however it does seem that every episode features a car chase and rockford turning to becker for help which he gives reluctantly.also someone from jims past,e.g angel comes along to embarass him.on the whole very watchable mainly due to james garner but a...
Published on 10 Jun 2006 by gerrard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars jim rockford!!!!, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is tv heaven for me because as a child i loved this series and i will be buying every uk season. one of the best television series of all time and cant be remade even if they tried. BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'This is Jim Rockford,at the tone leave your name and message,i'll get back to you', 2 May 2010
By 
Classic 1st season..when they spent more money on fights and car chases..that all this budget talk drivel nowadays we really don't want!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockford offers a nostalgic wallow, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rockford Files was one of those programmes that - as a kid - I looked forward to every week. Seeing these 25 episodes is like going back to those days of the Seventies.

There are some things that are just great about these shows - the clothes, the cars, the guest stars (catch a painfully young James Woods, for example), James Garner's easy charm and some very funny dialogue.

I got this season rather than splash out on the 1-4 season box set and I'm glad I did. For all the above, these episodes need to be spaced. They are not like 24 or The Wire; box sets less to be watched, more to be inhaled at one sitting. Every week Jim Rockford basically did the same thing and - for all the stylistic nuance, narrative subtlety was not the series' strong suit. One a week is fine.

It is ironic that compared with Britain's most popular crime show of the period - The Sweeney - The Rockford Files now looks a little soft-centred, while The Sweeney is still diamond hard. These days, that trans-atlantic comparison has been flipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files series 1, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series and the production is good quality. Compared to modern shows it seems quite slow moving, but that's no bad thing as it seems more realistic somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool dude, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim Rockford is such a cool dude. Some of this surprised me as there were some really long and boring car chases in some of the eps that I don't remember when I watched it as a kid but other than that this is a great series. It's worth the price alone just for the iconic beginning and the different answer machine messages. And I love Jim Rockford. Probably the greatest 'cop' (I know he's a PI but it's that genre) of all time.

Some great guest stars too. I'll def order season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 70's, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Jostein Nęsheim (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rockford is a real nice guy.
Solving cases with intellect and humour always wearing a jacket and showing off chest hair.
Great cult detective .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid 70's entertainment, 10 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
no extras on this package which is a shame.james garner has true star quality as jim rockford and the scripts are good.however it does seem that every episode features a car chase and rockford turning to becker for help which he gives reluctantly.also someone from jims past,e.g angel comes along to embarass him.on the whole very watchable mainly due to james garner but a bit cliched in places.still entertaining though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockford Files: Season One [DVD] [1975] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£20.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews