Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files - Season 1
Jim Rockford was fallible, vulnerable, got hurt and often ended up on the losing end of the deal - so different from most American cop and private eye shows. Intelligent scripting and quality acting won this series a clutch of Emmys over several years and James Garner gave the role of Jim Rockford his own persona. Great to see Season 1 on DVD (roll on Season 2). And check...
Published on 14 Sep 2005 by steveacoustic

versus
8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid 70's entertainment
no extras on this package which is a shame.james garner has true star quality as jim rockford and the scripts are good.however it does seem that every episode features a car chase and rockford turning to becker for help which he gives reluctantly.also someone from jims past,e.g angel comes along to embarass him.on the whole very watchable mainly due to james garner but a...
Published on 10 Jun 2006 by gerrard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame on Amazon Marketplace seller., 12 Sep 2005
By A Customer
At the time of writing an Amazon Marketplace seller called "videomania" has the cheek to list this DVD for sale at 89.99. Don't be conned. Why Amazon is choosing not to sell this DVD new is a mystery but it is available elsewhere for less than 35 tops. 'The Rockford Files' is easily one of the best American detective shows shown on British TV and the mixture of car chases, interesting stories and James Garner's perfect performances mean the programme still holds up today. Just don't pay extortionate prices from Amazon Marketplace chancers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars California Dreaming, 10 Aug 2010
Look beyond the dated fashion and you will find unsurpassed wit and pace in The Rockford files. Don't know if the Americans have national treasures but if they do James Garner surely must be one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
v good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford still Rocks, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dvd was received promptly, well packaged as always. Much appreciated by recipient, continuing 70's wallow begun by previous purchase of Starsky and Hutch. They don't make 'em like that anymore, more's the pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a blast from the past, 21 Jun 2014
a return to a time when television was more restful without foul language gratuitous violence & explicit sex. you can still enjoy a programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files season 1, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love rockford files as a kid, so i decided to get the whole collection on dvd and i have been disappointed, would recommend. any one who loves the show to get the dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old school series, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Old school series Looks fantastic on DVD the sound is crisp you can understand everything are saying classic old TV show so I suggest you buy this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files Season 1, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, interesting to see how the show and the character starts to develops by mid-way through the season it's just about there. A classic piece of television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 20 Feb 2013
By 
C. M. Evans "Choirman" (Weymouth, Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have really enjoyed watching series one again and have yet to see all episodes.
Very entertaining and not too dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I used to take Rockford for granted?, 10 July 2012
By 
K. Harvey "allykatharvey" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't be bothered with detective stuff and I used to watch this because it was on TV at about the right time when I flopped in a chair in the evenings! I just didn't realise how hooked I would become on lovely Jim Rockford. What a charming thing an American anti-hero can be - and so RARE! Seeing him again in these DVDs has brought back how good James Garner really was/is. Sure, the films are dated but that's half the charm of them. You watch the screen thinking, I used to wear boots like those and did we really think that hairstyle was cool?!! The plots are still good, the characters believable, the music just right, the laughs still work and none of the constant foul-mouthing of recent crime dramas. Jim Rockford. Handsome. Cool. Funny. Brave. Commanding. Just right, like Baby Bear's porridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews