Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!!!
Well what can I say...this has to be one of the most memorable days our lifetime will ever witness for both musical and political reasons. Hundreds of thousands of people coming together to appeal to the eight most powerful men on the planet that something had to be done to "Make Poverty History" once and for all! I watched the entire London show on TV followed by the US...
Published on 1 Oct 2005 by stutiger99

versus
53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BIT DISAPPOINTING
I received this for Xmas after attending Hyde Park and being relegated to the very back (literally!). I was really looking forward to this DVD release to re-live the event "close-up" but am gutted it doesn't include the whole Hyde Park concert. For my money, the event was rather sombre and lacking in sparkle until The Stereophonics came on, played four songs, and...
Published on 30 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BIT DISAPPOINTING, 30 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I received this for Xmas after attending Hyde Park and being relegated to the very back (literally!). I was really looking forward to this DVD release to re-live the event "close-up" but am gutted it doesn't include the whole Hyde Park concert. For my money, the event was rather sombre and lacking in sparkle until The Stereophonics came on, played four songs, and ramped up the atmosphere (to be followed by REM who did the same). I was really looking forward to seeing their performance again and was therefore incredibly disappointed to find that only one Stereos song is included (The Bartender...). The DVD starts well enough with complete performances by U2, Coldplay and Elton John (including that idiot Doherty) but comes unravelled from Dido onwards - only one Dido track, one Stereos, two REM, one Miss Dynamite, one Keane and then segues into Black Eyed Peas from Philly, Duran Duran in Paris and then back to Hyde Park with Bob Geldof, and from thereon edits in performances from elsewhere. I would much rather have seen a whole Hyde Park concert start to finish with the other discs including highlights from the rest of the concerts. That said, the DVD is beautifully packaged and there aren't many concerts that you can have a DVD of afterwards, so it makes a worthy keepsake. Good, but could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!!!, 1 Oct 2005
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well what can I say...this has to be one of the most memorable days our lifetime will ever witness for both musical and political reasons. Hundreds of thousands of people coming together to appeal to the eight most powerful men on the planet that something had to be done to "Make Poverty History" once and for all! I watched the entire London show on TV followed by the US gig and attended the "Edinburgh 50,000-The Final Push" show in Edinburgh.
Well lets start at square 1...The London show at Hyde Park. All that can be said is that the greastest musical superstars from many generations appeared here: The golden oldies The Who, Pink Floyd with the inclusion of u2 performing with the legendary Paul McCartney singing Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band. The list wouldnt end there though. The Killers, Snow Patrol, Snoop Dogg, Maddona, Elton John and a memorable performance from Robbie Williams also feature. It truely was a show to remember.
The US gig based in the streets of Philladelphia would contain a large variety of musical genres, all of extreme quailty. A Philladelphia home-boy, Will Smith, rapped to the thousands and other performers included the rock acts, Bon Jovi and Def Leppard.
The 'Final Push' took place in Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh. With class acts from Snow Patrol, Feeder, Wet Wet Wet, The Proclaimers and Texas the Scottish crowd went wild..not surprisingly! A duet from Bono and The Corrs followed with a grand finale with 'The Godfather of Soul' himself James Brown.
This DVD is well and truely a must buy for all as it doesnt only contain great music, it contains a message for us to "Make Poverty History" once and for all."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live 8!!, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I got this for Christmas as I wanted to see the show up close-rather than from the middle of the 250,000 people in the crowd at Hyde Park! This DVD is brilliant-features all the best acts from the live 8 concerts-although i'm not sure what kind of order they've put them in- they have concerts from London, US, Canada, France, etc and they are scattered around over four disks-which by the way, adds up to 10 hours of film. There are extras as well, but i'm not sure how good they are.
There are a few acts that I've never heard of, but they feature all of the one's (good and bad) from Hyde Park, London.
I haven't watched it all, but there is no sign of Little Britain's, Lou and Andy, or Peter Kay who came on stage, but they do feature Ricky Gervais, Brad Pitt and Bill Gates -amongst others, who made a speech.
The quality of the picture and sound is brilliant. Good menus to switch to different artists-rather then watching the whole acts. And doesn't include the adverts and appeals that separated each act at the live events.
All in all, this is a good DVD-nice box and presentation-that is brilliant to have to remind yourself of the legendary acts-Pink Floyd, The Who, Sting, REM, U2, Paul McCartney ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE 8 - the gr8 debate, 7 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Some other reviewers regard Live 8 as a just a way for artists to increase their record sales. I attended Live 8 myself, but as I am 17 years old I can't compare it to Live Aid as well as others can.
What I can say is that the concert was one of the best days of my life, and the word unforgettable springs to mind. This was due to the mind blowing performances from artists such as Robbie Williams, Razorlight, Stereophonics, U2 etc. As someone who has never really been a big fan of Madonna, I am now converted ... her performance was amazing. Bob Geldof's 'surprise' performance was also jolly good.
Although the venue (Hyde Park) was probably not as good as Wembley, the atmosphere was electric and was only spoilt slightly by the golden circle.As I was unable to see the Live 8 coverage on TV it is interesting to see how it is shown.Despite its criticisms I can not find any fault in peole trying to make the lives of millions of people better. This DVD is a must have and I advise everyone to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 29 Nov 2005
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I wasn't around for Live Aid, so when I heard that another event was being organised,I was happy to say the least. In the run up to the even, when the bands were being named, the buzz involved was massive, as many could probably remember.
Most of the big names came through and performed as was expected of them. Now I am aware that there are many performances across the 4 DVD's, but will try to focus on what I consider the best performances, and the hidden gems within.
I also know that this was done to raise awareness for a higher cause, and it is a cause i firmly believe in, but i'll attempt to keep my focus on the music.
So what was good? Disc one:
Paul McCartney w/ U2 was an amazing performance which led into a quality set from U2.
Coldplay astounded as was expected as did Dido singing strongly with Youssou N'Dour. Stereophonics, R.E.M and then Keane (Who i'm not a massive fan of) all came out strong an performed their sets well.
Kaiser Chiefs, Green Day and Bon Jovi all perform excellently to conclude the disc.
A minor minus point would be Elton John w/ Pete Doherty but i'm sure many have heard of this already.
Also fetured are Ms Dynamite, Black Eyed Peas, Muse and Travis to name a few who perform well in their own way.
Out of the other 3 discs, there are plentiful performances from big names such as Bryan Adams, Kanye West, The Killers, Alicia Keys, Daniel Powter Faithless, the legend that is Stevie Wonder who performs with Rob Thomas firstly, then Adam Levine of Maroon 5 fame, Maroon 5 themselves, the Hyde Park Finale, of course Pink Floyd and The Who, Robbie Williams and a personal favourite of mine; Sarah McLachlan & Josh Groban, both of whom I adore, performing Angel.
In all, this is well worth the money paid and a perfect addition to any Music DVD collection. I would recommend this to anyone who vists this page as you obviously have an interest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coolest rock concert ever, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Ever wanted a live album with all your favourite acts? Well, here it is, Live 8. It has everything. Rock, pop, hip hop, R&B, it's all there. Some of the classic acts include U2, Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Madonna, Green Day, to name a few.

Highlights of the concert are Pink Floyd, together again after 20 years of acrimony. Possibly the best performance out of the whole concert. Madonna's performance blows you away, she steals the show big-time. Another act who practically steals the show is Robbie Williams, he's a born performer & loves every minute of it.

In between acts you have Brad Pitt, George Clooney & Will Smith making an appearance, which is very entertaining.

There are some really great extras on the dvds too. For the price, this is a seriously good buy.

Only thing missing is Queen.....Freddy Mercury's Live Aid '85 is still undoubtedly one of the best rock performances ever.....but don't let that spoil things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A day in history, 27 Dec 2005
By 
S. Kearney "stuartkearney" (Paisley, Scot.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to be at Live8 in Hyde Park on what turned out to be a great day with mixed performances, just like the DVD release. I have to say that although the DVD has some great performances and is well worth having, like the day, it is a mixed bag, for example why were The Killers only given one song on their set but Velvet Revolver (no offence) given a much longer set time, on the DVD it is very like that, with great performances and the best of U2, REM, The Killers,Pink Floyd, Robbie Williams et al on the day, but to balance that if you like the shambolic Pete Doherty, the diva Mariah Carey and her condescending attitude and Joss Stone and Miss Dynamite who, although having good voices their set on the day and on the disc just drags, these all drag the event and the disc down along with the Stereophonics set being edited to just 1 song!!! The DVD is worth having, it doesn't have the magic of Live Aid and neither did the day as I was lucky to be at both, but that's only to be expected. Verdict on the release-technically great, some great performances, some poor but overall worth having for rock and world history in the making and definitely worth owning if only for Annie Lennox's 'Why' performance which is emotionally supercharged. As for the Edinburgh gig-the gig was the poor relation and despite the fantastic atmosphere (no golden circle) the highlights are also the poor relation with one song an artist more or less. Buy this but don't expect the magic of 20 years ago!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars adorei, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
gostei demais. a entrega foi muito rápida. aqui no Brasil não encontramos estes dvds. vou comprar mais com certeza.este site é excelente.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Live 8, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought this just for The Who and ultimately The Floyd, together for 1 last iime.
In that they closed the concert gives the feeling that ' what was before was good, now watch and listen to how the best do it.
Guitar playing at its best, drumming as it should be, singing by people who have a distinctive sound, not these 2 a penny groups now who sound just like all the others!!??
MAkes you proud to be over 50 letting your peers show the youth of today ... This is music and this is how you perform a concert (no miming etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is everyone's problem with Mariah?, 27 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 8 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Firstly I would like to say that I really enjoyed following the Live 8 concerts throughout the day. It was such a hot day in glasgow and me and my friends were sitting outside with our radio. Sometimes, when the high profile artists performed, we would go inside and watch on tv. I enjoyed most of the performances and I was happy to see so many people getting involved in the event. What I was really dissapointed in was, the next day, the national press and other websites where casting thier views on the performances. These people clearly didn't get the whole point of the event. This show was to raise awareness and make people see what is going on in our world. I am not the worlds biggest Mariah Carey fan, but the producers and organisers clearly felt that she would be an asset in raising awareness and asked her to perform because she is a major, international artist who can reach people on a global scale. I'm sure the Stereophonics are a very credible band but they didn't even mention the cause and practically phoned in the performance. And so what if Mariah performed new material, no one said a word when coldplay performed Fix You. But I will totally be buying this DVD, because it reminds me of a very important part of the year and it is a must for all music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live 8 [DVD] [2005]
Live 8 [DVD] [2005] by U2 (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £6.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews