Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I Dead Yet? No, but I have just woken up.
Ahh, the album that first introduced me to the mad pleasures of CoB. Though it's been derided by some as being too over-produced, too stylish and not heavy enough, I've come to love this album. From the opening pleasure that is Living Dead Beat, through the superb title track with endless replay value and the usual Bodom cover (this time a suprisingly good choice of Rebel...
Published on 13 Dec 2009 by Nick Axford

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are you bored yet?
Boring Bodom? Never thought I'd say it, but that is pretty much what this is. After back records such as the blistering "Hatebreeder" and the brilliantly well-written and colourful "Hate Crew Deathroll" (have not heard "Follow the Reaper") this is exactly not what I wanted to hear. Modernized, over-produced, slower, cheesier (yes, it's possible) CoB.

The whole...
Published on 3 April 2008 by Joe Richards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CoB Smoke them all !, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
Children of Bodom have become my favourite band. Seeing them live this year made me love them even more. This album is a perfect example of their ability to blend awesome melodic guitars with pounding drums and insane vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I Dead Yet? No, but I have just woken up., 13 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
Ahh, the album that first introduced me to the mad pleasures of CoB. Though it's been derided by some as being too over-produced, too stylish and not heavy enough, I've come to love this album. From the opening pleasure that is Living Dead Beat, through the superb title track with endless replay value and the usual Bodom cover (this time a suprisingly good choice of Rebel Yell), the album knows what it sets out to do and provides great, accessible metal tracks. Recommended for those experiencing their first taste of Bodom, before moving on to heavier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children Of Bodom - Are You Dead Yet?, 21 May 2014
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
2005’s Are You Dead Yet? is the fifth full-length studio album by the Finnish Melodic Death Metal band Children Of Bodom. The record saw a change in the band’s line-up, guitar tunings and musical direction.

Compared to albums like Hatebreeder and Follow The Reaper the album is noticeably slower and feauters considerably less audible influence from Melodic European Power Metal than before, instead their signature sound (Alexi’s recognizable voice and lead guitar style, plus those bright keyboard tones) is meshed with American sounding Groove Metal, to create something familiar but yet unique. On this album, the band would seem equally at home sharing a stage with Helloween or Pantera without seeming out of place at either event.

Regardless of what it sounds like, the quality of the record is high. The production is clean and crisp, the performances are tight and the album is a decent length without overstaying its welcome. There’s plenty of fun double kicks and flashy guitar solos, and a good balance of sticking to a formula you like while making every song sound different to the last.

Highlights include the famous Title Track and single “Trashed, Lost & Strungout” as well as the absolutely furious sounding “If You Want Peace Prepare For War,” and the slow, out of character Groove Metal song “Punch Me I Bleed.”

Overall; This is a different direction for the band, but a very strong album nonetheless. It may be a very good entry point for fans of more British and American music to get into the band and then work backwards to their more European sounding early work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable album from melodic metal maestros, 31 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
Children of bodom are extremely melodic,but also extremely fast and heavy at times,they follow the gothenberg formula of melodic metal as mastered by in flames and soilwork,but they are faster and more keyboard led than those bands plus they are finnish so they bring a little bit of that to the table as well.

This,their fifth album is again packed with great anthemic songs,fast paced riffs that iron maiden would be proud of and great moments of brilliance that you wont be able to ignore.

The albums opener, living dead beat is simply stunning and impossible not to warm too,are you dead yet follows? and again we are blessed with another melodic masterpiece,other scorching tracks include next in line and trashed,lost and strungout but in truth they are all good in their own way,this is a fine example of melodic metal at its best,yes you will sing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are you bored yet?, 3 April 2008
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
Boring Bodom? Never thought I'd say it, but that is pretty much what this is. After back records such as the blistering "Hatebreeder" and the brilliantly well-written and colourful "Hate Crew Deathroll" (have not heard "Follow the Reaper") this is exactly not what I wanted to hear. Modernized, over-produced, slower, cheesier (yes, it's possible) CoB.

The whole album is very similar. Whereas HCD flourished in its brilliant melodies, upbeat choruses and manic solos, AYDY pretty much flattens this all out into basic CoB material. Very thick production, quite the opposite to past Bodom which was crisp and discernable, definitely achieves what they Hatecrew were aiming for in a heavier album - more commercial as well. This is not always a bad thing, but in CoB's case it certainly is. The vocals have got quite a lot thicker as well, less harsh and in your face than the previous album (ironic as I've just noticed that one of the tracks is called "In Your Face").

Agreeably, this all sounds pretty negative at the moment. However, the keyboard is (thankfully) still as brilliant as ever, with lots of great little touches. The guitar is technically proficient, but not as much as normal. This is definitely a let down on the whole, but it is extremely impressive when it really gets going. A good example is the solo on the outright highlight of the album "If You Want Peace... Prepare For War". This track is a real blast, neck breaking through and through, a top of the range CoB track. One of the only ones, mind. Other exceptions are about two in the middle of the album, the rest is filler material.

Avoid this album unless you are a die-hard Bodom fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal's not dead yet!, 25 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
This was the best album of 2006. It stays true to the traditional thrash concepts that made Anthrax, Metal Church and Megadeth famous, but sounds much more modern and brutal, mainly because of the top quality sound engineering. The twin guitar riffs take you straight back to the 80's, when guitar solos were still acknowledged to be cool, but the endless aural battering from the relentless power-chords brings the album straight back up-to-date. This is one of the few albums I've heard recently that contained no 'fillers' or shoddy bonus tracks. My only gripe is the overt presence of the keyboards on some songs, but you can't have everything and, because everything else about this album is so good, it would be unfair to award it any less than five stars. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
First off I would just like to say that the delivery for this cd was pretty quick and came before the estimated date. When I started playing the first song living dead beat i thought the wrong songs were put on the wrong cd untill I heard the guitar come in about 20 secs into the song.lol. From then on I loved the whole cd, every single song made me want to headbang. This album is now no.1 in my favourite album list and will be there for a very long time. All I can say now is well done Bodom and anyone who is unsure about buying this album should buy this album and if you don't you will be missing out.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars they're not dead yet... but only just, 28 Mar 2006
This review is from: Are You Dead Yet? (Audio CD)
this is children of bodom's 5th studio album, and upon the first listen, it seems to be a continuation of the step down the band have been experiencing since the previous album, hatecrew deathroll.
this is the opinion of a great many metallers. to be honest, they're not entirely wrong. while the music is still heavy as hell and has all the extreme power metal charm of the previous albums, the band's lyrics seem to have taken a dive, previously filled with atmosphere and an almost story-telling quality, they now are as simple as you can get, pretty much (the line "i don't give a flying f*** motherf***er, for example, appears often in the song "in your face")
but there is still plenty here for the fan of metal in general- alexi laiho's almost signature solo-like riffs, amazing solos, both on guitar and keyboard, truly astonishing drum work, making for a good metal album, though it must be stressed that this is nothing like as mind blowing as the "hatebreeder" album.
the highlight of this album is definitely "trashed, lost & strungout". although this song was previously available on an ep of the same name, it has a truly addictive quality to it.
so, would you like this cd? if you are a metal fan who has never heard this band, you might like to listen to this to "try them out"
for those who do know this band, i would have to say, at least give it a chance, even if you didn't like it much- i say it's a grower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Dead Yet?
Are You Dead Yet? by Children of Bodom (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews