Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 17 Oct 2005
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
I can't find a better word than "perplexed" to describe they way I feel about the fact that three of the best pop singles released this year 'Negotiate With Love', 'So Good' and 'I Said Never Again' have not reached a position higher than 10 in the UK charts. The only explanation I can only think of is that the buying public just don't like Rachel Stevens. Well if that is the case, what a shame because she has just released one of the best pop albums in years and the best one I've heard so far this year.
The album opener, 'So Good' is a perfect dance track featuring a strong electro beat/bassline and a dark choral backing reminiscent of New Order's Blue Monday; yet the whole thing is completly pop. Things keep on the right track with the 'rockier'
'I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)'. 'Crazy Boys' is just fantastic with it's stomping beat and its chorus could fit
nicely into a James Bond movie theme song. My favourite, 'Funny How' sounds like the Pet Shop Boys gone Kylie (you could almost swear it's Neil Tennant's melancholic vocals on the intro). I could go on describing how 'I Will Be There', 'Negotiate With Love', 'Some Girls' 'Dumb Dumb' are equally brilliant in different ways, but that would take too much space. Even if the rest of the songs were filler (which they aren't) this would be an outstanding pop record, miles away from Funky Dory and better that Annie's Anniemal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come back and get it, 25 July 2006
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
That this album flopped amazed me, largely because the singles were so poorly marketed by her management team. The first album was not great, but Rachel Stevens clearly understood that, and went head over heels into overdrive on this one producing some of the most original sounding tunes to come out of the noughties. By rights this album should be a chart topper. The music is fresh, the vocals are sultry and strong and the album as a whole is on a par with other pop princesses. One can only hope that she will do a Kylie and keep churning out quality music like this until reviewers accept that (as Kylie proved) it doesn't matter how you became famous. True fame sticks with those that deserve it - definitely watch this space as Stevens is going to be sticking around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ten times better than Rachels debut album., 13 Oct 2005
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
It doesn't matter what you think of Rachel as a person, after all it is all about the music and this album certainly has some high class tunes.
The opening track 'So Good' is more than just a Kylie cast-off - it has an excellent single woman mantra chorus and an immense synth breakdown, making it the perfect pop stomper. 'I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)' touches on a new sound for Rachel, it's nicks the beats and chants of Adam & the Ants and teams them with a whole load of squelchy computer noises and over produced vocals. It makes for a great combo.
'Crazy Boys' sees Richard X on production duties. You get the obligatory squelchy synths, only here they're more gritty and appealing. The track isn't as immediately catchy as 'Some Girls' but it grows on you and definitely confirms Richard X's status as one of the top pop producers.
'I Will Be There' is an electro-ballad; it has all the soothing, dreamlike sounds of your average pop ballad only with more of a beat. A definite album highlight. 'Negotiate With Love' was good in that it helped Rachel progress from the dire 'More More More' cover. It has an excellent surf guitar and pretty good lyrics for a pop song.
'It's All About Me' has an excellent intro, a sample from The Cure's 'Lullaby' which I think works well and gives the impression that the track is going to be excellent. Unfortunately it slightly falls short of pop excellence. It's still very good, but a bit generic. 'Secret Garden' is another Kylie throwaway from the Body Language days; it definitely follows the sound of that album with its sickly and somewhat ambitious vocals that Rachel seems to struggle with. It has a few catchy lines and does grow on you. But the verses sound a bit disjointed.
'Nothing Good About This Goodbye' is the album highlight. It's not a patch on the original by Alexis Strum but it doesn't matter because the song itself is a pop classic. This song deserves to be a big hit, and hopefully it will be.
Everyone knows 'Some Girls' as it was one of the biggest tracks of 2004 and rightly so. 'Je M'Apelle' sounds like it's trying to be R&B but don't worry it's not. Parts of the song are good, but I never seem to listen to it in its entirety.
'Funny How' to me, sounds like Geri Halliwell's 'Ride It'. It's a bit naff and doesn't compete with some of the better tracks on the album. 'Every Little Thing' sounds like something S Club could have done, it's all very poppy and head bopping. Finally you have 'Dumb Dumb' another one of the better album tracks. It sounds like a track Britney could have recorded; it's all very electro with the popping computer synths and tinny drums.
Basically, the album is great if you know you like pop music. If you liked any of Rachel's singles than you can't go wrong with this album. It's a vast improvement on her debut and does deserve to do well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Poptastic, 2 July 2006
By 
A. Lucas "Lobsterboy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
Ok, so i have been a fan of Rachel since her S Club 7 days, when she released her first album "Funky Dory" I was a tad disappointed because there were only around 2 or 3 really catchy songs on there. When Rachel released "Come & Get It" i was amazed by the pure brilliance of the album- every song has been well written, sung beautifully and is very catchy!

01- So Good: Fantastic chorus and a very catchy beat, leaves you listening to this track over and over again.

02- I Said Never Again (But Here We Are): Again another wonderful track that really gets you dancing and singing along with Rachel, has a very 80's feel to it.

03- Crazy Boys: My favourite track on the album, the lyrics and beat are purely amazing and it is an amazing track to listen to when you feel down.

04- Negotiate With Love: The first single from CAGI, with its great chorus

05- I Will Be There: Not the best on the album but still packs a punch with its good lyrics

06- Every Little Thing: This should have been one of the singles, the song is amazingly fast, upbeat and is pop in its simplest form.

07- Dumb Dumb: Quite a sad song when you listen to the lyrics but the catchy tune makes up for it.

08- Je M'Apelle: The worst song on the album but still good in terms of other songs about. I don't think the way that she sings the chorus, makes her name sound like Rochelle (listen to it and you might understand what i mean)

09- Nothing Good About This Goodbye: Really stands out as being a great song with lyrics that have really been thought about.

10- All About Me: Not great but still catchy, other songs make up.

11- Secret Garden: Didn't like it at first but when you listen to it a few times it is actually quite good.

12- Funny How: Love it!

You really should buu this album, it is a shame that Britain is so obsessed at the moment with Rap and Hip Hop- if this album had been released a few months earlier it would have hit No1- thats how good it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding and solid pop gem., 17 Oct 2005
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
I have to say, I wasn't really expecting much from this as Rachel's debut album "Flunky Dory" was such a heinous mess, but this is a true pop masterpiece.
You can tell from this album that Rachel's sound has evolved into a more retro and electro style, and the album is consistantly strong throughout.
Included on here are the singles "Some Girls" (which, despite being an old single fits well with the style of the album), "Negotiate With Love", "So Good" and "I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)" (which is my personal favourite track on the album). Tracks worth mentioning are the Shelley Poole (of Alisha's Attic fame) penned provocative number "Je M'Appelle", the Alexis Strum penned "Nothing Good About This" (the Alexis original was one of the best tracks ever IMO, this is nowhere near as good), "Dumb Dumb", the anthemic "Every Little Thing" and the rather stunning "Secret Garden" (which was originally recorded by Kylie Minogue, so I believe).
Do not be put off this album if you're not a fan of Rachel Stevens or was inimpressed with her debut album, this album is a sure fire pop classic which you will not be disappointed with if you're a lover of pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro Pop At It's Best, 17 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
After being really disappointed with her last album FunkyDory, I was a bit unsure of buying Rachel's follow-up. However, this album is clearly in a different league and surprisingly the best pop album of 2005, even overtaking the Sugababes recent album Taller In More Ways. It's so much more slicker, catchier, experimental and mature than her weak debut. It includes the hit singles SOME GIRLS, the superb SO GOOD, I SAID NEVER AGAIN and NEGOTIATE WITH LOVE but virtually every song has single release potential. I WILL BE THERE and EVERY LITTLE THING in particular are outstanding. The style of the album is edgy atmospheric electro pop - if you're a fan of Blondie, Scissor Sisters, Kylie or Depeche Mode you will absolutely fall in love with this album as you can clearly hear influences from all these artists. I have a nasty feeling this is going flop saleswise...please don't let this album go undiscovered, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop as it should be, free of excesses..., 12 Aug 2007
By 
Alex A.C.M (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
By the time October rolls round, it will have been two years since this sorely underrated masterpiece from the former S Club 7 beauty came out. In that time, we've heard very little else from Rachel, other than the occasional blurb she's going into acting/advertising contact lenses etc.

Even so, this album remains a classic from beginning to end. Unlike her debut "Funky Dory", which sounded somewhat rushed (and it did, due to it being recorded in the three weeks after S Club broke up) and a bit hotch potch, "Come And Get It" doesn't seem to stutter at all.

Opening on tracks like the singles "So Good" (Grace's "Not Over Yet" meets the Doctor Who theme), "I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)" (Suzi Quatro and Adam Ant smashed against Holly Valance's "State Of Mind") and "Negotiate With Love" (Fischspooner jamming with Girls Aloud) it only seems to get more and more consistent.

But there's more: she shines on the co-writing aspect ("Funny How", a Brian Higgins/Xenomania collaboration laden with vodka stained memories of Sunday morning at 3am), the covering aspect ("Nothing Good About This Goodbye" - a stunning Alexis Strum cover with an added "Torn"-esque guitar solo) and the sampling aspect ("It's All About Me" making delightful use of The Cure's "Lullaby") - all equating to one thing and one thing only - an album of songs that are pop as it should be, free of the excesses. It's that simple, and that brilliant really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore who sung it, just listen, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
I've never really liked Rachel Stevens, and S Club was something that passed me by. But if you like proper pop music, well produced, with some fantastic electro production on it, then this is one of the greatest albums from the last few years. One of my friends is a professional music journo, who turned me onto this album. I didn't believe him when he told me how good it was, then I listened to it. Yes, your friends will take the pi## out of you, until they hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great!!!, 17 Jan 2006
By 
H. Sveen "Music addict" (Oslo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come And Get It (Audio CD)
It's really a shame that this album flopped, because this album is great!
It has a mix of Kylie, Madonna and Liberty X, and it works like nothing you've heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One fans Review... Come and Read It, 21 Nov 2005
1. So Good - 5/5 This was the second single, excellent futuristic sounding techno dance track that is really catchy!
2. I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)- 4/5 Third single, really attitude packed track with a really catchy chorus. The video is also pretty fab set in the Bad Girls prison! "I told you never to play my new guitar.."
3. Crazy Boys - 4/5 Excellent upbeat track thats dancey and chilled out at the same time. Its yet again another catchy number simular to So Good.
4. I Will Be There - 5/5 I once read someones review that it sounded like "I Believe In You", Kylie's hit song. And they where right, This has got to be the BEST track on the album for me. its amazing. its very Autherial and very Atmospheric, the words to the song are beautiful, and the haunting beat gives you goosebumps. (in a good way!)
5. Negotiate With Love - 5/5 The first single if you dont count "Some Girls" which originally came the from Funky Dory album. This song is pure rachel its fantastic. the vocals are amazing how she changes the tone in her voice and makes it higher and higher. also the music is quite 50's style simular to a previous song "blue afternoon" which was a fans favourite from the first album.
6. It's All About Me 4/5 - Really excellent catchy song, thats got another quite grown up feel to it.
7. Secret Garden 4/5 - This is quite a sunsual and chilled out track with a catchy chorus and its pretty upbeat to. I love this song. very unique unlike any other on the album.
8. Nothing Good About This Goodbye 5/5 - Originally going to be single No4 this is a really grown up track with a very catchy chorus. And a great beat. its alittle like previous fan favourite "Breathe in, Breathe Out".
9. Some Girls - 4/5 Everyone knows this track. originally from the Funky Dory (Re-Release) album it was released for Sports Relief last year, and was one of rachels biggest hits.
10. Je M'Apelle - Rachel was quotted as saying this song is about a "French Hooker". LOL its a good song even though the lyrics are suposedly so racey. Although i can really tell to be honest.
11. Funny How 5/5 - This song is very upbeat and catchy. It will have you danceing to it if you know whats good for you!
12. Every Little Thing - 4/5 Brilliant track thats really catchy and upbeat.
13. Dumb Dumb - 4/5 This song is suposed to be about a famous dumb blonde, I wonder who that could be? A few names come to light..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come And Get It
Come And Get It by Rachel Stevens (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews